We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at the Atlantico, we knew before we went that it had been taken over by Melia, from Rui, which in our opinion is a backward step. Although the rooms and public areas are all very nice the food is absolutely abysmmal, who has sprouts, carrots, broad beans etc for breakfast, and then no sign of any veg at dinner, very strange. We were also very annoyed, when we arrived at 10.p.m. to be ushered towards a cold buffet which was covered in small flies, inedible. The area around the hotel has also been let go, it was very scruffy compared to our last visit 4 years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Juneken,

Thanks for posting your impressions about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor, we very much appreciate your review.

We very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations with our buffet. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to improve our services.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We flew from Glasgow on a very early flight (6am) to Faro and then by coach onto the Hotel. The Hotel was beautiful, clean, pleasant staff, great food, great choice of wine, quiet as it was near the end of season, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We needed a break and a battery recharge and it certainly did that. We did the organised trip to Seville and it was great, unfortunately as this was by coach we would have liked more time to explore this beautiful city. We booked with Kinnaird Tracel our local Travel Agent and they were fantastic in everything they organised right down to the hotel and car parking at Glasgow. Hotel Melia Atlantico is one you should not miss out on. Tour Rep Nick was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a balcony facing over the lagoon and it was great watching the fishing boats coming in and ou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear alandrummer,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor!!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have a good experience during your stay at the Meliá Atlántico. Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment . We will be waiting for you next time you come to Isla Canela!!.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future!!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the beach and looks the part.

The hotel looks like a 4* hotel but if you have been to any of the other Melia Hotels either in London or Spain you will be disappointed because its not up to their standards.

We travelled with Thompson on a fairly last minute booking, so a really cheap weeks holiday. The resort was really closed up and in many parts very scruffy.

Because it was the second week in October the clientele was of a mature age range with an average age of about 70, it did feel a bit like gods waiting room and on a couple a resident nurse or doctor would have been useful.

The resort seems to have a problem with flies and just sitting quietly became a fly squashing mission.

I m not sure we would visit again not much to do (only expensive Thomson trips the Rep Nick was sycophantic or up his own bum!) the food was overall not that bad but by the end of the week I was glad to go home. The buffet was a bit a of bun fight and sometimes it appeared that those more elderly guest whom spent the day with sticks etc and need help on to the coach or the plane, had a religious healing experience whilst at the hotel and could shove and push to get to the food and be quite often rude, I know that during the war food was in short supply but 60 years on its not the case!! Cava seemed to fuel many of the elderly throughout the day and at breakfast it was not uncommon to see glass upon glass drunk and taken out side of the restaurant.

Overall good for a cheap week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABRDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear ABRDF,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your nice comments about your stay at the Meliá Atlántico Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We work every day to improve and provide the best of our service to our guests so that they can fully enjoy their stay with us. We will continue our efforts and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a week at the melia,the hotel is very grand part of thomson platinum at the tip of isla canela,shops bars nearby very useful as hotel prices a bit steep.couldn't get on with the food, evening menus very strange ie chili con carne with pasta?breakfast bit strange also ,carrots & broad beans alongside eggs & bacon.no comment on entertainment as went to local bar each evening.hotel facilities good,pool area very well laid out & beach easily accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fixerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Fixerman1,

Thank you very much for your post!!! We really much appreciate the time that you have taking you for sharing with us your experience in the Meliá Atlántico Hotel. It is really important for us to know how your stay was, because we constantly work to meet our guest’s expectations and specially with the food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!!!

With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

returned yesterday from 7 night stay at melia atlantico stunning hotel in every way but far too isolated we found the area around the hotel very scruffy litter along the walkway around the perimeter flies were ever you went nothing whatsoever too do as it was end of season everywhere was closed except a couple of overpriced restaurants we we weren't told this by thompsons when we booked as if we had known we wouldn't have come here the rep for thomsons nick said this was an upmarket up and coming area sadly I don't agree it needs a lot of work and money too bring it up too anything decent we certainly wouldn't ever consider going back there again I would say it would be ideal place for middle aged couples or people in retirement looking for a very quiet holiday and not too bothered on leaving the hotel

Room Tip: don't choose rooms starting with 10 they are facing the estuary with fishing boats going up and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear John S,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the Melia Atlántico staff for your kind feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have had a perfect and lovely stay in our hotel due to our service. We very much appreciate your kind words about our location, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sad to see that as always some people moan when changes occur. Much better than when it was run by Riu hotel chain. Restaurant and reception/lobby areas are used more economically. Beautiful furnishings everywhere. I believe the bedroom bathrooms are to be refurbished before next season which will be even better.
A lovely quiet location, beautiful clean beach and a long promenade to walk if you want.. Not for those who want nightlife and noise although that can be found in Ayamonte a 10Euro taxi ride away. The bus goes from outside the hotel, regularly, throughout the day and at weekends.
Avoid July and August when the Spanish holiday there if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the estuary side have great views, but not for light sleepers. The fishing fleet go out thr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetW403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear JanetW403,

I would like to thank you for the opportunity that you have given us choosing the Meliá Atlántico for your stay in Isla Canela, as well as for taking the time to share your impression about our hotel.

I am hugely pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our services. Our passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession. I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Meliá Atlántico.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went with my girlfriend and her family for a weeks stay, probably one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. As soon as you pull up outside your jaw is on the floor and they you walk into this luxurious lobby and treated by very friendly staff. Bedroom was lovely, bed was big and comfy, room was clean and modern. Me and my girlfriend woke up really early one morning to watch the sun rise which was pretty awesome, the view from the balcony was top notch. The beach is a stones throw away from the hotel, very clean and we'll looked after. Now the best bit... The food! FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD! Hats off to the chefs, they cook up some delicious meals on those grills, which is done made to eat for you so it's fresh.

Won't ramble on too much, I've already recommended this hotel onto family and friends and would do so to you if you are thinking about going here.

Ps there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the local town, we did a couple of day trips there and also went over to Portugal which was a good day out.

Didn't use the spa so won't rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil3329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Neil3329,

We would like to thank you for such a motivating and amazing words you have used to describe your stay in our Hotel! We will be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future and try to surprise you even more with our services!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
0.6 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,168 reviews
6.0 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
350 reviews
5.3 mi away
Family Life Ocean Islantilla
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlantico Isla Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico Isla Canela

Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range: $105 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico Isla Canela 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International presenta Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, Located in Isla Canela (Huelva),one of the most privileged residential areas and tourist destinations in Spain, in the municipality of Ayamonte, the Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela is the perfect option for your trip to the Costa de la Luz, thanks to its privileged location right on the beach, its full facilities and the quality of its services. Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela provides elegant and modern rooms, the majority with fabulous sea views; different dining venues (Atlantico Buffet Restaurant, Los Esteros Bar Restaurant, Las Marismas Lounge Bar and La Punta Lounge Bar); high speed Wi-Fi internet; 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool; 1 children’s play area; 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court (*), 1 multi-sports court and 1 meeting room (*), 1 complete wellness centre (*) and a covered car park (*), amongst other services and facilities. (*) with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Atlantico Isla Canela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing