We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
gilberdyke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are just finishing a weeks stay at this hotel. From start to finish it has been excellent. The staff are pleasant and helpful,Ricardo at reception changed our room on arrival due to our dislike of connecting doors in the original room,the one he took so much care to find for us was smaller but had a wonderful view over the river,he was most considerate as we're all the reception staff.he and all the hotel staff are a credit to the Melia organization . Every area of the hotel is well cared for and spotless, the food is varied and plentiful,the dining room was very much to our liking ,spacious and well designed, a lovely relaxing hotel which we hope to return to next year, the only minus is the dire choice of piped music in the public areas.otherwise five star.

Room Tip: River views the best, interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andrew m,

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed to the Meliá Atlántico during your holidays.

We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff who will be delighted to know that you have a wonderful experience thanks to the service that they provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    494
    131
    29
    19
See reviews for
527
899
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N E Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to the Melia Atlantico, and we were very impressed with the hotel and would definitely return.
We were greeted by the rep Nik, and whilst waiting to check-in he pointed out where the facilities were. The reception area is large, spacious and cool. The reception staff were very friendly at all times. We were on the second floor overlooking the entrance to the hotel, at first I wasn't sure if we would be disturbed by coaches, visitors etc but needn't have worried. The room was very quiet, in fact the best sleep we have ever had on holiday. We had full sun on our balcony in the afternoon and evening and saw the most beautiful sunsets. The only downside in the room was the fact that the safe was on the wardrobe floor. It was quite a struggle to use it, having to get on all fours.
The pool area was very spacious, clean and quiet. Plenty of sunbeds were available whatever time of day we went. The pool is quite cool but once in you soon feel warm. It was nice to be able to sunbathe or sit reading without being surrounded by mobiles ringing and lager louts. The animation team don't come round pestering you to join in the activities, which also made a pleasant change. There wasn't many children there but the ones that were, were very well behaved.
We didn't really see the entertainment so can't really comment on how good it was. We were half board so went for a stroll in the evening after our meal, and stopped for a drink in the local bars.
The restaurant is decorated in a minimalist, chic, contemporary style. We never had any trouble finding a table no matter what time we went in to eat. Congratulations to the management for their choice of dining furnishings, doing away with table cloths, which in turn is helping the environment. The tables and chairs were soon wiped and reset. The food was enjoyable, varied and well presented. It was well themed and I particularly like the presentation of the individual portions. A deserved word of praise for the gardener, the floral displays add to the ambience of the hotel.
Although it's a small resort, the area was very busy with local fishermen, in their boats and sat on the rocks at the side of the estuary. The area is typically Spanish and not many locals speak English. This adds to the fun and holiday atmosphere, and the locals seemed to appreciate our efforts to speak Anglo Spanish.
A trip not to be missed is the Guadiana river cruise. The sun on your face, the wind in your hair, glorious views, Abba on the public address. A fabulous day out, not to be missed.
Finally a special word of praise for the Thomson rep Nik. A great asset to the company and a good role model for how reps should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you very much for recommend us for future guests and for make such a good review, especially regarding the services we provide. We feel very glad to know that the attention of our staff helped to make your holidays a more unforgettable stay. I would like to thank you for all he details about our food!!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned from a second visit to the Atlantico, the first under Melia Hotels. Another fabulous week. The hotel is brilliant - rooms, pool area, reception all excellent. A number of people have complained about the new lay out of the restaurant - it has been refurbished in a minimalist manner (no longer masses of table-clothes to launder! That must be better for the environment). The food was generally good with a good variety every evening - the only let down was the puddings BUT that is pretty general in Espana. Breakfast too was very good. The Thompson reps were brilliant. We were half board and enjoyed having a leisurely lunch in one of the beach bars or Tapas in the bars around the marina. The resort is refreshingly quiet, very few shops and very Spanish. If you are a beach-lover this is the place for you. Entertainment at the hotel is not so good, although the Flamenco show was the best I've seen. If only there was some disco/dance music to encourage people to get up and dance. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the river inlet to Isla Cristina - fishing boats were coming and going all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear JillyH53,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Atlántico!

We would like to thank you for such a motivating and amazing words you have used to describe your stay in our Hotel! We will be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future and try to surprise you even more with our services!

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Really friendly staff who go out of their way to help. The evening entertainment shows were fabulous. There is a huge range of food and always easy to find a table. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The area is beautiful and very Spanish. Local restaurants are great value and definitely worth trying.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear ShrewsDixon,

On behalf of myself and the Meliá Atlántico team, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your visit to Isla Canela as well as for posting such a wonderful remark regarding your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed with the quality of our buffet and the entertainment at night.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in your next visit!!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I loved this hotel in laid back Spain ,the rooms are beautiful and so is the hotel,the only thing that let it down is the 'canteen' sorry I mean restaurant ,the furniture is not within keeping to the hotel and lets it down as its a 4star you would think they would have table cloths for the evening meal and a dress code,I did speak to the managar about it and he appreciated the feedback and was going to look into it [I do hope so] The staff who could speak English were very friendly but some restaurent staff struggled with the language,the place itself is very quiet and not a lot going on and not many shops or bars ,but if you want a lovely relxing holiday with a beautiful clean beach and sands give it a try you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: we were in a room overlooking the river you could here the fishing boats go out early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valerie,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions at the Melia Atlántico on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the Meliá Atlántico team, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your visit to Isla Canela as well as for posting such a wonderful remark regarding your experience with us.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fabulous beach. Quiet location but nice for a week of relaxation.
BUT... Don't go here if you're looking for an upmarket dining experience. The food was good quality but nothing special and the dining room is nothing more than a nicely appointed canteen. Self service breakfast and lunch is fine but in a four star hotel to have to fight amongst the crowds to get to the food and to be surrounded by waiters clearing plates and clattering cutlery is not what I'd call enjoyable. This is a very Spanish hotel which we liked, but having gone out of season to avoid throngs of children, we were shocked by the sheer number of children there and the way they were allowed to run up and down and play hide and seek. It was an extremely loud atmosphere with a mixture of people very dressed up and others seriously dressed down in beach wear (at dinner). Also being all inclusive was like being a leper with several couples we spoke to having the same '2nd class citizen' experience, despite the fact Wed actually paid £350 more for the week to go all inclusive. The drinks at the bars were the real thing but if you had a band on your wrist for some reason you could have top spirits but not real coke. We're not cordon bleu diners but the dining provision at this hotel would definitely stop us from returning.

Room Tip: A couple we met asked to move and got a a bulbous room at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Clarie,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions at the Melia Atlántico on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel and food, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations about the desing of our buffet restaurant. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Looking forward to having this occasion soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Melia Atlantico is a stylish and well equiped hotel; we stayed for two weeks in early September and quite frankly find myself unable to fault anything about the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the breakfast and dinner buffet in my opinion is really quite good and well presented; you would have to go far to find a more varied selection of exotic fruit ;-) The bedroom was spotless and the bed was superb, we were lucky to have an estuary view and to sit on the balcony watching the boats go by or simply read a book was wonderfully relaxing. The Thomson rep's were also most helpful. This truly is a hotel where you may recharge your batteries and have a most relaxing holiday and the quietness of Isla Canela very much helps with this, Benidorm is a million miles away! We have just booked to return in June 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear GazBad,

Thank you very much for recommend us for future guests and for make such a good review, especially regarding the services we provide. We feel very glad to know that the attention of our staff helped to make your holidays a more unforgettable stay. I would like to thank you for all he details about our food!!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
0.6 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,041 reviews
6.0 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
ADH Isla Cristina
ADH Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlantico Isla Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico Isla Canela

Property: Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico Isla Canela 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International presenta Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, Located in Isla Canela (Huelva),one of the most privileged residential areas and tourist destinations in Spain, in the municipality of Ayamonte, the Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela is the perfect option for your trip to the Costa de la Luz, thanks to its privileged location right on the beach, its full facilities and the quality of its services. Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela provides elegant and modern rooms, the majority with fabulous sea views; different dining venues (Atlantico Buffet Restaurant, Los Esteros Bar Restaurant, Las Marismas Lounge Bar and La Punta Lounge Bar); high speed Wi-Fi internet; 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool; 1 children’s play area; 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court (*), 1 multi-sports court and 1 meeting room (*), 1 complete wellness centre (*) and a covered car park (*), amongst other services and facilities. (*) with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Atlantico Isla Canela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing