We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Melia Atlantico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Returned home yesterday, we had been concerned about the negative comments about this hotel, particularly about the restaurant and food. We needn't have worried. The quality and variety of food are both excellent. The restaurant is very contemporary, no tablecloths?, what modern restaurant still uses them? Most people dressed smart/casual for dinner
Rooms are very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. More than enough sunbeds in the pool area so no early morning reserving required.
All staff were friendly and welcoming, always smiling.
I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay at the Meliá Atlántico!!

We feel delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time with us and everything reach your expectations. We very much appreciate your words about our staff and specially the words you use to describe our food. I am sure they will encourage them to keep doing their best in order to provide a special and memorable experience to all of our guests.

Wishing to welcome you back!!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned home, we too were a little worried about previous comments regarding food and the restaurant - however, there was no need to be. The dining arrangements, we would say, are better than on our visit last year when you were given a dinner sitting time, so much better that you can go down to dinner when you want - and not once did we find the restaurant too busy.
The staff were all lovely and polite and obviously work very hard to ensure you have a great holiday.
The hotel is in a great location and the whole area is relaxing.
The Thompson reps, Nik and Eileen, are great too !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Jacky,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Meliá Atlántico, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has everything to make a holiday to remember. The setting unique, with views that have to be seen to be believed. The adverse comments about the food were completely unfounded, fresh, hot and all available up to the end of the serving. The staff were so helpful, always smiling and saying hello. In over 40 years visiting hotels this is the only one where you did not have to save sun beds. Reach the pool at anytime and there were beds available,
The area around the marina again is superb. Just a 5 minute walk and watch the sun go down with a G&T sitting at a table on the kerb, just as Spain was in the 60s. If you wonder where to go in 2014 this place will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room to watch the Fishing Fleet sail in and out each day. Unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d3ylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear D3ylan,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Isla Canela, as well as for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor such an amazing words about your stay in the Meliá Atlántico.

We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. Your positive comments about the food will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Melia, 13 of us.....and we loved it. As others, I was very worried about the food, as reviews were bad! However, the meals were great. An abundance of fresh fruit and veg, a variety of fish, seafood and meats, alongside pasta dishes and chips and sausages. We dined at different times (all inclusive) and never had any trouble getting a table to accommodate all of us. Breakfasts were lovely, omelettes made in front of you with whatever you want in them, full English, variety of pastries, breads, cheeses and fruit. Cava there too, along with tea, coffee and juices.
The poolside bar had lovely food available all day too, and obviously it was all washed down nicely with their sangria.
Hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned every day, very comfortable beds, no noise from other rooms. Staff were all friendly and helpful, location was perfect for us too. A small bridge takes you straight to the beautiful sandy beach, 2 minutes away! Pool is big, but VERY COLD. That's my only complaint. It was too cold to go in, not many used it regularly, just too cold. An abundance of sun loungers around the pool, absolutely n need to reserve them or go early. We got 13 loungers at all times of the day...... There are LOADS!
Loved the activities on offer. The team are great. I enjoyed Pilates and yoga under the palm trees, and even endured a Spinning class, after the over indulgent eating! The evening entertainment was ok, magician was good.

Loved the fact that there were so many Spanish holiday makers there. Not the place to go if you want English food and English culture, but great if you want a quiet Spanish break. Venturing out, speaking Spanish is a definite advantage. Our daughter speaks Spanish so it was very helpful.

I don't have anything negative to say (apart from the freezing pool). We had a lovely holiday, and I would recommend it to others. Stress free and relaxing... I'm sure I will go again.... We booked through Thomson holidays, very well looked after.... Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea views were nice, interconnecting rooms available and useful for families. Ask for high floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 642Maharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear 642Maharani,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor such a complete and wonderful review regarding your impressions of your stay with us. I am completely sure that all the details you describe in the comment will help other visitors who are coming to Isla Canela.

We would also want to thank you for your lovely words regarding our staff and our location, and especially regarding our food, which reaches absolutely with your expectations and make your stay an unforgettable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future in order to ensure you another memorable stay between us.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 9 times now and was concerned about what the change over would be like from Riu to Melia after reading some negative reviews. We are happy to say to our point of view it is better. The food is very good and we think the new layout of the restaurant is more hygienic. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Most of the staff as before are very kind, friendly and helpful. Plenty of sunbeds but why are they so close together? they need spreading out more. We look forward to our next visit in October.
Chris and Amber, East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmberandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Amber and Chris,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Meliá Atlántico, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Isla Canela.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute holiday at the Melia Atlantico and I have to say that our expectations were exceeded. As with all new holiday destinations you hope for the best and read as many reviews as you can before making a considered decision. The reason we chose this hotel was mainly for a relaxed break, we definitely didn't want a Spanish Blackpool.

From entering the hotel all the staff are extremely polite,helpful and professional. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone will go out of their way to assist. We opted for half board and I have to say the food was fantastic with plenty of choice to suit all. Bottles of wine were very reasonable and the waiter gave good recommendations. Would consider all inclusive next time.

The rooms are a good size with fabulous views, a separate hall which ensures you hear no footsteps from other guests and therefore have a good nights sleep. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen.

This is far the best hotel for service and location, right on the beach and just a few minutes from the small marina and restaurants.

One final bonus if you are travelling with Thompsons are the reps, Nik and Eileen. They are both very helpful and could not do enough for us. The transfer from Faro was seamless and within 1.5hr of landing we were settled in our room.

Will definitely return, this is a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GGYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear GGYorks,

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed to the Meliá Atlántico during your holidays. We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I wish you a happy summer!!!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a bit concerned from the negative reviews we had read on here but no reason to be! Food was lovely. Great choice and fresh fish and meat cooked every night plus salads, great kids food and deserts. We went all inclusive and drink selection was better than we have had in all inclusive before. Location is lovely and quiet with a few bars and very relaxing. Hotel was spotless and staff friendly. Bit disappointed with our views from the room and the balcony on my inlaws room was so small you couldnt fit a chair on but they were happy. 15 euros to hire the tennis court for an hour was very expensive I thought as our six year wanted to play every day and think.that's a bit much. Overall though really excellent and would definitely go back but request a view over the river side of the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnacsouthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear donnacsouthyorks,

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay at the Meliá Atlántico!!

We feel delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time with us and everything reach your expectations. We very much appreciate your words about our location and specially the words you use to describe our food and staff. I am sure they will encourage them to keep doing their best in order to provide a special and memorable experience to all of our guests.

Wishing to welcome you back at our hotel!!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
0.6 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
997 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
6.1 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
5.3 mi away
Tui Family Life Islantilla
Tui Family Life Islantilla
#2 of 8 in Islantilla
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlantico Isla Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico Isla Canela

Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range: $123 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico Isla Canela 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International presenta Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, Located in Isla Canela (Huelva),one of the most privileged residential areas and tourist destinations in Spain, in the municipality of Ayamonte, the Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela is the perfect option for your trip to the Costa de la Luz, thanks to its privileged location right on the beach, its full facilities and the quality of its services. Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela provides elegant and modern rooms, the majority with fabulous sea views; different dining venues (Atlantico Buffet Restaurant, Los Esteros Bar Restaurant, Las Marismas Lounge Bar and La Punta Lounge Bar); high speed Wi-Fi internet; 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool; 1 children’s play area; 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court (*), 1 multi-sports court and 1 meeting room (*), 1 complete wellness centre (*) and a covered car park (*), amongst other services and facilities. (*) with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Atlantico Isla Canela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing