We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Nearby Hotels
$75
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Isla Canela(Isla Canela)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Playacanela Hotel(Isla Canela)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$189
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Villa Marquez(Vila Real de Santo Antonio)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Apolo(Vila Real de Santo Antonio)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Occidental Isla Cristina(Isla Cristina)(Great Value!)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,028)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveler rating
1,191
608
160
42
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
608
160
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelmama miafishing boatssugar reefpool areaevening entertainmenthalf boarddining roomthomson repsthe lion kingrelaxing holidaydining experienceentertainment teamonly gripeplenty of sunbedsplenty of choiceoverlooking the estuary
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute holiday at the Melia Atlantico and I have to say that our expectations were exceeded. As with all new holiday destinations you hope for the best and read as many reviews as you can before making a considered decision. The reason we chose this hotel was mainly for a relaxed break, we definitely didn't want a Spanish Blackpool.

From entering the hotel all the staff are extremely polite,helpful and professional. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone will go out of their way to assist. We opted for half board and I have to say the food was fantastic with plenty of choice to suit all. Bottles of wine were very reasonable and the waiter gave good recommendations. Would consider all inclusive next time.

The rooms are a good size with fabulous views, a separate hall which ensures you hear no footsteps from other guests and therefore have a good nights sleep. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen.

This is far the best hotel for service and location, right on the beach and just a few minutes from the small marina and restaurants.

One final bonus if you are travelling with Thompsons are the reps, Nik and Eileen. They are both very helpful and could not do enough for us. The transfer from Faro was seamless and within 1.5hr of landing we were settled in our room.

Will definitely return, this is a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GGYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear GGYorks,

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed to the Meliá Atlántico during your holidays. We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I wish you a happy summer!!!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a bit concerned from the negative reviews we had read on here but no reason to be! Food was lovely. Great choice and fresh fish and meat cooked every night plus salads, great kids food and deserts. We went all inclusive and drink selection was better than we have had in all inclusive before. Location is lovely and quiet with a few bars and very relaxing. Hotel was spotless and staff friendly. Bit disappointed with our views from the room and the balcony on my inlaws room was so small you couldnt fit a chair on but they were happy. 15 euros to hire the tennis court for an hour was very expensive I thought as our six year wanted to play every day and think.that's a bit much. Overall though really excellent and would definitely go back but request a view over the river side of the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnacsouthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear donnacsouthyorks,

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay at the Meliá Atlántico!!

We feel delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time with us and everything reach your expectations. We very much appreciate your words about our location and specially the words you use to describe our food and staff. I am sure they will encourage them to keep doing their best in order to provide a special and memorable experience to all of our guests.

Wishing to welcome you back at our hotel!!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from the Melia Atlantico, July 21st - Aug 1ST with my family.
Before leaving we were quite concerned about the negative reviews on the food quality and the layout of the restaurant. Whilst the food in terms of variety was disappointing for a Thompson Platinum 4 Star Hotel it was not as bad as people have said. We also felt for the rating of the hotel a dress code for evening meal and table cloths would have been in order. We had also read that the restaurant layout was like a works canteen, whilst we can see where people are coming from we think this is harsh.
Enough of the negative onto the positive, the hotel staff are very friendly , the hotel itself is kept very clean , rooms are very comfortable , the location is right on a superb beach

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANONYMOUS584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear ANONYMOUS584,

Thank you very much for such a motivated and inspirited words of your stay in the Meliá Atlántico. I am especially pleased to know that you have enjoyed our service and product. We are working in a vacational dressing code, that's mean, you can wear short trousers!!you are in your summer holidays!!

We hope to welcome you back soon!!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Atlantico for 10 nights in July. We have previously stayed at this hotel 9 times when it was a Riu so like everyone else we were quite nervous when we read some of the negative reviews before we got there. However if you are thinking if booking this hotel do not hesitate! We were staying with our two daughters aged 13 months and nearly 5 year old and no problems at all. The staff were amazing as always and nothing was too much trouble. Food was even better than when we have stayed previously, we particularly enjoyed the Mexican food night. Much easier now that you don't have such restricted sitting times for evening meal. The only issue we had is that we booked a family room as we needed a cot and bed for the girls, the initial room they put us in was ridiculously tight with no storage. However, after half an hour of discussions we did get moved to a more suitable room. The whole holiday was amazing and we hope to be able to return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenandScottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Karenand,

We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff of the Melia Atlántico.

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and you have been delighted with our staff again, location and the quality of the food.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I wish you a happy summer!!!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just had our 14 holiday at the Atlantico, like others I wondered if we were .not going to enjoy the Melia experience like we did the Riu, I never expected to say this but it was better, the dining room worked well never one queue ,lots of things the same but beds bedding towels and many other changes have been improved, management and staff very helpfull help and very pleasant, pleased have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel and planning to return next month for two weeks, we would recommend you come and experience a great holiday.

Room Tip: We like estuary views but rooms are small.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hutchinson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Hutchinson,

Greetings from Isla Canela!!! Thank you very much for such a good review regarding your stay in our hotel!!

It is very nice to hear that you have been very satisfied with both our product and service. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was wonderful, and thank you also for sharing your impressions about our staff, I am sure it will help many people to come to our hotel.

Wishing to welcome you again very soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews