We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Melia area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quiet Melia area.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Melia Atlantico for a week 16th to 23rd May 2013. A very good hotel the staff did all they could to help. When we arrived we could not have our room untill 4pm and as we arrived at 11.30 it was not good as we had been up 22hours. Eileen was a helpful rep with Thomson however 'Nik' was an absolute washout. Too busy preening his lovely self and far too interested in hearing his own voice to a captive, tired, holiday maker audience. He totally let us down in not booking a Seville trip for us both. The guy is an absolute waste of time, so sweet!!!
The weather was awful but that is not Thomson or the hotels fault. Just bad luck. The El Paraiso bar is the best place to eat, good quality food and very attentive owner. If you like chips and hamburgers go to the Sugar Reef. Yuk.

Room Tip: We had a good room after I played my face at the wait of two hours and still no room available. Ito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Frederic,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your holidays, as well as for your kind comments about the hotel and staff; be assured that I will share them with the entire team.

The entire staff of the Meliá Atlántico will be very glad to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    496
    132
    29
    19
See reviews for
530
904
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

my wife and I returned from the Melia Atlantico yesterday,and we had a wonderful time.We have read all the negative comments and completely disagree with them.
We had been to this hotel last year when it was a Rui and thought then what a lovely hotel ,but the experience now that it is a Melia is better.
The staff are very helpful,which is the same as last year, and the Thomson reps Nick and Eileen are superb,and cannot do enough to assist in whatever way you want.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Dan and Michelle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear David,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Meliá Atlántico, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Isla Canela.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel right know ( arrived on Sunday 12th May ) Having stayed here before, yes there are changes but like everything in life problems have to be ironed out, i think the local Thomsons rep Eileen has been out standing in sorting out peoples so called problems. I think the main problem is that most of us dont like change. If there was any problems with the food i have not found any and the way the restaurant is set out now is better than before. Dont all ways believe what people wright. Good hotel, good staff and a great rep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 311david311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear David,

Greetings from Isla Canela!!!

I would like to thank you for your comments and the details you highlighted about our friendly staff and the quality of our food. I am very happy to know you have enjoyed your stay in the Meliá Atlántico and I hope you will come again and visit us in the near future!

Looking forward to having this occasion soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at the Melia and completely agree with all of the comments regarding the disappointing food. There is not a lot we can add on the subject but to say that until a self catering option is available we wouldn't recommend this hotel.

On the plus side the hotel is in a beautiful location, right on the beach (which is relatively quiet and the sea was warmer than expected). We ate at a lovely resturant Bella Napoli just by the hotel. The food there was excellent, we tried a few dishes over the 2 weeks and they were all consistantly good. Would definitely recommend this resturant. The same cannot be said for Sugar Reef and Cindys Bar. We ate in both and wouldn't rush back.

We have read a lot of peope rave about the Thompson rep Eillen, unfortunately we didn't agree. First impression was not good, during our long check-in she spent the first half an hour on her mobile and didn't even acknowldge us. Nor was there an apology when she finally emerged. She gestured to a few guests that were queuing in front of us to take a seat to complete the registration forms. Once done however they had to requeue from the back (lucky for us we moved up). There was no introduction or greeting from her and to be honest we could count the number of times we saw her smile during our 2 weeks on one hand. I understand that the problems and complaints were probably stressful to deal with but this is not an excuse for rudeness. We tried to have as little as possible to do with her after that as first impressions are important.

We had a good holiday despite the problems but would look for alternative accommodation next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank truevoice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Truevoice1,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Melia Atlántico. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In our hotel we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

If you check the reviews from June to July, you could see that our guest are saying that our food is great!

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived at the Melia on the 5th May for one week. On arrival our room was not available. We had to store our luggage and wait for two and a half hours till room was ready. This being the first week and no one was checking out????
Room was at the front of the hotel, it was a good size and comfortable. We had no trouble sleeping.
The room maids did keep turning off the electric (card) our mini fridge kept defrosting by the end of the week we had a pool of water in the bottom.
On checking out there were five staff behind the desk and one gentleman being attended to. We gave our room number and was asked to return in 10 mins We had no bills to pay, obviously reception staff need more training.
The food!! think it's all been said. It was a dining experience we've never have had before. Appalling. Thank goodness for the Sugar Reef . Real Food
Thomson need to sort
.Eileen and Nick need a special mention for their never ending effort to try and placate very irate holiday makers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smudgesmith1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear smudgesmith,

First of all, I would like to thank you for have given us the opportunity to accommodate you in your holidays. We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay because at the Meliá Atlántico we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We would like to apologise for the problems you had in our reception and with the food. We can assure you that your comments will be analysed in detail and we will take the appropriate measures to avoid these incidents in the future, because the most important object of our day-to-day duties is to make our clients stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

We would appreciate if you will reconsider our hotel for your future visit to Isla Canela in order to recover your trust in us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We too went to the Melia Atlantico on the 5th May and stayed till the 16th yet we were only offered £40 each , this seems very unfair when others have got £50 for only 1 week, I will have to get in touch with Thomsons.
The hotel itself is lovely and the situation really nice, the Housekeeping staff great and the waiters and waitresses also, but the Restaurant is really going to have to sort itself out, the food was truly awful, same , same, same, and what is with the brussel spouts and baby carrots for breakfast !!!
I just had a glass of wine for evening meal, it ranged from third of a glass to just covering the bottom, which was more often than not.
We too could only book half board, so it cost us an awful lot more for lunches than we would have wanted, just to get nice food.
The hotel did do snacks at lunch but they took so long to cook I dont know how they would manage with lots of people eating as it was there were only about 4 couples when we tried them and waited 45 mins.

It is the square I feel sorry for, hardly anyone went into it, so it was very much a ghost town , not helped by All inclusive.

The last issue was lack of information, other than expensive trips. There was a little train that runs each day but no information was given, it did a tour into and around Ayemonte, there were 3 couples on it when we went, what a waste, as people were asking about them and id they were running.

This is a lovely part of the world and would like to come back but only after the issues have been sorted at the Melia Atlantico.

This is not a Platinum holiday, yet.

Room Tip: We chose an Estuary room as it has the morning sun and is cooler at night. You can hear the fishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience in our hotel.

We apologise for the fact that the quality of our food did not fulfil your expectations. We would also like to thank you for your nice words regarding the friendliness and good service of our staff.

Once more, we regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope you give us the opportunity to show you the service and the distinctive quality of Meliá Atlántico.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday 12th to19th May at this hotel after it was recommended to us by a good friend but that was when it was a Rui hotel and not as it is now a Melia hotel.Teething problems they are definately having and am suprised that no one has experienced food poisoning.The food was NOT 4* standard and completely ruined our stay.The hot food was only aired,kept under heat lamps and every so often returned to be reheated right in front of our eyes in ovens.Some of the food wasn't even cooked thouroughly we experienced potatoes that were raw in the middle,meat that was inedible i could go on forever.The quality was also a big let down we even resorted to eating out a few times even though we were all inclusive.I have read other reviews and yes we were offered brussel sprouts and carrots for breakfast along with tinned fruits platinum standard i don't think so.Everybody was complaining about the food and other guests even told us they were being offered money back or Thomson vouchers towards their next holiday but were told by the rep not to tell anyone or else they would all be wanting a refund,needless to say we were offered nothing and i will certainly be contacting Thomsons asap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for have given us the opportunity to welcome you at the Meliá Atlántico.

We are sorry for the last feeling that you have had regarding your stay. In addition, we really appreciate your comment because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day and, furthermore, it helps us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel to provide you with the best of our attention for recover your trust in us and make your stay an unforgettable and very special experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
0.6 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,043 reviews
6.0 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
ADH Isla Cristina
ADH Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlantico Isla Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico Isla Canela

Property: Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico Isla Canela 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International presenta Melia Atlantico Isla Canela, Located in Isla Canela (Huelva),one of the most privileged residential areas and tourist destinations in Spain, in the municipality of Ayamonte, the Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela is the perfect option for your trip to the Costa de la Luz, thanks to its privileged location right on the beach, its full facilities and the quality of its services. Melia Atlantico – Isla Canela provides elegant and modern rooms, the majority with fabulous sea views; different dining venues (Atlantico Buffet Restaurant, Los Esteros Bar Restaurant, Las Marismas Lounge Bar and La Punta Lounge Bar); high speed Wi-Fi internet; 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool; 1 children’s play area; 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court (*), 1 multi-sports court and 1 meeting room (*), 1 complete wellness centre (*) and a covered car park (*), amongst other services and facilities. (*) with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Atlantico Isla Canela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing