We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy small and friendly”
Review of Pension Kachelman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Kachelman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was absolutely amazed by the contact response time of this pension. I was desperate as all the places to stay in Stiavnica seemed to be full on Thursday evening. I kept calling and calling but I always got the same answer. I decided to send e-mails to every pension or hotel I could possiibly find in Banska Stiavnica. Kachelman got back to me first at 5 AM in the morning! - I did not really expect that! - the rooms were quiet, clean and the pension was in such a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ninjas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's a nice and cheap Pension but we could smell pizza cooking from the kitchen below when the window was open and the shower drain made a rancid smell after use. The mattress was hard and pillows thin and lumpy. Other than that it was great value and impressive. The breakfast was nice enough and I would recommend the pizzeria!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NGPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Room very good, quiet place, close to centre. Dinner was early excellent. People kind, room service OK. Momentaly not working card machine for paying but we get discount for it because we paid by cash. Breakfest adequate and fine. We were happy here.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This pension is right in the centre of the town and has spacious clean rooms. It has own parking lot so there is no problem with parking. It is in historical building. But restaurant we did not like at all, 4 of us went there for a dinner and none of us were satisfied. We asked a waitress for raccomandation and she told us she would not eat there anything, she does not like that kind of food... Weird...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in this hotel on our way from Hungary to North Slovakia. It is very nice, comfortable hotel in city in which you can not find any attraction. So, it's nice place to stay on the way.
The hotel has 2 connected buildings. Our room was in one building, and our parents were in other one. They had some problem with hot water at the evening.
The restaurant was very tasty and cheap. They also have good choice of alcohol drinks, but poor choice of deserts...
Most of the staff speak English.
Also, they have free parking and wi fi.

Good hotel and restaurant for reasonable price in place without attractions.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Vaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Banska Stiavnica is well worth a look if you are touring by car in Slovakia. A Baroque former silver mining town it oozes a gloriously distressed atmosphere of former wealth, which has now passed them by.. If you stay then do make time for a stroll around this small town and visit the old castle in the town where you can walk around the creaky wooded battlements.
The Pension Kachelman has basic en - suite rooms, which are kept very clean - It's only around 35 Euros for B&B, so don't expect luxury; It does the job for an overnight stay.
The best bit however is the restaurant. If you ever wondered what an Eastern Bloc restaurant's decor looked like in the communist era then look no further than here. That said, the food was amongst the best we had during our entire trip. The Slovak wine selection was equally as well enjoyed..Try the Matysak Rulandske Modre red. It goes down a treat with the roast wild boar on offer.
If you are planning a visit in the summer then make sure you also divert off to Cierny Balog, an hour or so's drive though beautiful rural scenery.to the north west, There you can take a ride on the delightful antique narrow gauge steam railway, originally built to haul timber out of the forests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Comfortable, friendly, well situated, can't fault it. The car park was very full but it was a busy time of year and it's great that it has a car park. Spacious rooms, great wifi, good breakfast and restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banska Stiavnica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Matej
Hotel Grand Matej
#4 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salamander
Hotel Salamander
#2 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
22 reviews
2.1 mi away
Salamandra Resort Hotel
Salamandra Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hodrusa Hamre
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel Golfer
Hotel Golfer
#1 of 1 in Kremnica
48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sovi Dom
Sovi Dom
#1 of 2 in Svaty Anton
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzion na Kopci - Alena Dobrovicova
Penzion na Kopci - Alena Dobrovi...
#5 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kachelman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kachelman

Address: Kammerhofska 18, Banska Stiavnica 969 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Stiavnica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Banska Stiavnica
Price Range: $49 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Kachelman 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House Kachelman is an original civic house dated the 16th – 17th century. In the object of current Guest House, you can find valuable painting and architectonic elements. Comfortably furnished Guest House located in the center of Banska Štiavnica will satisfy also more demanding guests with its equipment. Accommodation is provided to total 52 persons in 22 double rooms, one triple room and two apartments with fire log, minibar and a kitchen corner. There are 19 additional beds available. Every room is equipped with shower cabin and toilet, color TV set with satellite receiver. Family with a small child can have a children bed. There is a pleasant restaurant with the fire log, capacity of 100 guests and wifi connection located on the Guest Room ground floor. Two terraces are accessible in summer – one of them with capacity of 30 guests and another one is private with grill and pond with capacity also 30 guests. Resort center also located on the ground floor contains sauna, Jacuzzi and relax room. Massage services are available upon request (to be booked). The Guest House provides a pleasant „Hunt Saloon“ to its guests with capacity 25 persons to various events, presentations and conferences. Soon there will be multimedia training room available with capacity of 50 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Pension Kachelman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kachelman Banska Stiavnica, Slovakia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing