We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Longhouse, worth the visit”

Lofotr Viking Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$177.99*
and up
Guided Sightseeing Trip from Svolvaer including Lofotr Viking Museum
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Vestvagoy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet the Vikings! At Borg in Lofoten, the largest longhouse in the world of the Vikings has been found - and reconstructed. Upon entering the 83 meter longhouse, you embark on a journey more than an 1000 years back in time. In addition to the Viking Chieftain's house, the museum offers modern exhibition halls with archaeological artifacts, and the story of the finding and excavation of Borg. In the film theatre, we show a short drama-film. During summer, the Viking ship is moored at the seaside, 20 min walk from the Chieftain's house. June 15 - end August guests may participate in Viking activities, such as rowing the Viking ship and trying their hand at archery. All year, different Viking meals are being served, check web for more info. The museum is open all year - check home page for hours as it varies through the year.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very cool authentic longhouse that shows how the vikings lived. Well worth the visit if you're in Lofoten

1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofotr V, Informasjonssjef at Lofotr Viking Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks! We aim to tell the history of the Viking in a living, authentic way. It makes us happy to hear that you think we have achieved in our goal. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 486 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a wonderful display of amazing exhibits, most of which were excavated on the site of the museum and tell the story of the wonderful people that have become known as "Vikings". Of course the myths of buriel by burning in boats is expelled here, but what comes to light is the wonderul seafaring abilities that promoted trading of fantastic jewels, glass, etc.

The guides are knowledgable and many questions are answered.

The recreated Long House is a joy to visit and so interesting to see. To understand the way in which the 'tribe' lived as one unit - worked and created everything they needed, farmed to perfection. It is enlightening.

Yes, it is expensive and yes, all of Norway is. It should be expected if you travel here. But the interest in this museum is worth the visit.

Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofotr V, Informasjonssjef at Lofotr Viking Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed the Viking museum. Thank you for great reviews!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Decided to take this excursion as it sounded interesting and we are glad we did.

Our guide was just amazing, he was so informative we learnt so much about the area, Vikings and Norway in general. We were picked up by him and the coach from the dock for about a 45min drive in the dark through to the centre.

When you arrive you walk up a small hill and into the building, we could see the Northern Lights above us as we walked up. When you go in you are given a cape and go into a hall area which is set up as it would have been with eating/sleeping/working areas.

As we were one of the first in we ended up at the bottom end of the hall. What that meant was that as you leave the hall by the door you came in through to go into the eating hall we were last in and ended up at the back almost behind the main chair where the 'lord' sat. so our view was restricted somewhat. I would suggest hanging back and going in last as that way you will get a better chance of sitting on a front and centre bench with a better view.

The meal was good if you like lamb and the mead which was constantly topped up was wonderful! The entertainment was good (not Disney acting quality) but still interesting. It seemed like we had only just finished eating and it was time to leave with time allowed to walk through the shop before you left.

Similar length coach journey to meet the boat again, we were longer on the coach than at the hall but it was different and our guide made it all worth while. If you are really counting the pennies give it a miss but if you can justify the cost then go as it is nice to do something different for the evening.

2  Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofotr V, Informasjonssjef at Lofotr Viking Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thanks a lot for your good review. We are very happy to hear that you liked our Viking Feast! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This museum is a must when visiting the area. Lots of information but signs telling what is available and where could be better. All in all, go visit!

Thank 1302travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofotr V, Informasjonssjef at Lofotr Viking Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Tusen takk for god tilbakemelding! Vi arbeider hele tiden med å forbedre oss og takker for ditt innspill. Velkommen tilbake ved en annen anledning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Main attraction is an 83m long reproduction of Viking longhouse. Part guided by Kristian and part by headphones. Very interesting. Able to touch, and try on some exhibits. Set amid stunning scenery. Visitor shop very very expensive, but so is everything here.

Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofotr V, Informasjonssjef at Lofotr Viking Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your generous feedback. It sounds to us that you have had a good time along with our guide Christian. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay at the Lofoten islands, too. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lofotr Viking Museum also viewed

Moskenesoy, Lofoten Islands
 

Been to Lofotr Viking Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing