We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible aquamarine seas, fabulous beaches, and a real understanding of the place we'd visited”

Parco Nazionale dell'Arcipelago di La Maddalena
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$45.57*
and up
Boat Tours La Maddalena Archipelago from Palau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Maddalena Archipelago National Park is a geomarine protected area consisting of a group of islands situated in the north-east of the coast of Gallura, in the stretch of sea between Sardinia and Corsica known as Bocche di Bonifacio. These islands – except for La Maddalena Island housing the homonymous town and characterized by a significant human presence – are entirely deserted or scattered with small human settlements, like in Caprera and Santa Maria Islands.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Incredible aquamarine seas, fabulous beaches, and a real understanding of the place we'd visited”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We did a tour with Consorzio del Golfo from Cannigione and it was the absolute highlight of our holiday. Astonishing bright blue water, sandy beaches with strange volcanic rock formations, a surprisingly tasty pasta lunch ("courtesy of the captain") and views of Capo d'Urso with its bizarre vast bear rock. Also a quick trip to the town of La Maddelena and charming alleys and squares. The boat we were on seemed less crowded than the others we saw, and we had no difficulty in securing a top-deck (open air) table for each of the 5 legs (by being prompt for each bit). We took a parasol for essential shade at beach stops, and plenty of cold water. Brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,628
    216
    44
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Islands near Sardegna (Palau)”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

La Maddalena is one of the nice Islands in the top of Sardegna. La Maddalena is the greatest with shops, restaurants and much more. Nice to take a ferry (only about 25 minutes) from Palau but you have to look for which ferry you choose because of the timetables. For a short visit you do not need a car, which you can park 5 minutes from the port. When you want to see more you have to leave in the morning for example to visit the museum. But also nice - and maybe nicer - take a trip with a boat (from Baia Sardinia, Cannigione, Palau) a whole day visiting the most small islands with great beaches. Its is really nice to spent a day for it but not only for La Maddalena. It also possible to rent boats in Palau and Cannigione and you can do what you want, look for enough petrol which yoy can get at La Maddalena. The sea is beautiful and the wooden bridge between two islands is nice to see, also to take a swim in the sea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank robertvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Well worth the full day trip, despite the fact that some of the beaches get quite full when 2 or 3 boats arrive almost at the same time;

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre_Lopes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Ferries to La Maddelena”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just been to Sardinia, and would recommend a trip to La Maddelena.It has beautiful scenery, and some lovely little beaches. Our advice would be to take a car to explore - its only a small island, and the roads are good.

The ferries are from Palau, and it is a pleasant, short crossing ( 15 mins). The port at Palau is a bit hectic, though - and a bit of advance knowledge might help, so let me share our experience.

Firstly there are three separate companies operating the same route - Saremar, Delcomar and EneRrmar, Each seems to have its strengths and weaknesses - Saremar have the most frequent sailings (half hourly in the morning up to 11, then hourly, then half hourly again in the afternoon from 1500) - but their last return seems to be 1900 ( 2013 timetable). Delcomar are not quite so frequent, but have later crossings in the evening - and EneRmar are the least frequent, but may offer discounts for pre-booking. We were recommended to go with Saremar, and found them very good out and back.

The bustle is when you arrive in the port area. The area is all one space, but the separate ferry companies have different queuing areas for their respective boats. I would agree with a previous reviewer that the Delcomar people were kitted out to look "official", and were enthusiastically trying to direct us into their queue. I ignored that, and found the Saremar area on the left of the port area.

Buying tickets was simple, but again, you need to understand the process. You will see ticket offices before you get to the port - but these are owned by individual companies. Once inside the port there is a single ticket building - on the left - where all three companies have ticket kiosks. Go in there, go to your preferred company, buy the ticket ... and you're off ! Easy embarking and disembarking, and La Maddelena was lovely to drive around.

I believe that you can pre-book ( sometimes at a discount), but I found the internet sites difficult to load on my tablet so I didn't bother. If you do book for a specific time, I would just share my experience that you have to crawl through traffic in Palau to get to the port. That added 10 minutes in early July, so in true high season, there may be some delay.

The final thing to share is price. I had tried to research in advance what the costs were - and failed ! For our trip, we paid 40 euros return for a car and two people. Personally, I thought that was very reasonable.

Hope this helps some - we had a great day driving around in the morning, and relaxing by a stunning little cove in the afternoon. Enjoy !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware of sailboat tours by Bestsail”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We signed up for this tour a ta cost of 60E$U per person, mainly because Carlo from Bestsail, advertised that this tour included a 3 course meal, with wine & beer through the day, the reality was that the wine run out before lunch was over & there was no beer at all:-( . While the tour was good, they had promised us 3 stops, the piscina, Sta Maria & Spargi, but because the outboard on the dinghy broke before we finished the first stop, we were shorted the Sta Maria beach stop.When you add that they switched us from the boat we booked to another one wit 9 other adults and 4 children, the experience was less than good. The sales pitch stated that the boat load was between 10 to 12 pax! I guess kids because they go free they do not take space:-(.
I would spend 30E$U per person and take the Dolfin Bianco, rather than trust their promises
.When we expressed our disappointment with the tour, Carlo dismissed it as "buyer beware" I do not recommend this tour operator, no matter what promises he makes!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco Nazionale dell'Arcipelago di La Maddalena also viewed

La Maddalena, Maddalena Islands
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Palau, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Parco Nazionale dell'Arcipelago di La Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing