We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, problem solved”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in La Maddalena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is situated right in the centre, the windows are soundproof. It was recently refurbished in a cool and calming contemporary style. There is a 'solarium' on the roof and a wonderful terrace on the first floor, where breakfast is served.
We booked a room for two nights with three beds via the internet, but got a double wit a fold out bed, leaving not enough room to move about. After the first night we decided to complain and got a family suite which was very nice. Very professional staff. No business centre available, but internet café nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polderpolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed 1 night at Excelsior and my experience was above the expectations, considering that I paid a reasonable fee for a double room < 100 euro

The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful , the rooms are elegant and clean, with a nice sea view.

Will definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
Thank DayTripperLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

i stay there with my wife and kids for 2 days, first, they charged you for a 1 year old baby 10 euros per night ! Then, the room was very dirty, i spent 30 minutes to clean the wall, because there was the print of fingers everywhere. In our room 5 lights were broken.
Very expensive for this kind of hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julangdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our stay at the Hotel Excelsior was wonderful. The location was great for us. We would not be having a car, so easy access was a must for us. The ferry stops right in front of the hotel, so once we arrived, we only had to head across the street (which was also wonderful on our early morning departure). The bus stop was also just out a short walk outside the door.

The hotel was very nice, the staff was wonderful. They have wifi in the lounge area, and wired internet connection in the room. The wired connection in the room was a pain - it did not stay connected making work very tiresome. The wifi in the lounge seemed to work better.

The staff was all very nice and helpful. They even translated over the phone for us when one us needed to go the doctor. The breakfast was very nice with pastries, juices, cheese, meat, yogurt, eggs, bacon and cereal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and modern. TV didn't really work well, but you shouldn't watch TV while in beautiful Sardinia. The major issue with this hotel is the location. It's on the busiest street in the island, just in front of the port where every 15m there are ferries coming and unloading lots of cars. I couldn't leave the window opened because of the smog. This is really unfortunate because the hotel has great staff. Everyone was very helpful and spoke english. Breakfast was ok, but the the money I would have expected more food. And another bad point is that they do not have parking, so if you come with your car, it's going to be very difficult to find parking (and don't listen to what they tell you at the hotel, I was told that it was no problem to find parking and every day it took me more than one hour to find a spot...)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilcontemascet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This four-star hotel has very comfortable bedrooms. It has friendly and extremely helpful staff, a number of whom speak excellent English. It also provides excellent breakfasts. However, overall I was a little disappointed with it.
The hotel's front entrance opens out immediately onto the public pavement and road, and the public pavement is only about 60cm wide. The hotel has no car-parking of its own. Free car-parking is available on the opposite side of the road, provided local people haven't already parked there. We were able to park close by on some occasions, but several times we had to park quite a lot further away - up to 600 metres. If one is carrying heavy luggage this is hardly convenient.
The hotel reception area is tiny and consequently it can be repeatedly exasperating trying to get past people who are standing in the way whilst waiting for someone or just in conversation. The hotel has no lounge or garden, nor does it have a swimming pool.
Breakfasts were at first taken in a pleasant room that is occasionally used for conferences at other times. Later in our stay, breakfasts were transferred to a first-floor open-fronted terrace that looked out from the front of the hotel straight onto the harbour.
The harbour is a busy place, with two frequent ferries carrying vehicles and foot passengers. Fortunately we enjoyed being close to this bustle and watching all that was going on, and it was convenient to be close also to the town centre for dining out in the evenings. But if we had wanted a peaceful and quiet hotel then we would have been very unhappy with the location of this one.
Overall I would still recommend this hotel, mainly on account of its exceptional staff, but I would question its four-star rating. In view of the deficiencies I have indicated above, I would consider three stars to be more accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryphaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Excelsior! The rooms are very modern and finished to a fantastic standard. Every staff member we met was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in early October and the weather was perfect. Warm enough for the beach although a bit too cold to swim but we had the beaches almost to ourselves. We also really enjoyed being able to walk out of the hotel and have a generous selection of restaurants (and Gelato!). We also stayed in Porto Cervo where there is not as much of the cafe culture and we really missed it! We had our 2 year old daughter with us as well and the room was large enough for her travel bed and the staff made her feel very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Maddalena
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 16 in La Maddalena
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 16 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel e Residence Villa Del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miralonga
Hotel Miralonga
#5 of 16 in La Maddalena
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Gabbiano
Il Gabbiano
#12 of 16 in La Maddalena
150 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Vai Amendola, 7, 07024, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range: $36 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior, elegant and modern, is located in the city centre on the island of La Maddalena. We offer customers a comfortable and quiet holiday dream. It is easy to reach the most beautiful beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel La Maddalena
Hotel Excelsior La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing