We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Experience - well worth a visit - another world!”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
Galway Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an Experience - well worth a visit - another world!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited Castle Durrow for one night only but what an experience... well worth a visit - felt like going into another world.... From the time we entered the grounds a beautiful atmosphere surrounded the place. With its well maintained gardens and walk ways it is a wonderful way to spend some time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and our room was truly beautiful. The restaurant is so elegant and food really good. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there and will definitely be back. i felt like royalty! Would recommend it as something of a real treat and a very romantic setting indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirtualChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    80
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
133
226
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were at a wedding here recently and the place is just beautiful, it has a really luxurious feel. The food was great, alot of which is grown on site. The views across the rolling countryside are gorgeous. The staff were very helpful, all in all a really lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent location both geographically and beautiful ground. Most courteous staff. Very good food, a breakfast of top quality , elegant interiors , comfortable beds, even if needing better lighting . Value destination

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a discovery! My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time last weekend but I sincerely hope we can make it back there again. The staff were so friendly and attentive and our bedroom was the most spacious and best decorated that we have ever experienced. And what can I say about the dining experience?? The food was simply divine and well above the standard of most hotels we have stayed in. A trip here is worthwhile for the food alone. The extensive grounds and gardens make this hotel a perfect oasis where you can stroll, relax and enjoy a carefree time. Top marks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD2012113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly atmosphere among the team at castle furrow
Was there for a wedding and the standard was very high . Quality food which as we all now is not a given at a wedding . Friendly hard working staff and all in a stunning location . One very small addition would be welcome - a cigarette machine . Eventhough I am a non smoker I had to spin down to the village for others . So in short excellence in hospitality , a benchmarking wedding venue , natural beauty and a staff with pride in what they deliver . Fair Play

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgwHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Castle Durrow and I can not praise the venue highly enough! From start to finish, even the initial booking process, we were made feel very welcome and looked after. Marie our wedding coordinator was a pleasure to plan with. I felt so relaxed about the whole day and that was due to the professionalism of the staff in all areas of castle Durrow.
Their experience as wedding venue hosts is evident! (Even down to ensuring tissues are on hand, even if you think you don't need them! - thanks Marie, I needed them!)
I stayed with my family in castle the night before the wedding and we were welcomed as if returning to our own home. It really was a seamless process.
The package does exactly as it says on the tin! - with no hidden extras. The banqueting staff are so attentive. We had a large wedding and serving that number of people without error can prove tricky...I managed to speak to each table throughout dinner and everyone's plate was clean! Just what I like to see.
I love that even though each day brings a new wedding in castle Durrow the attention to detail and overwhelming hospitality is not diluted.
Our guests have been raving about the whole day. Venue, food, staff, it really was our dream day! Great memories to last us a lifetime!!
Thanks again CD! We will be back!
C xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire77Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps it was serendipity, or the time of year, or the alignment of stars but this was one of the best stays I have enjoyed in a very long time!
Staff were very warm and friendly, the room was comfortable and well appointed. We had a tour of the garden from Bart who did not stint on his time. The food was creative and extremely tasty. The complimentary tea and coffee in the bar is a very nice touch. The house itself has a very nice "feel" and nothing seems to be too much trouble.
Happened to meet the owner as we were leaving and thanked her very much for creating such a wonderful space.
A truly great getaway for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
14.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
264 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,810 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Property: Castle Durrow
Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing