We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Best wedding venue, best food I've ever had at a wedding, charming rooms, friendly staff and drink sensibly priced. Could not say that about any other hotel I've ever stayed at!!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamsonross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 565 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed two days at castle Durrow for a wedding, and we got a super welcome from Louise when we arrived the day before !!

We had a beautiful room overlooking the gardens which are stunning ,only drawback was the lack of shelf space around the sink, easy to fix I'm sure ...

Castle Durrow has beautiful grounds and a trail not to be missed one can walk for hours and its all so interesting .

Dinner that night was very good as was breakfast

The wedding went so well , food ,room and staff all contributed to a very enjoyable day !!!

We would return for a romantic weekend beautiful spot !!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have good views and its very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff along with great food made our castle stay very special. Spent a weekend there and enjoyed browsing local antique shops and taking country walks. An iydllic setting, four-poster bed and my breakfast served in bed two mornings in a row - what more could one girl want?

Room Tip: Although all of the rooms are beautiful, I would say if you can to splash out and go for one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding, and I cant say enough good things about the hotel. The staff are excellent, and incredibly friendly and accomodating. The food was wonderful, and as I suffer from food allergies the wait staff were most helpful in telling me what was suitable for me, and going the extra mile to help. Our room (over the Stables) was very spacious and clean, with a wonderful view over the manicured gardens. We had such a great time, and I cant wait for an excuse to go back!

Room Tip: We found the bedroom to be very warm, so make sure and adjust the thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carleigh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent one night at Castle Durrow and wished we could have stayed longer. We booked the bed, breakfast, and dinner rate. The room was in the main part of the hotel on the second floor and over looking the rear garden. Our room was large with high ceilings. All of the common rooms in the Catle were very nice.
The dinner in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast the next morning. There are a lot of walking trails around the hotel which were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollerboard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were at a wedding in Durrow castle this Summer and I cant say one negative thing about it, The staff, food and over all atmosphere were just amazing. The staff at Durrow castle are the nicest that I have ever come across, Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I attended a wedding here recently, so just stayed overnight but I was very impressed. This was an excellent hotel. From arrival, the grounds were beautiful, the lobby was lovely, the room was big and bright with a great view to the back garden, the staff were exceptionally good with every detail looked after, and the breakfast was great. Overall a super wedding venue with very professional staff and a great spot for a break. I'll hopefully be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,890 reviews
4.7 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
12.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing