We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Probably" the Best Guesthouse in Ireland”

The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Durrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Like most, we travelled to Ireland for a wedding at the Castle Durrow. Our family had the most fantastic stay at the Ashbrook. Rosita and Sean make you so welcome that you feel like family. The building has a great history and has been restored to a very high standard. Our family occupied five of the bedrooms and each one of these was large, tastefully furnished (with incredibly comfortable beds) and luxurious en suites.
The lounge is very cosy with an enormous open fireplace and a basketful of logs for you to throw on the fire. And Rosita is always around to provide copious amounts of tea , coffee and biscuits. Sean is a great chef - we had an excellent meal on the first night of our stay and you really need a big appetite to enjoy his very tasty Irish breakfasts. Above and beyond all this excellent hospitality, Rosita ironed all of the shirts for the wedding!! We intend to return to Durrow, if for no other reason than to enjoy the excellent hospitality of The Ashbrook Arms!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

We found this place a great alternative to staying at the nearby castle for a wedding - it's about a 5 min walk away and half the price, although still a bit pricey for a B&B in our opinion.

That said, the incredible service more than made up for it, as we were greeted and looked after very well by a lovely local lady who was so friendly and accommodating it was refreshing and almost overwhelming! To my boyfriend's joy she even ironed his shirt for him!

The room and en suite was spacious, simple, tastefully furnished and spotless. The bed was incredibly comfortable. There was no TV or tea/coffee making facilities, but we liked that and were offered hot drinks and biscuits on arrival anyway.

We were also impressed by the homely lounge with a big fire that we wished we'd had more time to enjoy!

We did, however, find the time to enjoy a delicious full Irish breakfast, complete with a bottomless pot of tea, toast and tremendous hospitality.

We stayed 2 nights and slept at the front of the building the first night which is on the road and a little noisy early morning. I'd recommend requesting a room at the back that overlooks fields as it's much quieter. But testament to her goodwill, our lovely hostess noticed I was looking tired at breakfast and immediately made us up an alternative room to move into for the second night.

We couldn't have asked for more and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curi0usWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Sean and Rose have something special for you in Durrow. This faily owned and operated B & B restaurant provides a warm and friendly surroundings for the weary and hungry traveler. I have lived in Italy for the past eight years where I've tasted some of the best cooking in my life... I know great food! I must say that the lunch and dinner spread I had at Ashford Arms was truly gourmet. Everything was done to perfection in presentation, delivery and oh! OH! taste was an unbelievable experience.. Never did I expect to eat so well, especially in Durrow.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatboyinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed here while at a wedding in Castle Durrow. Without doubt the best B&B Ive ever stayed in. Our room was huge and spotless as was the ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was very tasty with the nice addition of the papers dropped to your table for reading. Id definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed in guesthouse and also met up with our extended family members and had dinner dinner in the restaurant. Dinner and Breakfast were excellent. The house was most interesting and a great find. Rosita, the owner took time to cater to our every need, while also answering our numerous questions regarding the history and restoration of the house.
The setting is delightful. The view from our room afforded us a terrific view of the town on one side and on the other the beautiful green countryside and meandering river. (Room 11)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phelans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Like many of the other reviews, we stayed at the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse, now known as The Ashbrook Arms Guesthouse, whilst attending a wedding reception at The Castle Durrow Hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted in a very friendly manner and were invited to coffee and biscuits in the lounge once we were shown to our room. The place itself is very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts each morning of our stay were excellent with prompt attention and the daily newspaper. We enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending the guesthouse to others.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailorsam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My fiancée and I arranged to stay here whilst considering the Castle Durrow (across the road) as a venue for our wedding. It was a lovely Guest House to stay in and the family who run and own the building were very kind. We felt there was far more potential to the place. At a lavish Irish Breakfast the always smiling proprietor gave us a very interesting run down on the history of the house. There is so much more that could be presented and so we hope the Bianconi will expand in the future. Our only negative was that we were essentially on our own in the house at night. Although the owners are just next door we felt that such a lovely guest house needs to have someone on site 24hrs otherwise one gets the impression of being in an empty house with nothing going on. Also there really is not anything in Durrow to do/see other than the Castle so a good midpoint on your journey or a place to stay whilst touring the area.

Other than that it is a marvellous place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrappymocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse

Address: The Square, Durrow na, Ireland (Formerly Bianconi Red Lion Restaurant)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Durrow
Price Range: $153 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse and restaurant is situated in the picturesque georgian village of Durrow, Laois in Ireland. The house was purpose built by Lord Ashbrook in 1777 and meticuosly restored by the Murphy family in 2005. It has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms and the restaurant is open on Friday and Saturday nights and for Sunday lunch. It was formerly called the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant And Guesthouse Hotel Durrow
Durrow Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing