We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, very friendly accomodation”

The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Durrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for a recent wedding attended in the Castle. Accommodation was just like a hotel, beautiful modern bedrooms with lovely bathrooms. Rosetta was very friendly and welcomming and produced a great breakfast! Highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIMI1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a great place! My wife and I stayed here last Thursday when attending a wedding at Castle Durrow. We thought it would be nice to stay "far from the madding crowd" and enjoy a little tranquility after the hurly burly of the wedding. Location wise it was literally only 5 minutes walk through the castle gates across the road to the main castle foyer (and it was nice to get some air on the way home from the wedding!). The rest didn't disappoint either. The room (#14) was really spacious, airy and comfortable with everything you'd expect in a high end hotel. The views over the river were an added bonus. Breakfast was also a real treat. The breakfast room is lovely and again we had a view of the river as we soaked up the beginnings of a hangover with a fabulous full Irish breakfast (as good as any you'll find). But the best thing about this super guesthouse was our host, Rosezita. She really couldn't do enough for us when we needed something but she was careful not to intrude and just left us to enjoy our stay and our time at the Ashbrook Arms. In summary, the Ashbrook Arms is a cheaper alternative to staying in the castle where you still get to be treated like royalty. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anantris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in castle durrow. excellent guesthouse, clean, lovely room. people running it were lovely, so helpful ,very nice breakfast. would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clonmel_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Was at wedding in Durrow, was expecting more of a B&B experience but it was more like a top class hotel.very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms were fabulous.breakfast hit the spot and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g-bone1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

After a 50 minute wait for our table, the food wasn't fresh to our table. Service was very disappointing - Seems the management wasn't too keen on accepting our dissatisfactory and only presented us with an excuses and blamed other diners for arriving late. Such a pity, as the food quality is very good. Compliments to the chef - But the Management and Service is dreadful

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LindaP123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A brilliant Guesthouse located on the banks of the river. The accomodation is excellent, roomy and comfortable, and the food is suberb.

The warm welcome and the friendliness of Rosita and her staff make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMMC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rainy, stormy Ireland became warm & wonderful by staying at the Ashbrook Arms Guesthouse. It's a lovely, nicely restored place - but it's the people who own it that make the difference. Rosezita, Sean & their lovely children would be able to give any building a soul, merely because of their genuine friendlyness. Welcomed with a smile, we felt at home instantly. Sean & Rosezita never became tired of spoiling us during our 3 day stay, him being a true magician in the kitchen, her being the most energetic, positive & engaged host ever. Sean made something as simple as scrambled eggs an experience, soooo tasty... And Rosezita is someone who seems to read your mind: you sit at the fireplace & start dreaming of a nice cup of tea & sweets...ooops...there she comes with a teapot.
If ever you stay in Ireland, make sure you do not miss this beautiful B & B. Have a rest, have dinner - and feel at home & welcome at the Ashbrook Arms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
12.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
13.7 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castletown House B&B
Castletown House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rathdowney
9 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grange Manor Kilkenny
Grange Manor Kilkenny
#1 of 1 in Ballyragget
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse

Address: The Square, Durrow na, Ireland (Formerly Bianconi Red Lion Restaurant)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Durrow
Price Range: $145 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse and restaurant is situated in the picturesque georgian village of Durrow, Laois in Ireland. The house was purpose built by Lord Ashbrook in 1777 and meticuosly restored by the Murphy family in 2005. It has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms and the restaurant is open on Friday and Saturday nights and for Sunday lunch. It was formerly called the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant And Guesthouse Hotel Durrow
Durrow Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing