We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Durrow”

The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Durrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rainy, stormy Ireland became warm & wonderful by staying at the Ashbrook Arms Guesthouse. It's a lovely, nicely restored place - but it's the people who own it that make the difference. Rosezita, Sean & their lovely children would be able to give any building a soul, merely because of their genuine friendlyness. Welcomed with a smile, we felt at home instantly. Sean & Rosezita never became tired of spoiling us during our 3 day stay, him being a true magician in the kitchen, her being the most energetic, positive & engaged host ever. Sean made something as simple as scrambled eggs an experience, soooo tasty... And Rosezita is someone who seems to read your mind: you sit at the fireplace & start dreaming of a nice cup of tea & sweets...ooops...there she comes with a teapot.
If ever you stay in Ireland, make sure you do not miss this beautiful B & B. Have a rest, have dinner - and feel at home & welcome at the Ashbrook Arms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed for wedding in castle durrow. Room was spacious, comfy and v clean! Only regret that didn't have more time to spend there!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great place to stay if you're attending a wedding in Castle Durrow (although it's not much cheaper than staying in the Stables of the Castle). Friendly, welcoming staff; spotlessly clean and fresh; elegant decor; fresh, delicious cooked breakfast; and the killer: FRESHLY GROUND COFFEE!

Would stay again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is without doubt the best B&B we have ever stayed in, period. The rooms, furnishings, welcome, food and general atmosphere make this the equal of any hotel even in a higher price bracket. Attention to detail and genuine friendliness makes the Ashbrook Arms a place to remember. The restoration work on this lovely period house is in itself something worth seeing, but ultimately it is the people, Rosita and Sean, who make this a place to visit and visit and visit. Don't just believe me, try it yourself. A genuine Irish gem.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were in Durrow to attend a friends wedding at the weekend and we stayed at the The Ashbrook Arms for two nights. I have been to many hotels, B&B's throughout Ireland and this is the most amazing place I have ever stayed! The rooms are fabulous.. Arrived at 12.30am and were brought straight to our room which was gorgeous 5 star standard.. Roseita was a great host and very nice. The breakfast was amazing.. Overall I would recommend staying here..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smccart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We traveled to Durrow for our daughter's wedding at Castle Durrow. We stayed at Ashbrook Arms two nights before the wedding and one night after. Rosezita and her husband Sean were magnificent hosts. They helped in every way possible: setting us up with a large taxi for our group to visit Kilkenny, waiting up for late arrivals, serving breakfast early when we needed to leave early in the morning. The following week we stayed in a variety of castles in Ireland (Clontarf, Durrow, Clontarf) and then moved to pousadas in Portugal. While these other accommodations were lovely, it is the Ashbrook that won my heart and gets my top rating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angele01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

A fantastic place to stay -The term B&B doesn't do it justice. Stayed here for a wedding in Castle Durrow - it's located just across the road from the entrance to the castle about a 5 minute walk in wedding heels. Saw the rooms of a couple of our friends in Castle Durrow and I personally think ours in the Ashbrook Arms was nicer. Very good sized room with beautiful bed and crisp white sheets, a huge bathroom with power shower. Beautiful sash windows. Quite expensive for a B&B but then again you couldn't really classify it as one. Loved my stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
12.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
13.7 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castletown House B&B
Castletown House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rathdowney
9 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grange Manor Kilkenny
Grange Manor Kilkenny
#1 of 1 in Ballyragget
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse

Address: The Square, Durrow na, Ireland (Formerly Bianconi Red Lion Restaurant)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Durrow
Price Range: $145 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse and restaurant is situated in the picturesque georgian village of Durrow, Laois in Ireland. The house was purpose built by Lord Ashbrook in 1777 and meticuosly restored by the Murphy family in 2005. It has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms and the restaurant is open on Friday and Saturday nights and for Sunday lunch. It was formerly called the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant And Guesthouse Hotel Durrow
Durrow Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing