We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
Nearby Hotels
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Vid Hafid Guesthouse(Olafsvik)(Great Value!)
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Fosshotel Hellnar(Hellnar)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
$285
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Framnes(Grundarfjorour)
$132
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$237
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
22
42
42
26
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
42
42
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was includedfishing villagerooms are cleanbasic necessitiestop floorwestfjords
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 159 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The service in the beginning wasn't good at all. We ringed the bell and people came looking around the corner and walked away. We had to wait 6 minutes so we could check in, while there were people looking at us who worked there.. The rooms and bathrooms were just ok. Breakfast was good, nice bread and allot of choice! Opposite of the hotel is a nice bakery, you may want to check it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganxxxxx O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This review relates to the restaurant as we did not stay at the hotel.
We were courteously and pleasantly greeted and shown to a table in a quiet part of the restaurant area. Menus and drinks came quickly, our food was extremely good and generous portions, my son said his lamb was the best ever. Our waitress spoke perfect English and had a lovely sense of humour, making for an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we spent one night in a wonderful studio room with a small kitchen & mountains view.
the best location to many activities in snaefell national park. only 20-40 minutes to any activity in the area. you can spend in the hotel at least 2 nights to cover all the attractions.

Room Tip: mountains view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikielmundo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here as it was a good stopping off point to tour the Peninsula en route from Reykjavik to the Westfjords utilizing the Baldur ferry (upon checking out of the hotel we proceeded to Stykkisholmur to take the afternoon ferry to Brjanslækur). There isn't much in this area so the hotel was 'sufficient' and within our price range.


Pros: 

-Clean

-Spacious

-Quiet

-Easy parking

-Breakfast included - good selection & plenty of food

-Restaurant on site 

-Day front desk staff gentleman was personable and accommodating (night staff lesser so)



Concessions:

-There are rooms within the "hotel" where the lobby and restaurant are located and there are also rooms in the building directly across the street. We stayed in the later as we booked an apartment room category. The building, and the apartment room reminded me of a 1970's college dorm - dull, straightforward and totalitarian

-The room and its carpet/furniture had the same vibe however, it was quite large and clean and the mini kitchen came in handy 

-No wifi in this area. We had to brave the sideways rain to cross the street and use the internet in the lobby. Despite this minor annoyance, I'd book the apartment side once again

Room Tip: Book an "apartment" room (it was the same price as a traditional room)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LvtrvlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Olafsvik was our first stop in Iceland. The rooms were surprisingly large. Beds were decent and comfortable. It was nice having breakfast included in the price. It's definitely a day or two stop at the most though as there's very little to see and do in the area. Took half a day to drive the peninsula and next to nothing to see in the actual town. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews