We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Largest Room in Iceland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olafsvik

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Olafsvik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olafsvik
chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My Largest Room in Iceland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

and, could have hosted a party there.It had a kitchenette, dinning table and chairs, and a small seating area in addition to the sleeping area. However, you had to lug your luggage upstairs yourself, and being over 60, it wasn't the experience I had hoped for. I stayed in the section across the street from the main hotel, and had an uninspiring view of "Main" street. Dinner was very good. Breakfast you had to fend off the hordes as it was a small section that was emptied out fairly quickly, with no replenishment that I could see or eat for that matter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    33
    21
    20
See reviews for
25
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

+ Very good location for exploring nearby National Park
+ Great choice for breakfast buffet
+ Large rooms (in a building over the road from the main building)

but:

- Staff - it's ok, but we didn't really feel like we were welcome there
- Lack of wi-fi

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makeitrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel was average. The double room studio was basic but spacious but didn´t include fridge or stove like we had promised when we booked the room (might have been also bookingsites mistake). Shower curtain hadn´t been washed for ages, it was all brown at the lower part.

The town is very lovely. There is a beautifull waterfall behind the houses and a lovely small river.

Room Tip: Choose a double room studio if you need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2xN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Level Contributor
214 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed at this place last year, but for some reason never wrote a review. Now that I've had another night there, I might as well put that right. The hotel comes in two parts... the actual 'hotel' and also its 'guesthouse'... so depending on whether you want to pay extra or less, be sure to enquire about the right part. I stayed in the 'guesthouse', which is the more basic half, and I had a shared bathroom. Take note of your floor number if you use the lift, as floor 2 will be for the hotel, and floor 2A will be for the guesthouse. I was quite happy with the place and felt it was fairly good for the price, and I think I was lucky to get a room there, given that I phoned with only 30 minutes notice in August. Breakfast was a marvellous buffet spread that took me nearly an hour to work through... so I didn't need any lunch that day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Still-On-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel must have undergone a renovation as it was much better than the comments on here. We were apprehensive about our stay, as it is the only hotel in town, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room, in the block over the road, was large, fantastic shower and quiet. Breakfast was continental in a lovely looking room. The restaurant was no open, but as guests we had a 20% discount at the restaurant next door, which was good. Friendly staff...only downside...not wireless....but I was offered a dongle!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

The place was clean but there were loose tiles in the room (no carpet). The shower was
interesting, you used a squeegee to scrape off the excess water from the shower. One
t.v. station. The breakfast was great, a real nice selection. It was one hundred twenty dollars
and they were not clear on the cost as we checked in (I blame myself) . I don't think it's a
very good value but we were tired. Perhaps there are bed and breakfasts around that would
be better. Thanks for reading

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markrobertyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place was recommended to us by our travel agent and pre-booked for us. When we checked in at reception we were told our rooms were in the building across the street. This was a bit of an inconvenience and the set-up was a bit uncomfortable. (Key hanging in the lock on the outside of the door... broken window...)

The rooms themselves were clean and spacious and it was relatively quiet at night.

We weren't very impressed with the selection or the prices on the dining room menu and so the kids decided we should go to the fast food place next door for a burger and fish & chips. This was probably the better option.

I would not recommend this hotel and when we go back to this area next summer we will opt for the nice little hotel a short way down the highway in the town of Hellissandur.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olafsvik hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olafsvik
10.0 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Olafsvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Freezer Hostel
The Freezer Hostel
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
18.6 mi away
Guesthouse Hof
Guesthouse Hof
#2 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olafsvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olafsvik

Property: Hotel Olafsvik
Address: Olafsbraut 20, Olafsvik 355, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Olafsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olafsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olafsvik 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No frills hotel by the harbour. Clean rooms and friendly service. Private bathroom, wi-fi and breakfast buffet included. Two seperate buildings: South side: Reception, restaurant/bar, breakfast hall, elevator, standard hotel rooms 20 square meters. North side, across the road: Rooms 40 square meters on first floor, accessible by stairs, most rooms equipped with a fridge, microwave and cutlery. Restaurant. Casual atmosphere for the weary traveller. Á la carte and group services. Menu is international with Icelandic flavour. Focusing on fish but also with seafood, vegetarian, beef, and burger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Olafsvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing