We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olafsvik
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel must have undergone a renovation as it was much better than the comments on here. We were apprehensive about our stay, as it is the only hotel in town, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room, in the block over the road, was large, fantastic shower and quiet. Breakfast was continental in a lovely looking room. The restaurant was no open, but as guests we had a 20% discount at the restaurant next door, which was good. Friendly staff...only downside...not wireless....but I was offered a dongle!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

The place was clean but there were loose tiles in the room (no carpet). The shower was
interesting, you used a squeegee to scrape off the excess water from the shower. One
t.v. station. The breakfast was great, a real nice selection. It was one hundred twenty dollars
and they were not clear on the cost as we checked in (I blame myself) . I don't think it's a
very good value but we were tired. Perhaps there are bed and breakfasts around that would
be better. Thanks for reading

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrobertyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place was recommended to us by our travel agent and pre-booked for us. When we checked in at reception we were told our rooms were in the building across the street. This was a bit of an inconvenience and the set-up was a bit uncomfortable. (Key hanging in the lock on the outside of the door... broken window...)

The rooms themselves were clean and spacious and it was relatively quiet at night.

We weren't very impressed with the selection or the prices on the dining room menu and so the kids decided we should go to the fast food place next door for a burger and fish & chips. This was probably the better option.

I would not recommend this hotel and when we go back to this area next summer we will opt for the nice little hotel a short way down the highway in the town of Hellissandur.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I can say much positive about this hotel except it is right next to the National Park and makes getting around easy. But booking was a nightmare and the advance service was unpleasant. When we arrived, the hotel was dormant and we had to have the manager buzz us in. We learned that the restaurant was closed, but the manager offered us dinner - no options, just chicken.

The room was two twin beds, not a double bed as requested. They made changing rooms sound like a hassle, so we didn't bother. The rooms and halls had the same tiled floor that carried every sound throughout the building into your room, and our room had a peculiar musty smell.

Breakfast was laid out according to expectations, but otherwise, this hotel is barest of bones in the off-season. But the location makes it the best option if you're looking to get outdoors.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Sadly, for a number of reasons, this was the worst hotel that we stayed at during our fabulous fortnight touring Iceland.

Things started to go ”pear-shaped” shortly after our arrival. We checked in using the pre-paid voucher from our tour company which stated we required a room to sleep 3 people. Our accommodation was in the building on the opposite side of the road. This was on top of some shops and offices. It certainly didn’t look like much from the outside, but then again looks can be deceptive.

The room itself seemed fine; a decent bathroom, small kitchenette type area, sofa, table, TV and a double bed but there was nowhere for our daughter (aged 12) to sleep. We checked to see if the sofa was actually a sofa-bed - it wasn’t.

So we trailed back over to reception only to find that the original receptionist had been replaced by another. After explaining the problem she seemed somewhat flustered and offered to make up the sofa. This was unacceptable, the sofa was small and we were staying here for two nights.

In the end she hesitantly offered us a triple room in the main building. This proved to be clean but very basic – obviously not what we had paid for. The floor was tiled throughout, there were no frills whatsoever, the toilet cistern was constantly refilling and the shower curtain and rail fell down every time it was touched. The one saving grace was that it was very quiet and had a lovely view to the church and mountains behind.

Then came dinner!

After a long day exploring the gorgeous Snaefellsnes Peninsula we were starving and decided to eat at the hotel. To cut a long story short, the food was adequate but definitely nothing special. The choice was extremely limited (soup then fish of the day or soup then chicken). There was a long wait between the first and second course as there was only 2 members of staff, who had to wait table and serve at the bar. These were the same 2 receptionists from earlier. Unbelievably this meal was the most expensive we had in Iceland (and we ate in some very nice hotels). It was certainly not value for money. What little ambience there was in the dining room was spoiled by a largish tour party who let their kids wander around all the tables at will (this of course was not the hotel’s fault).

Breakfast the following morning was OK, but once again nothing special.

Our second night we ate at Kaffi 59 in Grundafjordur, a few kilometres down the road and what a difference! This meal cost less than half the price of the one at the Olafsvik. Admittedly we only chose pizzas and a burger from their wide choice, but the bill included 2 glasses of wine, soft drinks and the best carrot cake ever eaten (it was home made), all served by a delightful, chatty waitress.

Based on our experience we really wouldn’t recommend Hotel Olafsvik. Maybe we would have a different perspective if we had had our correct room but that still wouldn't compensate for the outrageously priced food. We are sure there must be much better value hotels in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewell_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We spent three nights here as part of a tour of Iceland. The main hotel was full so we were put in one of 19 studio apartments over the road. These were as big as a studio flat with kitchen, dining area, sofa, beds, a lot of storage and an enormous bathroom! It lacked a bathmat but had a hairdryer. The bedding and facilities were very clean, but the carpet was a bit grubby. Some of our party had problems with lights and tvs but the hotel put all of this right. Housekeeping was hit and miss but as we were only using the rooms as a base it did not matter.

The breakfast was very good, as was the buffet dinner the first night, with the chef especially catering for two vegetarians (you do have to tell them in advance if you require a vegetarian meal, although the buffet might suffice). At the weekend it was an A La Carte menu which was very limited (again we got vegetarian meals cooked). Be warned, the dessert is very expensive and might only be a bowl of yoghurt. However when we protested at paying 850 kr for what seemed to be little more than a 99 kr yoghurt with a few slices of fruit, the next night the chef cooked us a special dessert for free. The staff were helpful.

There is a nice waterfall, interesting church and very short walk to the sea front where there can be a great view of the midnight sun. As a base for daily tours it was fine, and it's possible the actual hotel was even better, Food and drink in Iceland is expensive everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed there 2 nights during a public bus country tour. Overall a quite acceptable 2-star location but with its ups and downs. To start with the ups:
* Spacious clean rooms with twin beds and decent bathroom (note there are also cheaper rooms with shared facilities, can't comment on those)
* Reasonable breakfast buffet
* Free Internet PC in the bar for guests (which had technical problems so can't comment on usefulness)
* Reception is helpful in tourist info, sometimes more than the official info office which is almost nextdoor...
Then some points for improvement:
* Dinner restaurant not really recommended. One night it was closed (though officially opened for a-la-carte) and the other night, when a group was present, open for buffet. Which wasn't bad but with a hopelessly low price/value ratio (worse than most Reykjavik restaurants!) and below-standard waiter service.
* Reception staff quite mixed. Next to the helpful ladies with tourist assistance (and help in arranging an early leave) we also had some where one felt that it must have been a privilege for the tourists to be served - a bit classic Russian red-tape friendliness.

So overall still decent to stay for a few days, to do things like the whale watching and the round-the-glacier bus trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olafsvik
10.1 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
512 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
495 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Olafsvik
113 reviews
15.1 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Snaefellsbaer
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel Olafsvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel Olafsvik

Address: Olafsbraut 20, Olafsvik 355, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Olafsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olafsvik
Price Range: $111 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Star Hotel Olafsvik 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No frills hotel by the harbour. Clean rooms and friendly service. Private bathroom, wi-fi and breakfast buffet included. Two seperate buildings: South side: Reception, restaurant/bar, breakfast hall, elevator, standard hotel rooms 20 square meters. North side, across the road: Rooms 40 square meters on first floor, accessible by stairs, most rooms equipped with a fridge, microwave and cutlery. Restaurant. Casual atmosphere for the weary traveller. Á la carte and group services. Menu is international with Icelandic flavour. Focusing on fish but also with seafood, vegetarian, beef, and burger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your North Star Hotel Olafsvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing