We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Skaftafell
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Melrakki Adventures
from $76.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $160.00
More Info
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
117
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier adventure highly recommend this company highest point ice cave small group felt safe great tour take pictures amazing experience katarina equipment guide brochure borrow edge scenery hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 117 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2019

It was our first time in the glacier and it was unforgettable! We are soooo satisfied both with company and our guide Catarina. She was very patient and skillful. In addition, we liked that they took us up until the beginning of the glacier area, whereas other people had to walk around half an hour to get there. So we got additional time on the glacier! Also the group was small - max 8 people so it was very comfy :)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Dianakurbanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

This was the highlight of our trip to Iceland. The guide made our experience so much better. We have plenty of opportunity to take lots of photos! We learned a lot about the ecosystem and glacier formation. With the small group, it was easy to hear our guide. We were able to move at our natural pace (not needing to wait for the slowest person in a large group). This allowed us to visit a large area. From the groups that were nearby... our group walked the highest up the glacier. This allowed us to get great photos. It also gave us time to visit an ice cave! That was a surprise (and we got a bit lucky) that this year there is a stable ice cave near the glacier. We felt safe in our guide's care as she is fully trained to crevice rescue (as we learned, there is no law in Iceland forces guides to have this kind of safety training).

I will say the 4x4 drive was a big benefit too. You really understand how much time you save when you see many others tour companies (who weren't able to drive as far)... have to walk, while you're driving past them.

Absolutely wonderful guide. Service at the desk was courteous and honest (they never pushed us book). We went to Iceland not knowing if we wanted to do a glacier walk. Surprisingly it was the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

I just couldn't catch our guides name and ended up calling him Oster (which apparently means cheese). He made us feel safe and didn't feel rushed. They just started few months ago and that's why the limited reviews. Highly recommend this company. They take us all the way to the glacier so you get some off-roading experience as well. We saw an ice cave too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Harnik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

We showed up at Skaftafell without any reservations, hoping to go on a glacier tour with one of the big companies. They were completely full with a tour bus but suggested we try Melrakki. The tour ended up being me, my two sons and the guide, Katerina. Main lesson of the day: the speed of your group is determined by the slowest member. Even though our tour started 30 minutes after the big group, we were still on the glacier before them because we drove up to the glacier (not the bus parking lot) and we didn't have to wait for a bunch of old folks to get their equipment together (hey I'm an old folk so I can say that!). Katerina obviously loves
the glacier is is eager to share it with you. We went much further up on the glacier than the big group and saw really cool formations and designs in the ice that we otherwise would not have seen. Plus we appreciated the individual care to help around the crevices, drink from the flowing water, etc. Personalized hike geared to exactly what you want to do at your speed. Six stars!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank BillGfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

My brother's dream was to hike on a glacier, so following a friend's advice we've booked a tour with Melrakki Adventures. Not only were we a group of only 3, we also were the first to hike on it that day, enjoying this magic place for ourselves. Our guide (Katerina) was super kind and fun. She told us science facts and history stories about Iceland and this peculiar glacier. Of course we hiked, but we also explored a cave, drank some glacier water doing push-ups, and tasted "millenium" ice. It was a unique and special experience. We cannot be happier about booking with them and we highly recommend them: more than being nice and in small groups, you also earn more time on the glacier, avoiding useless waiting time and walks to the glacier. They created a perfect walk to fully enjoy this fantastic place!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank audeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews