We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Skaftafell
from $119.00
More Info
from $76.00
More Info
from $86.80
More Info
from $144.03
More Info
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highly recommend this company highest point felt safe great tour glacier tour small group ice cave katarina equipment borrow taught guide scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I just couldn't catch our guides name and ended up calling him Oster (which apparently means cheese). He made us feel safe and didn't feel rushed. They just started few months ago and that's why the limited reviews. Highly recommend this company. They take us all the way to the glacier so you get some off-roading experience as well. We saw an ice cave too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Harnik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had an incredible day hiking the glacier with our guide, who took the extra time to explain to us many geological details about glaciers and the surrounding area as we had a lot of questions (coming from Florida!). Amazing experience and top notch service. Highly recommend Melrakki Adventures - for a more personalized experience. (Our guide also let us try ice climbing, since we had been very curious about that too!!).

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Experience!! Melrakki Adventures is a new company with small groups of 8 and the ability to drive closer to the glacier than most other tours. This cut off 20 minutes, of useless walking, both ways. We did the 4 hour climb with a 12 and 13 year old girl and made it to the highest point possible. The pace was good and we made several stops to rest, take pictures and look around at the scenery while our guide, Katarina, gave us information about glaciers. We were even lucky enough to experience an ice cave in August, which is a very rare find I am told. I highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank kristazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrakki_Adventures, Owner at Melrakki Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this review. I'm glad you've liked your Adventure trip to the icefall of Falljökull with Katerina, and yes, the cave is a nice extra thing in the summer time! Thank you for joining us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I highly recommend this company and their adventure tour to anyone looking for a fantastic experience. The 4x4 drive up to the bottom of the glacier is great fun and saves you a lot of time that you can spend on the glacier itself. The Small group (we were 7) allows you to go to places that others cannot go to (we went all the way up to the highest point that can be safely reached), very knowledgeable and pleasant guide (in our case: Katarina), fantastic glacier. We were very lucky that day as the weather was perfect and we even got into an ice cave, which is really rare in the summer. Best experience of our 10 day trip to Iceland!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank jjvlierop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrakki_Adventures, Owner at Melrakki Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review for us! I'm pleased to hear that you've had a great time on the glacier with Katerina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent, friendly, and very safety-conscious guide. If you’re looking for a very personal experience with a small group, this is a phenomenal choice. We were driven right to the edge of the glacier and provided with all of the necessary safety equipment. We only had 4 people in our group, which gave us a chance to get to know each other and our guide. He taught us about the geomorphology of Iceland and its glaciers, and even brought us through an ice cave! All around one-of-a-kind experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrakki_Adventures, Owner at Melrakki Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am very happy to hear you've liked you time on the glacier and thank you so much for taking time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

tour guide/owner just loves her job and her enthusiasm enhances a great tour. small numbers, drives close as possible to the glacier. An unplanned trip and so glad we did it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews