We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rest-stop between Skaftafell National Park & Jökulsárlón”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Skaftafell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Skaftafell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect rest-stop between Skaftafell National Park & Jökulsárlón”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel if you are driving around the ring road counterclockwise-- it was the perfect place to stop and rest after hiking in Skaftafell National Park before heading onto Jökulsárlón the next morning to see the floating icebergs. The hotel was clean and well-kept but does not have the best beds and blankets compared to other places we stayed. I would give it 5 starts for the location and 3 stars for the quality and comfort.

I suggest booking far in advance, and making dinner reservations too if you plan on eating at the hotel restaurant. When we visited in August 2013 the hotel was at full-capacity and we saw many travelers being turned away. When we checked-in around 7pm the wait for a dinner reservation was about 2-3 hours. The dinner dishes looked amazing, but we were starving and ended up eating at the gas station across the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    115
    126
    40
    14
See reviews for
73
151
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Jan 2013. We had a long drive from Reykjavik in a horrific snow storm, so we arrived at 23.15, much later than expected. I was gutted to find that the hotel reception had closed, even though last check in was at 00.00. We had no phones, so thought we were stuffed, but I managed to breach the reception desk and use their phone to call the emergency number. A young guy emerged from the back and he was so friendly and apologetic. He instantly put us both at ease. You will find this with most Icelanders, very very friendly. It's just their culture. The hotel is located right on the edge of a stunning glacier, for which our room had a view. The room was basic, but comfortable, clean and warm.

There is a garage across the road from the hotel whereby you can get cheap, basic food such as pizza and chips or hotdogs, good if you don't want to pay restaurant prices in the hotel. That said, I ordered roast lamb and to date, it is the best meal I have ever had. Pink, tender lamb oozing with flavour and there was so much of it. Absolutely stunning.

The price if the hotel is reasonable and you are only a 35 minute drive from Jokulsarlon, the main attraction.

I would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heaton-Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
403 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our stay was okay, but nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms are fairly basic, they supply you with what you need, but miss those little extra things that make a place much better. The staff was okay, but certainly not overly friendly. For the wifi, they want to know your exact room when you log in and made very clear when we checked in that it was only for basic access, no downloads or streaming movies, so i suppose that is their way of monitoring you, but really rather archaic and it certainly adds to that feeling of not exactly being welcome there. The breakfast was decent, but not as extensive as some places we have stayed. So overall it was án average place, it does the job of án okay place to sleep, it just isn't anything above that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I find the other reviews somewhat disappointing as they seem to forget the point that you are pretty much in the wilderness, with little but a petrol station nearby! It's not spectacularly modern, although very warm and comfortable, and yes the internet wasn't the best, but hey it's free, which is better than many hotels in Reykjavik. I was staying with a large university group, and we were very well accommodated and fed. The breakfast buffet was great! With all you can eat, and a huge selection of fruit, pastries, toast/preserves and meats and cheese. There was no hot option for breakfast, but you will find this in many of the hostels/hotels/guesthouses in Iceland. I was delighted when I arrived that our rooms had the radiators on, and incredibly comfortable. We had been on Solheimajokull for a couple of hours and were soaked through and freezing, so this was incredibly welcome.

The rooms were very comfortable, with an AMAZING view of Svinafellsjokull, and provided you with linens and duvet (unusual for budget accommodation), and the bathroom was a good size (no bath) and clean. The staff were mostly helpful (save for a slightly grumpy waiter) and accommodated my never ending requests for a flask of hot water!

I thought Hotel Skaftafell was great. But then I am not one who usually stays in plush modern places. If you want to experience the National Parks and you want to be comfortable, choose Skaftafell.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alf_doober123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Basic sort of accommodation, staff seem to do their best to help, but the internet access is extremely poor; poor connection (if at all) constant drop outs, limited bandwidth from your room. It may or may not work from reception. If you want to remain connected with the outside world go somewhere else! This is not good enough for 2014!!!
Watch out for the 'happy hour' at the bar... it is not much cheaper!

Room Tip: Unable to answer; only experienced one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have been here two times. The last time at the beginning of March 2014. The location is wonderful, you get you own glacier practically in your backyard! (svinafellsjokull). The interior is very outdated, but the beds are fine, staff is friendly and dinner is good. Did miss wifi in the rooms, hopefully this will come with the new owners. The Skaftafell is no longer a Foss Hotel, looking forward to what the new owners will do with the place!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is all about the location. It's not fancy, or new. It was a little run down but it was clean, the dinner was good, food was hot and tasty. The breakfast buffet was good - not great - but definitely everything you need to start your day.

Stay here to be close to the national park and the caves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaftafell
10.6 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
109.1 mi away
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
Hotel Gigur by Keahotels
#6 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lindartun Guesthouse
Lindartun Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Hvolsvollur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brekkugerdi Guesthouse
Brekkugerdi Guesthouse
#5 of 100 in South Region
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skaftafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skaftafell

Property: Hotel Skaftafell
Address: Skaftafelli 2 | Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Vatnajokull National Park > Skaftafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skaftafell 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skaftafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Skaftafell Hotel Skaftafell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing