We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Skaftafell National Park
from $155.20
More Info
from $88.50
More Info
from $567.00
More Info
from $72.40
More Info
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
507
110
21
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
110
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park visitor center hiking trails basalt columns gift shop great hiking beautiful waterfall glacier walk helpful staff information centre food truck easy hike icelandic mountain guides short hike soup ring road glacier tongue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

So many amazing hiking trail, and the welcome center has amazing lunch!!! This is a must on everyone's list.

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Svartifoss waterfall was this photographer's destination. and we were not disappointed. hiking over well-defined and constructed paths, our uphill efforts were rewarded with an overview of the waterfall and later, close-ups of the fall and its adjacent basalt columns. memorable!

Thank FredandPeggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Take a hike to soaring waterfalls, valleys, and woodlands. Home to the Skaftafellsjokull and Svinafellsjokull glaciers. A great day trip on foot and in car brings you right up to raw nature. Take the time to visit the national park information center for a beginning orientation.

Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This waterfall is several is several kilometers from the parking lot, but worth the walk. It is is narrow but spills over a cliff with exposed hexagonal columns of basalt. Pretty mountains and glaciers are visible as well

Thank 370vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

They use - without warning - the same method that big cities road tolls use of photographying your car's plate and charging you a full day's fee unless you depart inside 10 minutes.

1  Thank jolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Since we only had a day at Skaftafell, we chose to use our time to hike to the Svartifoss waterfall. There are a couple ways to get to the waterfall; we chose to go up to it one way, and came back down another way. It's a good hike and there are some wonderful views along the way. We recommend seeing the Svartifoss waterfall if you are at Skaftafell!

Thank khim911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

If you wish to have a picnic here, make certain you park in the farthest parking lot! There you have access to easy parking and don’t have to lug your supplies a considerable distance from the main (and very overcrowded) parking lot.
The interpretive/visitor centre is excellent with a 10 minute film, displays, and photos showing the shrinking of the glaciers in the park over time.
Washrooms are free but parking is not so be prepared to pay (by credit card only) at least 750 ISK for being in the park for more than 10 minutes. Cameras take your vehicle license so don’t even think about parking without paying the required fee.
There are a myriad of hiking trails varying in difficulty, length, and accessibility.
This park is well worth a visit for beautiful vistas of the glaciers.

Thank Happytraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We had planned a short day of driving from our fosshotel Nupar stay to take inDiamond beach, jokarlsolon and Skaftafell National Park at the end of day. Between 2 and 5 we had gorgeous sunny weather and we hiked to the waterfall at the end of a long day and it was stunning. Took us only 35 minutes up but we have hiked quite a bit this summer. I think I could have spent the entire day there and if I had camped - there are so many things to see and hike. Wished we had more time.

Thank Kreber668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is a sight not to be missed in Iceland. The guided glacier hike was well worth the money and the hike up to the waterfall was beautiful.

Thank robinmnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Below are two of the main activities at Skaftafell. You can also do a glacier walk there.
- Hike to Svartifoss: Hike from the Skaftafell visitor center to Svartifoss waterfall. It takes about an hour round trip, but we added on the Sjonarnipa hike which is about 3 hours and provides a great view of Skaftafellsjokull.
- Walk to Skaftafellsjokull: 1.5 hour walk from the Skaftafell visitor center to get up close to the glacier.

3  Thank Emitom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews