We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Glacier Guides - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Glacier Guides our goal is to meet and exceed our guests expectations by providing an extraordinary experience in an informative an personal way. Our team of dedicated, professional guides combine their wealth of mountain knowledge and local expertise to guide you through the terrain. We are an internationally recognized and American Mountain Guide Association (AMGA) accredited guiding operation. Our friendly staff will help you chose from one of the many activities we offer including our extremely popular glacier hikes, ice or rock climbing, mountain biking or a hike to Iceland´s highest summit. At Glacier Guides we are passionate about the environment that we work and play in and we love exploring our local landscape and sharing this with visitors to the area.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

What an experience! Just incredible to walk on a glacier and fall on it in my case. Even though the weather was awful it was just amazing!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ablender86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glacier guides"
in 146 reviews
"ice cave"
in 89 reviews
"grand slam"
in 27 reviews
"ice fall"
in 19 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 30 reviews
"felt very safe"
in 11 reviews
"half day tour"
in 9 reviews
"great guide"
in 18 reviews
"hour hike"
in 17 reviews
"crystal cave"
in 8 reviews
"small group"
in 17 reviews
"iceland trip"
in 17 reviews
"take pictures"
in 16 reviews
"waterproof pants"
in 10 reviews
"an adventure"
in 7 reviews
"a short bus ride"
in 7 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 7 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 744 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best tours on my Iceland trip. The tour guide, Michael was excellent and thoroughly explained the proper way to use the equipment and very patient in the entire tour. The ice cave was only used by this tour company which allowed our group plenty of time and space to take pictures. Btw, we only had 6 people in our group too! The ice cave itself was amazing and a must do.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Absoulutey beautiful glacier with unreal scenery, Chris our tour guide was great. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and got us fairly high on the glacier (think it helped that our group were all keen to explore and fit!) I wasn't expecting the hike to be as amazing as it was, I'd definitely recommend going with these guys and booking the trip. You won't be disappointed - pictures speak volumes.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Mundlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic time doing the 3 hour glacier tour. It was just the two of us on the tour due to a large group occupying all of the other guides, so we had Jo all to ourselves along with new guide Pedro shadowing her. They both knew their stuff inside and out and did a great job of reading what they thought we’d be interested in/capable of. They knew we didn’t have a problem moving quick, so they really went above and beyond to show us a little bit of everything in our limited time on the beautiful glacier. Highly recommend this experience to all travelers to Iceland; it was unforgettable for us.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank pittjo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

To those who are considering using this company, be well aware. Due to the change of plans I had to cancel the Iceland trip all together. Sent email to this company to cancel ice cave tour. Sent 4 emails, no response at all. Another email to tell them that I would notify the public authority, but nothing. Finally called 10 times and the guy finally answered saying “oh I saw your email” then sent cancellation email 10 mins later. EXTREMELY DODGEY. I would avoid using them at all cost, especially when you have to leave your safety in glacier to those people.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Nmx1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RagnheidurHarp, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Guides - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Dear Nmx1978,
first let me thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Although you might not be happy with our service we still like to get your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and do better.
You caught us at the busiest time. The email inbox was completely full and due to an IT error (that how now been fixed) new emails went in the back so when you send the 2nd, 3rd and 4th your emails further back making them seem less urgent and this is why your didn't get a reply. We are so sorry about this!
But it is very clear that the date of the first email stands so the refund will be according to it not when your emails was first read so you have nothing to worry about.

Again we are so sorry that this was your experience, but this has now been fixed and will not happen again. We hope that you get a chance someday to visit our beautiful country!

Kind regards,
Ragnheiður

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Guides - Day Tours also viewed

Vatnajokull National Park, East Region
Vatnajokull National Park, East Region
 
Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park
 

Been to Glacier Guides - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing