We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vatnajokull National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonhamar Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabins”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Another five star review here for Lækjarhús. As others have mentioned, the cabins are clean, cozy and warm. Although the three cabins are next to one another, the thoughtful design of the cabins assures privacy and prevents you from having to look into a window of the neighboring cabin. Instead, you’re looking out across the fields to the ocean, or perhaps up at the beautiful cliffs that form the impressive backdrop of this quiet country property. The cabins are well-equipped and have just about everything that a small country cottage should have.

The cabins are located in a perfect location for exploring Skaftafell and the South East ‘Vatnajokull Region’. We took an amazing trip one day down the coast towards Hofn and took in the Jokusarlon lagoon, as well as the wild and empty back roads in the Heinaberg and Hoffell areas. The other day was spent hiking in the National Park at Skaftafell...both trips are highly recommended. And be sure to check out the turf roof church just down the road...it's one of only a handful left in all of Iceland!

Lastly, it should be noted that the proprietor, Eythor, is extremely accommodating and courteous, and he did a great job answering all of the questions I peppered him with.

If you plan on visiting Skaftafell, this is where you should stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamCutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We loved our night in these delightfully compact cabins. As others have noted, the cabins are deservedly popular and we were only able to book 1 night. There is enough to do in this beautiful area to warrant at least a 2 night stay. Excellent proximity to Glacier Lagoon (a must see, along with the beach across the street that we enjoyed just as much) & Skaftafell National Park. There were four of us (2 parents, 6 y.o., & grandma), so it was snug to say the least, but it felt cozy rather than cramped. Nicely appointed in Ikea style, very clean. Agree with previous reviewer ... Serene natural beauty surrounds these adorable cabins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiMomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Loved our stay in these cozy cabins! Wished they were available for more than one night, apparently booked up through the summer. Reserve early if you can. There are 2 bunk beds with comfy mattresses and flannel bedding. Cabins appear newly built and kept very clean. Great night of sleep in a beautiful setting!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelnowUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The location of this place is fantastic - near Skaftafell National Park on beautiful farm land. We woke to the sound of sheep baaing - how great is that? I slept better here than anyplace else in Iceland. There was just something about the coziness of the cabin combined with the beauty of the natural surroundings that put me at peace.

The cabin itself was clean and neat and warm and had all the basics you might need. (Plus wifi!) The bunks were comfortable and the shower, while on the small side, worked great and had plenty of hot water. The owner was also very nice. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here only one night after our stay at Skaftafell Hotel. I wish we would have stayed here both nights. It is a much much better value. The owner is super friendly and the accomodations are really cozy. Keep in mind you are fairly remote in this part of Iceland, so for the money this is very nice. The property seems relatively new. If you have a choice stay here over Hotel Skaftafell.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and would not have minded staying longer. Quite small for 4 but as there were only the 2 of us, it was great. The self catering cabin has all you could need and the beds were comfortable. With the window open you could hear the stream nearby. We opted to include linen and everything was excellent. The owner was extremely helpful and the wi-fi is free and fast. Close to Skaftafell National Park and other areas of interest and you can get groceries near by at the gas station but we stopped in Vik and bought most of what we needed on our way.
We would highly recommend staying at the Laekjarhus cabins!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrabr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for only one night but wished we could have stayed for our entire Iceland stay. The cabin was pristine, well-appointed with small kitchen area, table, bathroom/shower, and bunk beds. Everything is brand new and modern in style. We rented linens and they were also clean and lovely. Great free wifi. These cabins are so charming, tucked at the base of stunning green mountains and fields. We could hear the stream water running past the cabin at night and woke early for a walk past the horses grazing and turf-style church - only six of which remain in Iceland - right next door. The owner/host was warm and flexible. Perfect location for exploring Skaftafell NP and Jokulsarlon. Could not recommend highly enough! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loughnmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vatnajokull National Park
3.1 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
460 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lindartun Guesthouse
Lindartun Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Hvolsvollur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonhamar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonhamar Guesthouse

Property: Nonhamar Guesthouse
Address: Laekjarhus Hof 2, Vatnajokull National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Laekjarhus)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Vatnajokull National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vatnajokull National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonhamar offers accommodation in cozy cabins at Hof in Oraefi. The area around Nonhamar offers wonderful nature and scenery as the Oraefi district is famous for its unique natural beauty and the dramatic contrasts in its landscape. Major attractions in the area include Skaftafell National Park, Jokulsarlon glacial lagoon, Oraefajokull glacier and cape Ingolfshofdi Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing