We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visting Bonifacio”
Review of Hotel Genovese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Genovese
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is situated almost at the highest point of this fascinating town. Contrary to our expectations, it was easy to find and drive to without getting into the very small lanes of the old town. There is parking at the hotel which can be tight but is a real bonus. The best thing about this hotel is its situation - on the outskirts of the old town looking down over the creek and Bonfacio harbour. Beds are superbly comfortable and great showering facilities. Staff are very helpful and willing to help with luggage up and downstairs. The stairs, with luggage, are the only disadvantage. I could not see how it would be possible to stay in this hotel if disabled. Breakfast is good, with Corsica version of scrambled eggs and sausage on offer as well as the usual, cakes, croissant, cereals, fruit etc. However, at 20 euros, it is pricey if not included in the package. I would have found it difficul to manage 20 euros worth of value.

The pool area us brilliant, situated within the old town walls and encompassing one of the old watchtowers that has been equipped with a table and chairs to enable views in all directions.

Room Tip: A room with a terrace is lovely but not so great if the wind is blowing east/west. There is an inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 202Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 384 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hotel Genovese is a small, new boutique hotel right within the city. The location is fabulous because it lies on an easily accessible road in the old town and it has its own parking.
The rooms are small, but equipped with everything one needs. Book a room with view, it is definitely worth it. The pool deck is great and very private.
The breakfast buffet is good, but the service is very mediocre.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view, it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

A great location and modern but pleasant hotel. A bit pricy but perfect location, exquisite pool and we had a wonderful balcony overlooking the marina. If you like modern this will be for you. The reception staff aren't too attentive but you don't need them much. Everything is done very well, including free parking ( a big bonus if you have a car) and a very pleasant breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May and really loved it, it's small and personal and the staff were really nice and helpful.
I walked up to the hotel at 10.30am to see what time we could check in and they told me I was welcome to sit by the pool and asked if I wanted a drink, good start. The pool area and the views from there are stunning.
We took the cheaper room with no balcony but it was very nice with a huge and very comfortable bed, the bathroom was huge and very nice too, there is a coutyard off these rooms where you can also sit.
I would agree with others not to take a suite as they are a good hike from the main hotel on the port.
Just be aware that if you leave your towel and books/magazines by the pool and leave for a while you will not find them when you get back!
All in all a lovely relaxing couple of days in a special location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Despite the mixed reviews we had read, we chose this hotel primarily because it offered locked parking (24/24) adjacent to the entrance, as we had read that parking and security in Bonifacio can be difficult.

The location in the 'haute ville' is excellent. It also has larger rooms by the port, but be prepared for a major hike up to the main hotel facilities. We chose a room in the main 'haute ville' building. Certainly, the communal areas are nice enough. The swimming pool is impressive and has its own stunning view over the pretty port below.

Our room was fine for one night, but no longer! It was very small and basic, although there was air conditioning, a safe and hairdryer. The TV offered several channels – but all of them in French only. The hotel had tried harder in the bathroom, which was fitted out with bathrobes, a smorgasbord of toiletries, a good shower over a large tub, large towels and even heated towel rails. However, for the 'late September' price per night of €270 incl. breakfast, this was poor value. As a caveat though, if one of the rooms with a large terrace had been available, we probably would have said that it was OK value!

The receptionist was helpful and spoke English. She even carried our cases to our room. There was two other young male staff ‘hanging around’ at reception. They ignored us. They seemed to be more interested in making small talk to the receptionist.

Henri, whose job was to set up breakfast in the morning, was very helpful. He saw us waiting for the 7.30 allotted breakfast opening time to arrive. At 7.15 he said all was ready, and we could start breakfast 15 minutes early. Breakfast, however, was average (the only hot food was eggs), but there were some quality teas available.

In summary, if you don’t care about your room size, and intend to spend your time around the pool, this hotel is OK – some might even say good. A room with a terrace would make a big difference. In my opinion the prices are a bit over the top, particularly for small rooms without terraces/balconies.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

There are only a few hotels in the center of Bonifacio, and Genovese is the best. It's in the middle of the city, so beaches are a drive. But you're able to walk to great restaruants in town (Stella D'oro is amazing).

The rooms are above average. Not super fancy, but have a modern minimalist decor. But the view from our terrace was among the most incredible we've ever had. The terrace a 270 degree view of the town and the beautiful cliffs. It's one of our favorite terrace views ever. Only a couple of rooms have that view - make sure to request it (ours was room 3).

The service was great. The entire staff worked hard to help out with everything from travel logistics to restaurant and beach recommendations. And the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Absolutey ask for Room number 3. If that's not available, try the one next door with the adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spend 3 nights at the Hotel Genovese, which is a very nice, high end hotel in Bonifacio. The Genovese has 2 buildings with guest rooms, which are not particularly near each other. One is in the harbor where the larger more expensive rooms are. This building is detached and not part of the larger hotel, where all the services are. The advantages are that you are right down on the water, surrounded by harborside restaurants and activity. You will see the jet setters parking their yachts and living it up. We stayed in one of these rooms which was larger and quite nice. Our only reservation was a bit of the lack of privacy from the harbor and the lack of services. The other part of the hotel, which is where the pool and restaurant are located, are up in the Upper Ville (Haut Ville) and seemed very nice. If we went back, I would pick the hotel and not the harbor, but that is more of a personal preference. I would return to the Hotel Genovese again and would recommend it to my friends. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francophile94027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
1.5 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
0.2 mi away
Santateresa Hotel
Santateresa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bonifacio
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
435 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
625 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel E Tre Stelle
Hotel E Tre Stelle
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genovese

Address: Quartier de la Citadelle, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bonifacio
#5 Family Hotel in Bonifacio
Price Range: $133 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genovese 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Genovese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genovese Hotel Bonifacio
Hotel Genovese Bonifacio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing