We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

La bodega bonifacio
Ranked #1 of 123 Restaurants in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far our best dining experience in Bonifacio! The owner is super friendly and takes the time to explain the menu. The food is delicious, especially the tiramisu! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Sneha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2019

There are (relatively) many restaurants in close proximity to this one in Bonifacio old town, but I would be very surprised if any came close to being as good..

Its quite bijou with only 18 covers so we felt fortunate to find a table for us both as we hadn't booked. The owner (I assume) was welcoming and explained the menu for us even although his English is limited and our French embarrassingly non existent!

The menu is not large (a good thing) and having seen what the other diners were eating we knew what to order already. We shared a fish course and the 'tapas' style dish - both were cooked to perfection and tasted heavenly. The fish was cooked whole but the owner was happy to fillet/debone it in front of us, a nice touch. For dessert we shared a Tiramisu as we were too full to have one each. Again, it was extremely good and a nice sized portion also.

Perhaps the most surprising thing was the price - it was so reasonable considering the location of the restaurant and the quality of the food. You get value for money here in spades!

TIP: This establishment does not take cards, so you'll need cash. We did not realise this before eating so expected to have to wash up to pay our way! (joke of course) Luckily there is an ATM* close by, and the owner was happy for us both to leave the restaurant to walk to it. We didn't, but again - a nice trusting touch.

*The ATM is about 100m away: just exit the restaurant and turn left to walk up the hill (where the 'train' stops) Walk to the top and turn left again (by the soldier monument) and you'll see a Post Office on your right. The ATM is just outside, you can't miss it.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dean_Becs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Amazing dinner. Hospitality was impeccable. We ordered lamb chops and then shared a tiramisu and plate of cheese. Lovely wine and digestives.

Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank E1841ILjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

The owner is quite charming and although limited English can help you thru the small menu. Nice salads, aubergine lasagne and wonderful tiramisu desserts.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank SteveSeattle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Absolutely fantastic food. Jean Marie is a wonderful host. Reservations essential - even shoulder season. There are only about 18 seats. Closed Sundays. We shared the appetizer platter - charcuterie, aubergine parmigiana, ,olives, salad, and ons of the most memorable/delicious dishes Ive had in quite some time, the goat cheese lasagna. We also shared a delicious whole dorado. The platter and the fish were each about €20. What a deal for such fantastic food. Merci, Jean Marie.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank chitownsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La bodega bonifacio also viewed

Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to La bodega bonifacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing