We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What????are you serious??”
Review of Chez Francis

Chez Francis
Ranked #20 of 122 Restaurants in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Bonifacio it's a very very VERY expensive little beautiful village. And we know it, ok. I'm ready to pay enough for some meal in a beautiful location. BUT 45 euro for some grilled meat, supposedly two portions, so scarce that it's not enough even for one single person, it's an insult. En plus, they have been left in the middle age and do not accept cards. And the location it's like the back of a parking lot. Some people in Bonifacio should understand that tourists are a resource, not an exploitable item.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Carlo Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2016

the most simple wotk in a kitchen to grill was not done right.
Big show around the kitchen, tasteless meat, not cooked, potatoes uneatable. I would never ever go back there. The staff was pretty arrogant.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank barbana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We found this place by chance when we were looking for an alternative to the overpriced and very average restaurants by the Harbourside. Go under the little arch at the northern end of the harbour, bear right, and then bear left. It is an outside barbecue grill restaurant, a pleasant change from all the fish restaurants in these parts. The meat was very good and well cooked and we enjoyed ourselves. The staff were pleasant and efficient. Being tucked out of the way it was obviously a very child friendly restaurant. It indeed was not particularly cheap but then nothing is cheap in Bonifacio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is mainly set up for the French and what I assume is locals. they have a log burning grate through which the ashes drop and then a wrought iron shelf-like arrangement which is heated from above with the burning logs and below with the scooped up ashes.
The menu is limited however, because of this the meat is the muts bits. there is a choice of steak, lamb chops, sausage, megreaux sausage, a rib of beef for two and a mini mixed grill. I had the lamb chops (4 chops, E23) husband had the entrecote (E22). the rib of beef for two is around 55 euros and the mixed grill, two lamb chops, half brochette, half sausage is 33 euros. the plate comes with a few lettuce leaves and the dishes are served with chips. make no mistake, these are handcut, home fried chips and wre delicious!
Salads are available from a small bowl of green salad (just leaves, 5 euro) to mor elaborate salads such as aubergine and egg, goats cheese etc for between 12-17 euro
Service was great and at the end of the meal a local 'liquor' was put on the table for you to help youself.
husband said his steak was lovely and succulent and my lamb chops were great
the table is provided with mayo, ketchup, S&P, harissa and tabasco
Please note, this is a cash only restaurant which may upset some UK citizens....this is the way predominately in this part of the world as in Italy so was no shock to me although my OH was a little miffed that we had to go to the cashpoint after dinner!
thorooughly recommend this for meat lovers nom nom!

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsBSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francis also viewed

Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Chez Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing