We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Oriented” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiriqui Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge
La Marque, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Oriented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The lodge is clean and the owners are very friendly. It's run kind of like a bed and breakfast, and the grounds are very well kept. The villas all have televisions and the wifi service was very good even in the villas. Beware of sand fleas if you walk the beach though, lol. The food was 5 star at night and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After 7 hours driving from Panama City to Puerto Armuelles was a good experience
get in this beautiful place, the Owners and the staff are very friendly.. Food was excellent.
Thanks to all the staff ... My husband and I are very happy with the service ..
I will be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Hooked on Panama in May 2011 - yes, quite some time ago I know! (Had to choose Oct. 2012 as couldn't choose anything earlier - sorry!) Only now starting to do lots of reviews on Tripadvisor and really wanted to write one for HOP because it was just that awesome!

We had an amazing time! From the start it was great. We opted for the VIP package and were met at the airport and taken through customs very quickly. On to the hotel - Hotel Esplendor I think. How amazing!!! The room was HUGE with a kitchen - very modern, clean, tidy - bathroom/shower was also huge and amazing! We were on the highest floor I think so the view was wow. Breakfast was wonderful - great variety with lots of fresh fruit etc. The restaurant was also quite nice and we had a lovely dinner there.

Flight to David was good - bit of a long drive to the lodge, but we didn't mind. Got to know our driver a bit and practice our Spanish! :)

The lodge itself is lovely with spacious, clean rooms. Nice pool to relax in after fishing! As soon as we stepped off the boat we were presented with our drinks - which the barman remembered from the night before!! :) The food at the lodge is also fantastic! Some of the best I have had on a trip. All fresh and local ingredients. Breakfast can either be had at the lodge or on the boat - we opted for on the boat so that we could get out on the water as early as possible. Usually we had breakfast tacos - which were great! Lunch on the boat was simple but filling - just what you needed to keep you going. Dinners were the real highlight with fresh fish most evenings. One night we had a soup/bisque which was to die for!!!

The fishing is simply amazing. My husband is really the avid/experienced fisherman, but I do enjoy fishing with him and I had a great time in Panama. Super happy to say that I caught my first 50 lb tuna! :) Likely the toughest fish I have fought so far. Also caught a lovely Rooster Fish and several other species that we don't see at home in Barbados. The highlight was my husband catching his first ever Black Marlin - this was his goal for the trip. Incredible!! He was thrilled and I am sure will never forget it. The boat crew were awesome too and very knowledgeable! We really enjoyed our time with Shaka and Victor.

The entire team at the lodge do a fantastic job of making the trip special - they are so friendly and easy going! Every year we wish we were going back there. We will make it back - hopefully very soon!

If you are considering a fishing trip to Panama, this is definitely the place to go!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fabulous week spent at Hooked on Panama. The owners and staff were friendly and professional. Cabins were clean and comfortable beds, food was as good or better than what we've eaten in the finest restaurants. Grounds were beautiful! The boats were huge, so comfortable and great to fish out of and the crew was top notch- spent each day on the water starting at sunrise ( which was georgous) and came in late afternoon to sit in the hot tub and enjoy the nice pool with a beverage of your choice and a delicious dinner. Would go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speltzo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic Place, supernice people, fantastic captain and deckhand on every boat, The boats are big and very comfortable to fish on, and what is of course very important ....lots and lots of fish to be caught..., very nice and comfartable cabins, big clean swimming pool, worth every penny in my opinion!!!!

Room Tip: Fitness centre is fishing all day long!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 day beach getaway (from the cool mountain air of Boquete) at Hooked on Panama. Immaculate and comfortable cottages, beautiful property right on the Pacific. Big and very clean swimming pool with lounge chairs, wonderful bohio perched on the edge of the Pacific, with 3 hammocks and WiFi. Club house and bar where we enjoyed full breakfast, delicious lunches and dinners. very hospitable hosts and pleasant, helpful staff. You do not have to be a fisherman to love this place, though I understand from other guests that the fishing here is superb. It is an interesting ride from Boquete to Puerto Armuelles and then to the property. If you are planning a visit to Boquete, this makes a great add on trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is easily the best lodge in Central America. Large clean rooms, great food, either fresh caught or locally grown and privded. The warmest most helpful staff that treats you like family. No detail or request was too small or unimportant for the staff who anticipated every request an ddelivered. Custom boats with terrific Captains that will stay out until everyone on board arm weary. They are passionate about sustaining the eco-system and only keep enough to eat. This was a truly memorable experience for my group of eight seasoned fishermen.

Room Tip: Every cottage faced the sea and was of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiriqui Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
#4 of 5 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge

Property: Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge
Address: 17Km South of Puerto Armuelles, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Chiriqui Province
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hooked On Panama Fishing Hotel Chiriqui Province
Hooked On Panama Fishing Lodge Chiriqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing