We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
76
7
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
7
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomfruithumming birdsstayed nightshummingbird feedersbreadgreat gardenself cateringquaillaundry donecasita margaritabeautiful propertywonderful placebird watcherschickenjanetglen
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 88 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2017

What else can be written that hasn't been? Heaven in the mountains! (Cielito = 'little heaven') is truly an amazing place! Their four large and very comfortable rooms, each named after, and decorated with the handiwork from, one of Panama's indigenous peoples open up to the grounds on the side of a cloud forest mountain. There are short trails and streams to explore, where you can see where the coffee you just drank came from, and venture by chicken coops (quail eggs anybody?) and gardens. Flowers? Abundant! And birds are abundant too, especially humming birds who will 'buzz' by and entertain for hours. If you're a fan of chihuahuas, Glenn, Janet, and Shaun will introduce you to them, otherwise you might not even know they're around. The secret location of the hammock will remain just that... a secret!

Breakfasts are a highlight, with a choice of dishes made from fresh, organic ingredients from their 'farm', and accompanied by delicious home-baked muffins, sourdough and whole wheat breads, home-made jams and jellies, fresh seasonal fruit, and more. Two libraries, one in the common room another in the dining area, are fully stocked with bird books and natural history books, as well as a plethora of books on Panama.

A nicer place with nicer folks cannot possibly exist!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Quite simply an oasis. The hosts are helpful, friendly, and very knowledgeable, even the dogs are a delight (Chihuahuas). They grow and process their own coffee too which is delicious. The rooms are spacious and quite, the best nights' sleep we had in Panama. We'd both recommend it and happily stay there again. I particularly enjoyed sitting watching the birds on the feeders, we got two life species one morning this way!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this charming b&b. We were made very welcome. The good sized room with a well equipped kitchenette had an enormous, comfortable bed and a generous bathroom with hot water. Had we wanted to, we could have used the common room along the verandah as a living room to watch films and cook and eat. The breakfasts were splendid - loads of choice and the eggs benedict on maize tortillas with salsa were especially memorable. Strolling around the grounds and watching the birds, especially the hummingbirds was a real treat.
All the staff were a joy.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MeandererEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Everything about this comfy B&B is perfect! Surrounded by lush, tropical plants, little streams and meandering trails, you can either explore or just relax on the spacious porch and watch the abundant bird life. We stayed in the Casita, but got a peek at all the rooms, which were tastefully decorated with individual native styles. Beds are comfortable, kitchen well equipped in the casita, and we enjoyed two private porches. Our breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choices and rich coffee they grew and roasted themselves. We hope to come back and stay for an entire month, taking advantage of the many hiking and sightseeing options in the area. Our hosts, Glenn, Janet and Shawn, could not have been more inviting, hospitable and enjoyable! Our family of four highly recommend Cielito del Sur!!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank rhonbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Whenever I am in Panama I try to spend at least a weekend here, out of the heat and humidity, among the flowers and hummingbirds of Panama. The grounds are beautifully tended, the natural setting maintained and beautiful trails marked for your strolling pleasure. There are a myriad of opportunities to just relax, meditate, or sip wine on the patio, watch the fireflies come out at night, or begin the morning with homegrown coffee amidst the daily hummingbird visitation and admire the incredible variety of these tiny creatures. The greater Nueva Suiza/Vulcan Baru area is easy to access from this spot. The rooms are well appointed, the breakfast is scrumptious, and the host/hostess have just the right touch of being friendly and helpful yet not intruding on your vacation. Cielito Sur is aptly named - for me it is that little slice of heaven in Panama!

Room Tip: They easily accommodate a variety of party sizes. All rooms well situated.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redcayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews