We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a "little piece of heaven"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cerro Punta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Cielito Sur is a lovely place with sparkling streams, lovely flowers, fruit trees and beautiful birds flitting about everywhere. My husband and I are birders and at Cielito Sur we truly found a small heaven of birds. We stayed at the self-catering Casita for 2 weeks and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of our stay. We suspect that we would have enjoyed staying in any of the other rooms as well with the daily breakfasts provided. The hosts, Janet and Glenn, bird enthusiasts themselves, are most attentive and friendly with helpful advice and information. They grow their own coffee and gather fresh eggs daily from the hen house. We felt very welcome and it was like visiting family. We look forward to staying there again in the future..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1hum-mer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Cielito Sur as part of a 2-week trip in Panama. We were absolutely satisfied with what we received, including a cosy room, delicious home-made breakfast, useful briefing upon arrival and much hospitality in general. We can only recommend Cielito Sur for shorter or longer stays in the area. An additional advantage is that the Volcán/Cerro Punta area is much less touristy and crowded than Boquete, while it offers almost the same amount of activities and, in our opinion, prettier landscape.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cielito Sur was just pefect. We spent 10 glorious days watching the hummingbirds and justvenjoying ourselves. Janet and Glenn have created a paradise---and we were lucky enough to share it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, it's very quiet, and they have all the added touches (flowers, chocolates, fast internet) just right. We will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Cielito Sur is in a very quiet setting, surrounded by nature, including hummingbirds galore. We spent two nights there and although it was New Year's Eve in a country which doesn't need any excuse to party, we slept very well. We were in the spacious and clean Kuna Room which had dozens of molas. There is also a large community room with books, games, and a computer to use. We were able to access the internet in our room, though. The second night there were hibiscus flowers and a Hershey's kiss on our pillows. The owner's make delicious breakfasts, grow and serve their own coffee, and provide information and advice. We were told where to see quetzales, on my bucket list, and lo and behold we did! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in August---beautiful grounds, lots of birds, great home made breakfasts using coffee, jams, yogurt, eggs all from their property. The hosts, Janet and Glen were excellent giving us tips on what to do locally as far as hiking, food, etc. We stayed at two other locations during our trip and this was easily the best. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptfredandrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spaciously roomed B&B with good common areas located in pretty gardens. Good breakfast with many hummingbirds outside windows. Can be cold at night although heaters are provided. However, it is overpriced in our view and the pillows could with renewing. A car is essential.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There are only 4 rooms available but if you have a chance to stay here you wont regret it. If you have an extra day to spend somewhere and can't decide where this is the place. Janet & Glenn have created a paradise here with great attention to detail everywhere you look. Beautiful spacious rooms, great personally made breakfast overlooking a great garden with hummingbirds buzzing all over the place. Lovely seating areas, beautiful common areas, well stocked library and videos. If you want a place to chill - this is number one on my list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerro Punta
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
8.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#1 of 12 in Boquete
395 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
#4 of 4 in Volcan
12 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#2 of 12 in Boquete
342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Cerro Punta
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Volcan - Cerro Punta | Nueva Suiza, Cerro Punta, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Cerro Punta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Punta
Price Range: $124 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, private, country estate inn surrounded by trees, gardens, fruit & coffee orchards, the estate is a natural bird sanctuary nestled in the rustic landscape of the Chiriqui highlands. It's conveniently located between the towns of Cerro Punta and Volcan, offering easy access to both the Volcan Baru National Park & La Amistad International Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing