We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cerro Punta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cielito Sur was just pefect. We spent 10 glorious days watching the hummingbirds and justvenjoying ourselves. Janet and Glenn have created a paradise---and we were lucky enough to share it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, it's very quiet, and they have all the added touches (flowers, chocolates, fast internet) just right. We will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Cielito Sur is in a very quiet setting, surrounded by nature, including hummingbirds galore. We spent two nights there and although it was New Year's Eve in a country which doesn't need any excuse to party, we slept very well. We were in the spacious and clean Kuna Room which had dozens of molas. There is also a large community room with books, games, and a computer to use. We were able to access the internet in our room, though. The second night there were hibiscus flowers and a Hershey's kiss on our pillows. The owner's make delicious breakfasts, grow and serve their own coffee, and provide information and advice. We were told where to see quetzales, on my bucket list, and lo and behold we did! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in August---beautiful grounds, lots of birds, great home made breakfasts using coffee, jams, yogurt, eggs all from their property. The hosts, Janet and Glen were excellent giving us tips on what to do locally as far as hiking, food, etc. We stayed at two other locations during our trip and this was easily the best. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptfredandrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spaciously roomed B&B with good common areas located in pretty gardens. Good breakfast with many hummingbirds outside windows. Can be cold at night although heaters are provided. However, it is overpriced in our view and the pillows could with renewing. A car is essential.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There are only 4 rooms available but if you have a chance to stay here you wont regret it. If you have an extra day to spend somewhere and can't decide where this is the place. Janet & Glenn have created a paradise here with great attention to detail everywhere you look. Beautiful spacious rooms, great personally made breakfast overlooking a great garden with hummingbirds buzzing all over the place. Lovely seating areas, beautiful common areas, well stocked library and videos. If you want a place to chill - this is number one on my list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Glen and Janet set the standard for hospitality a their B&B the rooms are well appointed with a refrigerator, a coffee pot and coffee from their coffee trees, a microwave and little things like two hooks to hang cloths on in the bath.

Beautiful garden with lots of humming birds every where.

A different breakfast every day with Glen and Janet keeping you company with interesting stories about Panama, and a wonderful library in the breakfast room.

Two thumbs way up for Cielito Sur.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is one of those places that are delightful from the moment of arrival. The gardens and approach are lovely, very neat and beautiful flowers. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and there is also a communal sitting room with computer and lots of interesting books about Panama/animals/birds etc.
The ouside terrace is lovely! with an array of hanging pots and baskets, beautiful hibiscus and humming birds feeders. The birds zoom in and out all the time to the feeders, giving visitors great opportunities to see them up close, and to the bird table in the garden.
Breakfast was very good; toast/cereal/fruit and always a choice of eggs/bacon/ pancakes etc.
We were travelling without a car but this area was easy by bus. Cielito Sur is a little way out of Cerro Punta but buses run every fifteen minutes and will stop anywhere - just stick out your hand! We always found the bus crews (and Passenegers) friendly and helpful and there is a lot to see both up the mountain and down towards the town of Volcan.
Finally, Janet and Glenn, the owners of Cielito Sur, are friendly and knowledgeable and can advise on visiting places in the area and beyond. They are both always around at breakfast time to answer any questions and see that guests have what they need for the day ahead.
Cielito Sur is a great little find; we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YabbayabbaDotNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerro Punta
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
69 reviews
8.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
#4 of 4 in Volcan
12 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Cerro Punta
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Volcan - Cerro Punta | Nueva Suiza, Cerro Punta, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Cerro Punta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Punta
Price Range: $123 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, private, country estate inn surrounded by trees, gardens, fruit & coffee orchards, the estate is a natural bird sanctuary nestled in the rustic landscape of the Chiriqui highlands. It's conveniently located between the towns of Cerro Punta and Volcan, offering easy access to both the Volcan Baru National Park & La Amistad International Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing