We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cerro Punta B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spaciously roomed B&B with good common areas located in pretty gardens. Good breakfast with many hummingbirds outside windows. Can be cold at night although heaters are provided. However, it is overpriced in our view and the pillows could with renewing. A car is essential.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

There are only 4 rooms available but if you have a chance to stay here you wont regret it. If you have an extra day to spend somewhere and can't decide where this is the place. Janet & Glenn have created a paradise here with great attention to detail everywhere you look. Beautiful spacious rooms, great personally made breakfast overlooking a great garden with hummingbirds buzzing all over the place. Lovely seating areas, beautiful common areas, well stocked library and videos. If you want a place to chill - this is number one on my list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Glen and Janet set the standard for hospitality a their B&B the rooms are well appointed with a refrigerator, a coffee pot and coffee from their coffee trees, a microwave and little things like two hooks to hang cloths on in the bath.

Beautiful garden with lots of humming birds every where.

A different breakfast every day with Glen and Janet keeping you company with interesting stories about Panama, and a wonderful library in the breakfast room.

Two thumbs way up for Cielito Sur.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is one of those places that are delightful from the moment of arrival. The gardens and approach are lovely, very neat and beautiful flowers. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and there is also a communal sitting room with computer and lots of interesting books about Panama/animals/birds etc.
The ouside terrace is lovely! with an array of hanging pots and baskets, beautiful hibiscus and humming birds feeders. The birds zoom in and out all the time to the feeders, giving visitors great opportunities to see them up close, and to the bird table in the garden.
Breakfast was very good; toast/cereal/fruit and always a choice of eggs/bacon/ pancakes etc.
We were travelling without a car but this area was easy by bus. Cielito Sur is a little way out of Cerro Punta but buses run every fifteen minutes and will stop anywhere - just stick out your hand! We always found the bus crews (and Passenegers) friendly and helpful and there is a lot to see both up the mountain and down towards the town of Volcan.
Finally, Janet and Glenn, the owners of Cielito Sur, are friendly and knowledgeable and can advise on visiting places in the area and beyond. They are both always around at breakfast time to answer any questions and see that guests have what they need for the day ahead.
Cielito Sur is a great little find; we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YabbayabbaDotNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

True B & B.
Hosts are gracious, breakfast wonderful, homemade kiefer, freshly roasted coffee from their own coffee bushes, and fresh eggs from their henhouse (way down in the back-no noise, etc.) .
We will return to visit and relax!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandshamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is an outstanding place to stay. My wife and I spent one week there and enjoyed watching the many hummingbirds that call Cielito Sur home. In fact, we saw many more birds at the B&B than we did on any of our hikes in the area.
The breakfast was buffet style with lots to choose from. Also included was a choice of two hot dishes which was freshly prepared for you. Of the 5 B&B's we stayed at throughout our travels in Panama, Cielito Sur and Patty's Casita (Panama City) were the two best places for breakfast.
The owner was available each morning to provide helpful advice and local maps to trails, attractions, and restaurants.
Our rooms were immaculate and the availability of the guests shared living room/library made our stay very comfortable in the evenings. Wi Fi and a desktop computer were also available for our use.
I know this B&B comes highly rated on this site and with good reason. I couldn't improve or suggest any improvements that would make this a better place to stay.
If you enjoy a great breakfast, birds and hiking, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drhook50hp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Cielito Sur is a relaxing little B&B in the Volcan Mountains at 5,000 feet elevation. It's cool at night and comfortable during the day. The B&B has instant hot water,- a plus on a cold night, comfortable clean rooms decorated with artifacts from native indian tribes, small kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and sink. There is also a library with fire place and computer with internet access. The patio shared by the 4 rooms is relaxing with a view of flower gardens and many different kinds of birds. The breakfasts were delicious with coffee grown and roasted on the grounds. The proprietors, Glenn and Janet are very friendly and helpful with stories and tips about the area - they speak English and Spanish. We ate at nice restaurants, saw the orchid gardens and columbian artifcats and drove to Costa Rica to see the PN countryside. I went with 3 other girl friends & we all had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czgirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerro Punta
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Cerro Punta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
2.5 mi away
La Petite Maison Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Volcan - Cerro Punta | Nueva Suiza, Cerro Punta, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Cerro Punta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Punta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, private, country estate inn surrounded by trees, gardens, fruit & coffee orchards, the estate is a natural bird sanctuary nestled in the rustic landscape of the Chiriqui highlands. It's conveniently located between the towns of Cerro Punta and Volcan, offering easy access to both the Volcan Baru National Park & La Amistad International Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing