We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for groups - March 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matagalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selva Negra Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of bringing a group of about 30 folks to Selva Negra while working in Matagalpa for 7 days, running a medical clinic at a church in the Las Marias barrio and training pastors. Having been multiple places around the country, I have to say that Matagalpa is now my favorite! The natural beauty, cool mountain air, accommodations that handle groups well, and a staff that was very cordial and inviting made our stay very nice. The buffet style meals we had for breakfast and dinner each day were delicious & filling and the wait staff was quick and friendly.

The property allowed members of our team plenty of places to seek solitude, small groups of us were able to take long hikes through the forest (one late-night hike into the thick of a Howler Monkey stronghold was quite memorable!), and allowed our team to relax after difficult days on the "worksite". On our final day, we took a tour of the coffee processing facility and fields with Eddy. His knowledge and passion was awesome and he made us feel like the most important folks to have ever taken the tour. It was certainly a highlight for me!

As others have said, don't come to Selva Negra expecting a 5-Star Hotel room and restaurant. That said...in my opinion it's WELL WORTH what you pay for the ambience and welcoming atmosphere...of the property and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your trip to Selva Negra. It is truly our pleasure to host groups such as yours that are doing so much good for people in our surrounding community. We try hard to hire only people from the community and to train them in the skills that we need. All of these things make the Matagalpa area better off. Improving the community is social sustainability which is just as important as environmental sustainability but is often forgotten by some. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the night walk and the coffee tour. Those are two of the highlights that many of our guests really enjoy.

I also want to say that I completely agree with your comment about expectations. We are a family run sustainable mountain resort and coffee estate in the highlands of Nicaragua. You might need a flashlight to get back to your cabin at night and you might be awoken in the morning by the howler monkeys doing their morning wake up call. Some do not think that our accommodations are 5-Star. However, we have wonderful accommodations, especially our cabins, right in the middle of the forest that offer a unique experience to learn about sustainability and to experience the cloud forest from the moment that you wake up to the moment that you go to sleep.

If you are returning to Nicaragua in the future it would be our pleasure to host your group again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 487 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went there for a daytrip and hiked in the lovely forest, then we saw that you can get a double room for just 25$ in total so we stayed for a night. Room was basic but just fine, comfy beds. Food is more expensive but it was worth being there in the evening (we also did a 1hr night walk) and to be there for an early morning walk. Restaurant area has WIFI, nice staff. Its very nice to walk on the farm as well, my friend went horseriding for 1 hr. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Selva Negra. One minor thing that I did want to correct for others reading this review is that our most inexpensive rooms at $15 per person per night. We have 6 rooms of this type of lodging that have two double beds. So one of these rooms can be rented for $30 for the night for two people. We also have traditional hotel style rooms for $45 per night for a couple and one bedroom cabins for $85 per night for a couple.

Most of our food is produced right here on the property utilizing organic methods. This does mean that the production costs a bit more and is a quite a bit more work than using non-sustainable methods but we believe that the commitment to sustainability is worth the increased effort.

Thanks for staying at Selva Negra and if you return to Nicaragua I hope that you will choose to stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent two days at Selvar Negra. What a welcome change from the unrelenting heat of Granada! The resort is located high above Matagalpa and is an oasis of greenery and coolness. We went hiking up to the Mosquito Trail (which has no mosquitoes; nor for that matter does the resort) accompanied by the sounds of exotic birds and howler monkeys. The vegetation was lush and varied. We also did a horseback ride through the impressive organic farm (cost of just $5/half hour) and did the tour of the organic farm, very reasonable at $7.

The family that owns and operates the property was very cordial. We had our first hot shower (solar powered, at that) in several months, which was a luxury. The room (Laguna) was simple but clean and adequate. The bathroom was renovated and extremely clean, as were the public restrooms facing the lake. The Montana cheese which we bought was uncommonly good, even for the States. The setting of the resort, on a small pond with geese, ducks and, in the distance, howling monkeys and owls, was very tranquil.

I have read complaints of the waitstaff. We were served well, particularly by an old, bald waiter who appeared to be in his early 80's.

The facility also sports the finest children's playground we have seen in Nicaragua.

The resort has the feel of an old Adirondack lodge. A wonderful place for couples and families as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for staying at Selva Negra on your recent trip to Nicaragua. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and got to experience much of what we have to offer. The Mosquitia trail is actually named after the Mosquitia Indians that inhabited this area of Nicaragua. The ridge of our mountain was part of the natural border of their lands and was therefore named after them. All of our cheese including the Montana is made right here on the property and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We are very proud of all of the products that we make.

I am also happy to hear that the service that you received in the restaurant was good. Don Adan, our waiter who is in his 80s, has been our waiter for many years and has been a waiter in the Matagalpa area for more than 50 years. He is a bachelor and does not want to retire and despite his age is still able to keep with up the other waiters who are much younger than him.

I have spent a few summer vacations in the Adirondack region and I agree and appreciate your comment that the place has the feel of an Adirondack Lodge.

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took a road trip through the coffee highlands of Nicaragua -- and stopped for lunch at Selva Negra. German organic food (a bit expensive), and a lovely walk around the grounds. Chapel quite picturesque - would make a great wedding place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for stopping at Selva Negra on your trip around Nicaragua. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our organic food and our grounds. Hopefully we were able to provide a nice respite during your road trip through Nicaragua. We do have quite a few weddings here and they are all truly memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had one of the cabins,set in the forest, some distance from the Reception and dining room. It was very peaceful and natural, with flowers and plants surrounding the cabin. The cabin itself was simply but adequately furnished, the bathroom was modern, but the shower came from a trough at high level, from which the water flowed, as if from a tap. It was also a long time for the hot water to come. It is cold here in the evening and we were only just warm enough in bed. You need warm clothes when outside in the morning and evening.

The dining room is pleasantly located by a small lake, with the forest behind, and lots of birdlife. The forest walks are rough underfoot, and muddy and slippy following rain, which is quite frequent here. We saw very little wildlife in our forest walks. The area lower down the hill where the coffee factory and farm are located is a pleasant area to walk around

The food in the restaurant was quite good but fairly expensive and the service was variable.

Its a nice place to enjoy peace, and clear, fresh air, away from the heat in the cities

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and for your recent stay at Selva Negra. We appreciate hearing the thoughts and impressions from all of our guests. It can get a bit cooler here in the evenings and overnight than some people expect when traveling to Nicaragua. It is not uncommon for the nighttime temperature to be between 50-60F (10-15C). We do provide extra blankets for those guests that request them and warm clothes like a sweatshirt or light jacket are a good thing to bring along if you are planning a trip to the highlands of Nicaragua.

Our waterfall style showers are standard in all of our cabins and many of our guests love the natural feel of this type of shower. However, this style of shower is certainly not for everyone. The water in all of our cabins is heated with a solar water heater and can be a bit distant from some of the cabins. As such it can take a bit of time for the hot water to reach some of the cabins. We feel that the fact that the sun is heating the water rather than using non-renewable sources is worth it.

Thanks for your comment about being a place to experience some peace and fresh air away from the cities. The cities of Nicaragua are all very interesting but the heat and the hustle and bustle can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Planning a stop on your trip at Selva Negra or one of the other fine hotels in the cooler parts of Nicaragua are highly recommended. This will allow you to experience more of what Nicaragua has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Unable to get a room we made a day trip to hike the forest which was worth every exhausting step. The food was o.k. if a little expensive but the rooms didn't look like good value at the prices we had been quoted. So a day trip from Matagalpa seems the best option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for making the journey to Selva Negra. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your hike in our forest. We have different lodging options for different budgets and it is important that when making your reservation you should understand the difference between those options to ensure that we meet your expectations. In addition guests should understand that we are 10-15 minutes by car from Matagalpa. So if you prefer to stay in the city and experience all that the city has to offer while making a day trip to Selva Negra that is certainly one option. However, that option will probably mean that you will not be able to experience our nature tour that starts at 7:30am with a walk through the cloud forest, or experience our night walk to listen to the sounds of nature in complete darkness.

We welcome all guests, be they over night guests or day guests. If you are a day guest, note that there are 2 different prices you can pay when entering the property. You can enter the property for 50 cordobas (U$2 approximately) and enjoy the hiking trails. Or you can enter the property for 100 cordobas (U$4 approximately) and in addition to enjoying our hiking trails the entrance fee is consumable in the restaurant. Meaning that you can enjoy a cup of coffee and a piece of cake or anything else on our menu and the 100 Cordobas will be discounted from your bill. Also note that day guests can take any of our tours but that the prices for day guests is slightly higher than for over night guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The forests around selva negra are beautiful and make a great day hike. The buildings are stylish and picturesque. Unfortunately the prices for rooms and food are quite high and not a great value. The food specifically is pretty tasteless. I would recommend visiting as a day trip and bringing your own food (although technically this may not be allowed??)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
4.9 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
127 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#1 of 18 in Matagalpa
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Vieja
Hostal Casa Vieja
#20 of 25 in Matagalpa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Negra Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Negra Mountain Resort

Address: Km 140 Carretera -Jinotega, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matagalpa
Price Range: $30 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Selva Negra Mountain Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service ecolodge, organic farm, and bird-friendly coffee estate in the Highlands of Northern Nicaragua. Whether you are searching for wildlife, touring the Ruta de Cafe, or simply relaxing in a romantic getaway, we know you'll enjoy your stay. We are a vacation spot you can be proud to support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selva Negra Mountain Hotel Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Resort Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing