We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matagalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selva Negra Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took a road trip through the coffee highlands of Nicaragua -- and stopped for lunch at Selva Negra. German organic food (a bit expensive), and a lovely walk around the grounds. Chapel quite picturesque - would make a great wedding place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for stopping at Selva Negra on your trip around Nicaragua. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our organic food and our grounds. Hopefully we were able to provide a nice respite during your road trip through Nicaragua. We do have quite a few weddings here and they are all truly memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 515 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had one of the cabins,set in the forest, some distance from the Reception and dining room. It was very peaceful and natural, with flowers and plants surrounding the cabin. The cabin itself was simply but adequately furnished, the bathroom was modern, but the shower came from a trough at high level, from which the water flowed, as if from a tap. It was also a long time for the hot water to come. It is cold here in the evening and we were only just warm enough in bed. You need warm clothes when outside in the morning and evening.

The dining room is pleasantly located by a small lake, with the forest behind, and lots of birdlife. The forest walks are rough underfoot, and muddy and slippy following rain, which is quite frequent here. We saw very little wildlife in our forest walks. The area lower down the hill where the coffee factory and farm are located is a pleasant area to walk around

The food in the restaurant was quite good but fairly expensive and the service was variable.

Its a nice place to enjoy peace, and clear, fresh air, away from the heat in the cities

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and for your recent stay at Selva Negra. We appreciate hearing the thoughts and impressions from all of our guests. It can get a bit cooler here in the evenings and overnight than some people expect when traveling to Nicaragua. It is not uncommon for the nighttime temperature to be between 50-60F (10-15C). We do provide extra blankets for those guests that request them and warm clothes like a sweatshirt or light jacket are a good thing to bring along if you are planning a trip to the highlands of Nicaragua.

Our waterfall style showers are standard in all of our cabins and many of our guests love the natural feel of this type of shower. However, this style of shower is certainly not for everyone. The water in all of our cabins is heated with a solar water heater and can be a bit distant from some of the cabins. As such it can take a bit of time for the hot water to reach some of the cabins. We feel that the fact that the sun is heating the water rather than using non-renewable sources is worth it.

Thanks for your comment about being a place to experience some peace and fresh air away from the cities. The cities of Nicaragua are all very interesting but the heat and the hustle and bustle can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Planning a stop on your trip at Selva Negra or one of the other fine hotels in the cooler parts of Nicaragua are highly recommended. This will allow you to experience more of what Nicaragua has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Unable to get a room we made a day trip to hike the forest which was worth every exhausting step. The food was o.k. if a little expensive but the rooms didn't look like good value at the prices we had been quoted. So a day trip from Matagalpa seems the best option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for making the journey to Selva Negra. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your hike in our forest. We have different lodging options for different budgets and it is important that when making your reservation you should understand the difference between those options to ensure that we meet your expectations. In addition guests should understand that we are 10-15 minutes by car from Matagalpa. So if you prefer to stay in the city and experience all that the city has to offer while making a day trip to Selva Negra that is certainly one option. However, that option will probably mean that you will not be able to experience our nature tour that starts at 7:30am with a walk through the cloud forest, or experience our night walk to listen to the sounds of nature in complete darkness.

We welcome all guests, be they over night guests or day guests. If you are a day guest, note that there are 2 different prices you can pay when entering the property. You can enter the property for 50 cordobas (U$2 approximately) and enjoy the hiking trails. Or you can enter the property for 100 cordobas (U$4 approximately) and in addition to enjoying our hiking trails the entrance fee is consumable in the restaurant. Meaning that you can enjoy a cup of coffee and a piece of cake or anything else on our menu and the 100 Cordobas will be discounted from your bill. Also note that day guests can take any of our tours but that the prices for day guests is slightly higher than for over night guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The forests around selva negra are beautiful and make a great day hike. The buildings are stylish and picturesque. Unfortunately the prices for rooms and food are quite high and not a great value. The food specifically is pretty tasteless. I would recommend visiting as a day trip and bringing your own food (although technically this may not be allowed??)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i was so looking forward to staying here even though I thought the prices somewhat high - you get what you pay for, right? In this case "no". It got even more expensive when we arrived because all the tours are additional ($$$) plus the food is more expensive than anywhere else we ate in Nicaragua. And - unfortunately - we did not get what we paid for. Even though it has a sustainable farm, garlic toast was right out of a salt shaker!!! Couldn't eat it. At breakfast, you pay more for an extra cup of coffee - and this is a coffee plantation!! No where else in Nic. did we have to do that. There were a lot of people in the office but management seemed to be lacking, especially in the dining room. We waited an hour for dinner one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seyvalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have made numerous trips to Selva Negra over the past 5 years and always enjoyed the excellent food and the Good Nature Hikes throughout the Area. It is a great place to take family and kids, and the historical displays are 2nd to none in Nicaragua. A great opportunity to enjoy nature and learn about pioneer days in Nicaragua as well as the history of this part of the world.
The lodging is clean but very rustic.......If the sleeping accomodations were better Selva Negra would be a easy 5 point rating

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets. Due to the high elevation it does get cold at night.......Bring warm clot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for the numerous trips to Selva Negra. Repeat customers like you are very special to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoy staying at Selva Negra.

Other readers of this review should take note of the Room Tip. It can get colder here than some people expect at night, especially if you are traveling from one of the hotter parts of Nicaragua. It is not uncommon for the night time temperature to be between 50 and 60F (10-15C) which can be a bit colder than some expect on a trip to Central America. For most guests this is a relief from the heat but is something to keep in mind when packing.

On your next trip to Selva Negra, please ask the reception staff to inform the managers of your arrival. It would be great to meet you in person and get chance to chat. My name is Karen Kuhl and I am the manager. My husband Don also helps to manage the hotel and would love to meet you as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice environment and nature around, that is the positive part.
We booked a Laguna hotelroom however, but their site only shows the nice pictures of the newer cabanas. The Laguna rooms are old, outdated and really need an update. Beds are old, bath is old, yes there is good warm water. TV does not work (why do you place it then?).
The food quality is also not that great (we ate MUCH better the last weeks in Nicaragua!) and the service is really very poor: staff does not really seem to have fun in their work... yet you have to pay a 10% tip automatically...
No... this place we will not visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonAsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for coming to Selva Negra but I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience.  You were correct that we did not have enough pictures on our website of the different types of lodging options.  Thank you for this valuable feedback.  We have fixed the website so now there are pictures of all of the different types of lodging options.  Our lodging options vary significantly in price in order to provide choices for our guests based on their budget.  I am sorry to hear that our Laguna rooms were not up to your expectations.  I hope that our staff explained to you the different lodging options at check in so that you can make an educated decision.  The TVs are in the rooms because we have many Nicaraguan families that stay in the laguna rooms and they bring either a dvd player or a computer to hook up to the TV.  We believe that if you are coming to stay in the beauty of a cloud forest that there are many other things to do besides watching TV in your room but TVs are provided for those that want them.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
4.9 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
135 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#4 of 6 in Matagalpa
40 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
51 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#2 of 19 in Matagalpa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Negra Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Negra Mountain Resort

Address: Km 140 Carretera -Jinotega, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Matagalpa
Price Range: $30 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Selva Negra Mountain Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service ecolodge, organic farm, and bird-friendly coffee estate in the Highlands of Northern Nicaragua. Whether you are searching for wildlife, touring the Ruta de Cafe, or simply relaxing in a romantic getaway, we know you'll enjoy your stay. We are a vacation spot you can be proud to support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selva Negra Mountain Hotel Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Resort Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing