We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Must See in Nicaragua!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matagalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selva Negra Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at Selva Negra. Do not miss this mountain resort if you are in Nicaragua. Go for one of the little cabins. They have "live roofs" with tons of vegetation (but this does make for a moist cabin). We saw agouti, sloths and toucans. Heards lots of Howler monkeys. Also, loved the farm tour. My only small complaint is that the meals are not authentic. They are for American tourists. Why don't they have any typical dishes on the menu?

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Traveltheworld0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Selva Negra Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

When in Matagalpa I seriously suggest you check out this place. Great food and lovely place to relax with a drink at the 'lake' side. They have great cakes and cheeses and a coffe tour if you want to I have never stayed the night, but if it as just as good as the rest...it should be good as well :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillaRiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

As noted by other reviewers, the accommodations at Selva Negra are sketchy. Bugs, mold, and disdain for customer requests can be expected. Meals are grossly overpriced ($75 to feed four adults, even when dishes are split and one person eats soup), and checks for meals include no details about the cost of items. The setting is beautiful, and there are wonderful opportunities to view howler monkeys, sloths, scissor-tailed kites, and other wildlife.

This was our second visit. On our first trip, we had a great day trip. On the second, we foolishly disregarded reviewers' warnings about the accommodations, and were certain they were inaccurate. Our advice is to make this a day trip.

Room Tip: Choose a place to sleep that is not in Selva Negra.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankFromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHKuhl01, General Manager at Selva Negra Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

At Selva Negra, we strive to provide our guests with a great all-around visit. I am sorry that your visit was not enjoyable for you. I would like to know what room / cabin that you stayed in so that we can take the proper steps to investigate and improve. As we are a Eco-resort nestled in the cloud forest bugs and other natural creatures are something we strive to maintain a balance with. These natural creatures continue every day trying to make themselves at home in our cabins and we strive to keep them in check without removing them from the delicate balance of nature.

We have recently remodeled our one-bedroom cabins to greatly improve them inside with much larger windows for improved air flow, furniture made from rescued wood and many other improvements. We are now working on remodeling our two bedroom cabins with one already completed. I would like to invite you back for a stay in our of our newly remodeled cabins to see how we are improving.

Regarding your bill I would need a bit more information to be able to properly address the issue. Our most expensive entree on the menu is US$15. If you requested further explanation of your bill from any of our restaurant staff I would have expected them to provide you with the information that you wished.

Thanks for visiting Selva Negra, hopefully you will give us another chance to provide you with a wonderful vacation with nature all around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Get to see howler monkeys right up close. Tour thecoffee farm. Hike the cloud forest and see unique species. Most of the food served at the restaurant is organic and raised right there. I was impressed! At least two days is necessary to take it all in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frappeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Selva Negra is a lovely setting but our room (yes, only $35 a night) was really damp-smelling. The ceiling was covered in black mould, windows don't open, it was scary. When we weren't hiking we spent all our time in the restaurant. In that note, food is pretty good – especially the burgers!

Room Tip: Don't get a downstairs room – they're mouldy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h00dlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel and the ground are very nice. Very different from what you might expect in hospitably infrastructure in Nicaragua. The hotel as a feel of German or Bavarian architecture. The mountain surrounding the hotel are quite spectacular, it’s surrounded by cafe plantation and forest, there are a lot of hiking trail.
The room are confortable but there is room for improvement. Food quality should be better as this is the only place you can eat when you are in the resort. Relaxing and eating is one the main point of this resort. I was expecting much better presentation and food.

Room Tip: The Laguna room are average, they are just in front of the Laguna, they cost $45 a night. The bed a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rodolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins. It was clean and dry, which is sort of amazing for cloud forest in October. They had an electric dehumidifier.

I have also been there 5 or more times for lunch and day use just to enjoy the greenery and mountain climate. Party animals need not apply--this is a nature-lover kind of place.

I don`t like German food so I don`t order off the German side of the menu. We usually have spaghetti or a 3 color pasta, a great switch from typical Nicaraguan food. Coffee decent, pastries great

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
4.9 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
126 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
83 reviews
9.7 mi away
Finca Esperanza Verde
4.8 mi away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#1 of 18 in Matagalpa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Negra Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Negra Mountain Resort

Address: Km 140 Carretera -Jinotega, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matagalpa
Price Range: $30 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Selva Negra Mountain Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-service ecolodge, organic farm, and bird-friendly coffee estate in the Highlands of Northern Nicaragua. Whether you are searching for wildlife, touring the Ruta de Cafe, or simply relaxing in a romantic getaway, we know you'll enjoy your stay. We are a vacation spot you can be proud to support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selva Negra Mountain Hotel Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Matagalpa
Selva Negra Mountain Resort Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing