We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swwwweeeeeet!!”

El Castillo del cacao
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Matagalpa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Swwwweeeeeet!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I loved this place. It was so interesting to see and hear how they make it. They use some machinery, but it is very small-scale and much of the process is by hand. The tours are in Spanish, unless you arrange through a tour operator (some of which are quite expensive, so if you understand a bit of Spanish and are on a budget, you should just go on your own). A taxi shouldn't cost more than 20 Cordobas per person from Matagalpa (it is just outside the main part of the city). They don't do all parts of the process every day, so it's a good idea to call first to make sure they are doing tours and go in the morning because by early afternoon, they are finished making chocolate for the day. There is a sample at the end of the tour and a coffee, a very nice touch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarriefromSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OMG HEAVENLY DELIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Its very difficult to find on your on even when the locals give you good directions..one reason being that the sign isnt hanging up or really in view at all because its painted on a rock thats not exactly view-able for travelers unless your walking. However we found it. It was nice, clean, very informative, very thorough lesson on the process of cacao and how much is distributed into the very chocolates that we eat in all types of products including energy drinks..the chocolate that is tasted on the site is organic heart shaped and served with a small cup of organic coffee. The women that own and run this place are so pleasant...we even learned the packaging process..i loved this experience..However I would like to make this note of saying if your expecting something to taste like a processed Hershey bar, then your in the wrong place because this is organic, non processed..i give this places two hands up in a good way. the tours are $6.00 per person and well worth it for those true chocolate lovers that want to learn how the process begins, how it ends in Matagalpa, and as well as where all and what all it goes into after leaving Matagalpa

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassytravler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you can arrange a visit there, really do go! It's extremely clear and well-presented. Don't worry if they show chocolate boxes and coffee pots at the beginning, this is just to keep you waiting. It's interesting to get the explanation from the workers themselves. They looked so proud of their work. Deservedly so! And if you have a good guide, he can relate it to the context of Matagalpa, and the importance of coffee in the local economy. Very enlighting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gritty Chocolate bars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were looking forward to this visit but were unimpressed. We were left on our own by the staff and wondered around the building. There wasn't much to see - staff was friendly - we sampled the chocolate bars (overpriced for sure dudes) and both agreed each bar we tasted was gritty - and, I've heard the justifications and excuses for this grittiness but, I'm not buying it. When I want the real deal - and all of the healthful benefits - I eat raw, roasted cacao seeds - these are wonderful without packaging, marketing or pricey presentations. But, when I crave dark chocolate, I want smooth, explosive flavor that feels magical in my mouth, not grit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matagalpa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local chocolate is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

An experience at the local factory is totally worthwhile, it's the perfect place to learn about the history and process of chocolate, besides that you get to taste before you buy some chocolate, but i'm sure you will feel tempted to bring it all back home with you! it's not far from the city of Matagalpa!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maternest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Castillo del cacao also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to El Castillo del cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing