We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, excellent hospitality”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, clean, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A friend recommended Hotel San Jose, located just two blocks from Parque Dario, for my recent stay in Matagalpa. I could not have been happier with the experience. From the desk and cleaning staff, to the cleanliness of the rooms, to the comfort of the bed, this hotel exceeded my expectations. It is not a big or luxurious hotel, and it doesn't try to be. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms can be with aire (A/C) for $10 more per night. Rooms without aire have a fan, which should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
33
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central america
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is located near downtown Matagalpa and caters to tourists.....It is clean but lacks some of the amenities of other budget hotels. Air conditioning is extra and the, considering he very small and cheaply made beds...it is way over priced

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Impeccably clean, spacious, and comfortable, we stayed for four nights and could have moved in. The hot water shower was hypnotic. The patio area was as comfortable as anyone’s living room, the garden was gorgeous, and the potted plants and decorations were perfect. The staff was pleasant and helpful, offering suggestions on what to see and do and where to eat. It is located only a block from Parque Dario and close to restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stompetoren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our tourguide said this was a simple hotel compared to what we had in the beginning of our trip. But what a surprise! it's simple, because there's no restaurant or bar, but the owner is very friendly and proud of his hotel and very willing to show you your room.
On the morning we had to leave early, he arranged coffee and tea. So very nice of him.
It's a nice hotel with clean rooms and perfect service :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chariz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was one of two places we stayed in Matagalpa. I was a bit torn in my review, I would not classify it as "very" good but "average" seems a little week. Good would be a suitable description.

The rooms are very average, no fancy amenities but comfortable. The beds are a touch on the small side. At 5'3 I was comfortable but at just over 6 ft my boyfriend was not as comfortable. Having said that, I would still recommend this spot. It is in a convenient location, near one of the parks (Matagalpa has two park centrals), easy to walk everywhere from but set back enough that you are not getting the traffic noise.

On the night we stayed, we did have trouble with noise. At about 3 in the morning we could hear people returning to their hotel room and that woke us up. However, I don't say that as a criticism of the hotel but travelers should know that sounds carries into the rooms easily.

I would recommend this as a good solid hotel to stay at. I was comfortable there and certainly felt secure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were booked into another hotel that was unsuitable and San Jose was recommended by yet another hotel that was full. We loved it! Clean rooms, everything functioning, central location but very quiet in spite of that, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them. Great buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner place around the corner. Parking outside on the street but there is a night watchman who looks after the car - mine was fine the 2 nights we were there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmsie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice hotel, decent rooms, good location, friendly-enough staff. We were there a couple of days before New Years and it was dead, I think we were the only ones staying there. No sign of the friendly owner we read about. The bed was too soft for us so we had sore backs the next day. No complimentary breakfast like most places (at least we didn’t see one). The receptionist recommended a great restaurant (Gallo Pinto) just up the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.0 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Estancia de Don Roberto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brisas Hotel
Brisas Hotel
#6 of 25 in Matagalpa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: | Detras de Iglesia San Jose, Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Jose is located in the center of the fresh city of Matagalpa. Due to its position, visitors are a few steps away from restaurants, cafeterias, bars, pharmacies, parks, banks, museums, the cathedral, among other places. As part of its additional services, the staff offers laundry service and free coffee with cookies and bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Jose Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing