We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!”

Restaurant El Mexicano
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Matagalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Chef 100% Mexicano Autentic Mexican Food
Restaurant details
Description: Chef 100% Mexicano Autentic Mexican Food
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'm staying at Hotel Buena Onda across the street and wandered over here for dinner tonight. What a treat! I ordered the super nachos and they were amazing. It was a giant plate of homemade chips loaded up with beans, cheese, sour cream, chicken, onions, carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. It was heavenly. Best super nachos of my life. All for 80 cordobas -- so cheap! The servings were huge. I will definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trailblazer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero1510, Propietario at Restaurant El Mexicano, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario nos llena de alegria saber que nuestra comida les gusto. Los esperamos cuando regresen a Nicaragua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had the 'burrito vegetariana' with 'jugo de piña' and it was really good. Cheap and good food! And a very friendly woman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Britt_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero1510, Gerente at Restaurant El Mexicano, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario fue un gusto atenderles. Los esperamos cuando regresen a Nicaragua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Tacos were amazing. The chalupas , enchilada and home made chips with a
very hot salsa! The beer Ice Cold and the service great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero1510, Gerente at Restaurant El Mexicano, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita y sobre todo por su comentario. Siempre es bueno saber que estamos haciendo bien las cosas. Gracias otyra vez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We ate here twice on our short trip to Matagalpa and loved it both times. I have several food allergies and have to be very careful about what I eat. The staff was extremely helpful and understanding and helped me pick several dishes that were extremely delicious. The staff was very personable and were a joy to talk with. Definitely recommend eating here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero1510, Propietario at Restaurant El Mexicano, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por recomendarnos. Siempre es un gusto atenderlos. Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The staff were super friendly and took the time to help us pick some great items for supper. We had the fajitas, mole and quesadillas and enjoyed every bite! One staff member spoke English which was really helpful. Location was great as it is across the street from our hostel, la buena onda.

Thank melideeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero1510, Propietario at Restaurant El Mexicano, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios y por visitarnos. Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Mexicano also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to Restaurant El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing