We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well-run hostal in a beautiful city”
Review of La Buena Onda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Buena Onda
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed in a private room here, which was extremely spacious, with a big bed, closet and sitting area with a table. Electric water heater in the shower, score! (Matagalpa can get very cool.)
Stien really has the details down here. Free filtered water and good coffee all day, delicious breakfasts served from 7 to 10 (included in the price of a private room, $3 otherwise), big library, nice lounging areas, fast wifi. Matagalpa is not a very touristed town, so this seems to be the place to go to get information and meet other travelers.
The best part, though, was getting connected with guide Guillermo González Prado, who runs his tour company Nativos Tours out of the Buena Onda. I wound up going on three tours with him (two of them private since I was almost the only tourist around!), to hike Cerro Apante overlooking the city, to the Selva Negra nature reserve, and to see a small coffee farm in La Pita. Guillermo was incredibly nice, informative and enthusiastic, and just a cool guy to talk to about everything from his city to blues and jazz. I like his approach to tours as well, which uses public transportation and emphasizes meeting local people. He's awesome, and so is Matagalpa, with its beautiful mountain setting, cooler temperatures and upscale restaurants and coffee bars. It seems to be a bit off the beaten tourist track but I don't know why - I highly recommend heading up there!

Room Tip: I had the private room in the back on the ground floor, which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review,

It is very good to hear how satisfied you are with your stay in Matagalpa and La Buena Onda. It was pleasant to have you as a guest. We are happy to work together with Nativos Tours, as you said he is a good guy, for me one of the best tourguides in Matagalpa.

Hope to see you again soon,

La Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with my mother. Location is very central, we stayed in a private room which was large and the bathroom had a shower with hot (or warm) water most of the time.
There is a nice patio and lounge area where breakfast is served (american, nica or fruit- had fruit with yoghurt and honey every day I stayed and it was excellent).
Staff is very helpful and efficient helped us find a taxi that would take us outside of matagalpa to san Rafael del norte and then la bastilla for an honest price.
Only complaint would be the drunk people speaking very loudly in the patio below our room at 2am on the first night (they did leave after I asked them twice).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Erica155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Erica,

Thanks for your review. I hope you had a pleasant stay in our hostel despite the noise you mentioned. Next time please inform us about it so we can get our guests quiet, 10 o'clock is the time we ask our guests to be quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Matagalpa hasn't a great choice of hotels and this hostel is probably the best option. It's central and the price is reasonable. Unluckily they didn't accept credit cards because the system didn't work and it wasn't going to be repaired. We had a private room with bathroom. The water was warm only sometimes and the climate in Matagalpa is not exactly hot. The room was cleaned every other day. Breakfast is included and you may choose among three options. There is a lot of common open space and as a consequence you may have people talking under your room. The first night we were awakened by guys talking loud at 2am and we had to ask them repeatedly to be quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Laura,

Thanks for your review.

We are sorry for the fact our creditcardmachine was not working during your stay, and it was definatley going to be repaired as soon as possible, but this is a problem beyond our control.

Next time please inform us about noisy fellow guests so we can get them quiet, at 10 o'clock we ask our guest to be quiet so all guests can rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stien and his wife set the tone of this place. Stein was very helpful in telling me about the town, and also just an old school chiller who would be down to chat about whatever. The dorms are great, nice porch upstairs, good local coffee served gratis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hey Casey,

Thanks for staying with us, it was nice talking with you! Always welcome to relax with us in La Buena Onda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. There wasn't many people staying here when I was here, only 4-5 other guests, but that was nice. The beds were big and comfy - spacious common room with big tv and DVD selection. Staff were friendly and helpful. And there was a friendly pet rabbit hoping around.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thanks Ian,
We hope you wo'nt have any problems with your flight in Mexico. Thanks for your stay with us!

La Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This really was a great place to stay! Wonderful "front porch", friendly service, and good food. There are dorm style rooms available, as well as private rooms. I stayed in a dorm room, the hostel, and had a comfortable bed with large locker for my stuff. There was one bathroom for the room, which was huge, with a bidet, and tiled jacuzzi type tub and shower. The tub did not work, which was fine, but the shower did. Couldn't get hot water, but that was okay as well. (It was warm out!)
I ate breakfast here each of the 4 days I stayed, and it was always good. The staff are incredibly friendly, as are most of the people in Nicaragua! I highly recommend La Buena Onda!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a more "quiet" room, I recommend a private room. The dorm room I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review! We are pleased to hear that you liked our fresh coocked breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Hostal La Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My second time there in the few years and it was just like last time but better. A young couple bought the place and are running it now. Friendly and excited with lots of energy made for very nice visit. More attention to detail and very helpful made my trip to Matagalpa fantastic. Tamara was very helpful connecting me with people to make sure I was taken care of. The private rooms always treats me well with a huge, comfortable bed, lots of space and a quiet room.

Room Tip: I like the private rooms for the price. I don't share rooms anymore....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertoB2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for your review Roberto, we do our best to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to see you again soon.

Hostel la Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#4 of 6 in Matagalpa
39 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Estancia de Don Roberto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
86 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#3 of 27 in Matagalpa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Avenida El Brigadista, Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Price Range: $16 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Buena Onda, Matagalpa's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it's surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Buena Onda Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing