We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
very interesting

best tour ever of a coffee plantation, very knowledgable guide Jose. had a great time even though... read more

Reviewed December 31, 2018
debrat236
,
Ocala, Florida
Very interesting

We had the coffee tour with José. It was very interesting and he is very knowledgeable. We went... read more

Reviewed December 25, 2018
CharisD
,
Boom, Belgium
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
15
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
15
4
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 20 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2017

Booked a full day tour with transportation included from our Managua hotel (booked through VIATOR); Nice guide/driver for the day; had a nice lunch in Matagalpa; excellent tour at Selva Negra; very informative and beautiful grounds. But was a very, very long day with the 2.5+ hour drive each direction from Managua.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Gerente at Selva Negra Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2017

Jason,

Thank you very much for your comments. Yes, a day trip from Managua to the Matagalpa region can be long and a bit exhausting. We do have guests who visit us for the day usually arriving early in the morning and lingering for a long relaxing lunch, afternoon tour and late evening return after a well deserved cup of coffee and one of our specialty cake.

- Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

We had no idea there was so much to learn about coffee. Our guide Jose taught us in an inspiring way what comes from the plant to the cup.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank ChristelSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Owner at Selva Negra Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Chirstel Sophie,

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind words about our coffee tour. Yes, coffee is indeed an amazing crop with so much history and sustainable implications. We're very proud to have been working sustainably for so many years that we're able to reap the benefits from our hard efforts. In a future visit, may we recommend our cacao tour, with our new tour operator Tastefully Nicaragua. It will take you in a journey just as interesting ni the world of chocolate.

-Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

This is my second coffee tour with visitors. Jose had so much knowledge. Since it was just the 4 of us we got to see and touch a part of coffee production. We missed the actually picking of the coffee since it ended 2 weeks before. This should always be a part of the visit to Selva Negra.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Owner at Selva Negra Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Yvonne,

Thank you so much for your repeated visits, it is so exiting to hear that you have brought previous groups to do the coffee tour and you continue to enjoy it. Jose Luis is indeed an amazing guide and such an amazing part of who we are. He has worked so many of the coffee processes he has very personal experience of how it all works. Being an active coffee production and depending on the agricultural fluctuations, we can never be sure when the beginning or the end of the harvest will be. But generally it is from November through February, although is has fluctuated earlier in the past couple of years.

-Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Went with our two kids (8 & 13) and had a great time. Youngest loved the horse ride and we all enjoyed the farm tour getting to know a bit more about the farm beyond coffee. Entrance fee is like a deposit for eating at the restaurant, worth it as the food was great and all sourced from the farm itself.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Owner at Selva Negra Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Andrew,

Thank you so much for your review and taking to time to give us your comments. You sure have hit on some of the high points of spending a day at Selva Negra. Our farm tour is one of our most popular and does offer a great view of a what it takes to run a sustainable farm with so many projects going on. Horseback riding is many people's favorite way to see the beauty of a shaded coffee plantation too.

Thank you,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016

I had the pleasure to stay on the Selva Negra resort recently. One of the offerings was the Coffee Tour, led by a lifelong resident and coffee expert Jose. I never knew how tedious the coffee processing operation was, especially with the organic side of production.
This operation utilizes workers from all over Central America, and the farm is a respected organization, providing housing, a communal kitchen, education for the workers children and a staffed medical clinic. There are permanent workers, some 250, who stay in a home in a village like setting year round. Each year one family is gifted with an upgrade to their home. During the busy season some 600+additional workers are recruited for the picking of the "cherries". I got to see the workers, both men and women, with the fruits of labor for the day, weigh in their beans(for which they receive a chit) and then I watched as specialized workers, wiry men, heave the 125 lb.bags into the back of a very pristine dump truck. The cherries are washed, undergo an initial grading by weight, and move on to the dry processing and another grading, by hand. I will never look at a cup of coffee the same way as before my adventure! Kudos to Selva Negra and thanks to Jose and Noel. Jeff Brown
The coffee can be purchased at Whole Foods.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews