We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, beautiful hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matagalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We travelled around Nicaragua and found this to be one of the nicest places we stayed both for the beautiful rooms, hotel and grounds and the overall value and very good food and service. The view from the hotel over the city of Matagalpa is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
13
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel itself is nice. Yes, getting a little tired, but it's clean and has all the facilities you'd want. My only complaint about the hotel itself is the wifi. It really only works in the lobby. It would be nice to get a signal in the rooms. The only drawback of this place it its location. It kind of walkable going into town as it's downhill, but forget about the walk back and I wouldn't recommend the walk in either direction after dark. Cabs are cheap, so this may not be a big deal but it just makes those spontaneous strolls around town less likely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this gem and would have stayed more but we needed to get closer to where her family lives. The place is beautiful and the rooms are spacious. It`s a little far from the center of town so taxi drivers don't seem to be happy to serve you there but if you don't mind waiting they do eventually show up. Everyone was friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant and were happy with the service. the food was fine.
All in all we really did like the hotel.

Room Tip: Nice, Quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaybirdrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lomas Sn.Thomas for two days in late February while touring the area around Matagalpa. The best features of this room were it's size (huge) and the balconies from two separate entrances that afforded great views of the surrounding hills. The room itself was quite clean, although the bathroom could have used a little more attention (still acceptable though) and the bed was king sized and quite comfortable. The noise level was low (accept for the roosters crowing in the morning; welcome to Nica) and getting a good nights sleep was no problem. Great Spanish colonial architecture and a very nice dining area. We only had breakfast here, but the coffee and omelettes were quite good. For two nights; two breakfast for two we paid around $110. Good deal! Don't miss the Selva Negra coffee plantation about 20 minutes away. Also the drive to Jinotega was as beautiful as any mountain drive we have done. One caution, the hotel is not easy to find. It is up the hill at the far side of town on a road that reminded us of a goat path. If you have a GPS use N12 55 41.5 and W085 54 28.6 and don't give up. Otherwise the cabs are cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner Room 27. Best view of the town and the surrounding hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wudzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I came to Matagalpa for a mission trip. We stayed at the Lomas Sn. Thomas. They were very welcoming and sweet! I felt very safe staying their, being my first time ever going out of the country. There was always a gurad on duty which made me feel very comfortable. It was a beautiful sight, especially at night when the city lights came on. I look foward to coming back to the Loams Sn. Thomas.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that over looks the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

As the previous reviews stated, this is a beautiful hotel. But the atmosphere of the hotel, what really made it special for us, went well beyond what pictures could capture. Despite a good buzz of people, there was a calm easiness about the hotel. The staff were exceedingly friendly and relaxed, from the one waiter seemingly effortlessly juggling a full restaurant at breakfast to the front desk worker graciously redialing the same phone number for me every five minutes when I was panicking about getting in touch with someone who had turned off their cell phone in a meeting. It struck me as very family-friendly as well, from the children of the owners and staff quietly playing on the patio to the businessmen skyping their families from the lobby.

The room itself was fine, very large and clean with a big bed, good water pressure, a small fridge, and a closet about the size of my bathroom at home. The highlight of the room was that it was on a corner, with long balconies on either side. This was the first night of our rainy season trip in which the clouds opened up and we got to see a sky full of stars, with the city in the background and the mountains beyond that. The location is perfect, if it were any closer to the center of towne you wouldn't get the amazing views, yet it's well within easy walking distance. We even managed the walk back up the hill without too much pain, but if you're less crazy than we are the cabs are very inexpensive.

Room Tip: Corner rooms cost the same and give you twice the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

The best hotel in Matagalpa with little question. Beautiful old building with huge rooms, great views of Matagalpa, free WiFi, great balconies and warmish water. There is no AC which would hardly seem to be an issue given the altitude. There is no pool. Keep in mind, however, that you are about a half mile or so from the city center. It is an easy walk down but coming back there is a STEEP incline with which to contend. Also at night it is a very dark walk though not impossible. Very friendly staff and free secure car park. I enjoyed my stay very much. It is important to keep in mind this is Nicargua and off the tourist circuit so if you need Managua or Granada type service, rooms etc. you are better off going to the Selva Negra about 12 kilometers north. Matagalpa is a great base from which to explore the highlands. If you are in Matagalpa, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.0 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Estancia de Don Roberto
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Ulap Yasica
Hostal Ulap Yasica
#3 of 26 in Matagalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas

Property: Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
Address: Escuela Guanuca 350, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matagalpa
Number of rooms: 342
Also Known As:
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing