We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best decision we made. Amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best decision we made. Amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staying at Casa Iguana was one of the best choices we made when visiting Little Corn Island. We were greeted at the dock by the manager, Abner, who was more than happy to help us with anything we needed or any problem we had throughout the trip. Everyone at Casa Iguana just made the experience there even more worth while and very enjoyable.

We were lucky enough to get Casita 12 (the pink one) which was the best Casita on the resort. It was closest to the beach, had the best view, in the middle of the resort, and had the best breeze at night. It is equipped with a nice mosquito net and an extra futon. Although it was hot our room always had a good temperature with a nice breeze from the ocean because we kept all of our windows and doors open with the screens. Every morning we woke up and sat on our hammocks on the back porch over looking a beautiful scenery of the beach. The rooms are well kept, very safe, and private. The outdoor showers were good for a rinse off during the day, but after the sun goes down the water can get very cold which was actually very enjoyable considering the the blazing heat.

When ordering the food be aware that they give you a huge plate, which is not bad considering how delicious the food was. For example, the Coconut French toast has only four pieces, but it can serve 2 people.

The staff was amazing and very genuine. Especially the manager who was extremely helpful and very friendly, even after working huge shifts. He directed towards all the amazing sights to see and gave us a personal tour of the island. After spending many lunches and dinners together we developed a friendship with him. He is a great manager and will go out of his way to help you with anything you need. He is the one to see if you have any questions. He will be glad to help and he will mostly likely know the answer.

The beaches and dives were beautiful. Make sure to try the night dive. Don't forget your flashlight because there are night crabs.

Our trip was amazing. Not only did we fall in love with the island, but we fell in love with the friendly people and atmosphere. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcoleman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    56
    30
    29
See reviews for
41
180
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Casa Iguana for 6 days last month and wasn't disappointed! It was even better than what I expected it would be.

The staff (even being 4 people short) were amazing and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Abner was amazing! I truly felt like I had made a great friend as he was such a pleasure to be around. I really enjoyed hanging out at the lodge and talking with everyone.

We stayed in a grand casita. It was more than enough room and was very comfortable. The porch was the best part. I could have laid in my hammock all day with that view! If you're worried about no a/c don't be! The breeze is amazing; I even had to shut some windows one night because I was cold. The shower is quite chilly. I got used to it after the first day though and if you can time it right it isn't as bad. You can get a cup of hot water from the lodge to shave with which helps a lot. I also didn't really mind it being outside.

I loved that the casitas were spaced out and private. That wasn't the case at other places on the island. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. Someone also raked the beach every morning which was really nice.

We only ate dinner here once and breakfast twice. The dinner, beer battered king mackerel, was amazing but a little pricey compared to the rest of the island. I had the coconut bread French toast for breakfast and it was great. It's definitely enough for two people though.

I really don't have anything bad to say about this place or the staff. I cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed on Little Corn at Casa Iguana for 3 nights. Abner and the staff were extremely helpful and we honestly couldn't fault the place. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the meals were delicious and the laid back island vibe means you can have a relaxing time, if that's what you want. It's got a great outdoor deck which is a perfect place to take in the best view on the island. We were lucky enough to be there for a 'pig on the spit' night which was a real treat. Definitely looking forward to my next stay at this place and couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Okay, first the positive: good location on east side of island means few if any mosquitoes. Armand (a Corn Island local) the bartender is very friendly. Nice communal lounge area where you can relax with drinks and free wifi. Food for dinner was tasty.

Next the not so positive:
Service attitude could be improved.One of the expat girls (the biology major that did her thesis on water quality) working there gave the impression that she was there more for working holiday than for work. She wouldn't even bother to smile when I said hi and entered the bar area. There is a difference between treating people like they are "lodgers" vs visitors who paid to have a pleasant stay. It's like the difference between doing the absolute minimum (ticking the box on what you need to do to keep your job) vs going above and beyond expectations to make people feel comfortable and welcomed.

The shacks really are shacks. Given another chance I would not pay the extra $50 (total $95) just for a private bathroom. We found termites on our shelf (after we had placed our clothes there). Sheet had stain on it. Mosquitoe net had holes.

Overall, I would recommend choosing a $45 room and not the $95 with private bathroom. Also don't expect too much from the expat staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i4scuba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Abner the Manager went out of his way for us to pump water when our Casita ran out. I think he was working 7am - 9pm every day and he never stopped being helpful. He suggested we check out the private coves..Wow! What a hard worker, thanks Abner!

Something is seriously wrong with the owner, we were told our dive reservations couldn't be held because of mechanical breakdown... But after some investigation soon uncovered the owner had not sent down a filter for the scuba compressor. If it wasn't for the great people at the dive shop It sounds like the owner would have had the guests diving with air from a compressor with a expired filter.

When you stay here Pay cash so the money goes to the local staff, they are amazing. Do not pay CC here, the island will never see the money. Please buy Abner a Tona when you get there.

Room Tip: Casita 1-4.. You'll never be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was just by chance given room #12. It has got to have the best view on the entire beach and the best in Iguana. They have 2 private beach coves you can hike to. Breakfast ok to good. All showers are outside go the rooms. Nice bar and restraint area overlooking the reef system.

Room Tip: Book into Casita 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a remote island and having traveled to out-of-the way places in 3rd world countries before, Casa Iguana was pretty much what I expected. Their website kinda says it all (when the site is actually up) on the "why not to stay here" page: http://casaiguana.net/cms/thingstodo/dontstay.html
It is kind of like camping, there are few amenities, lots of bugs and you're not ever going to feel clean here so if you need that type of resort atmosphere stay somewhere else.

I did have higher hopes for the food. It was a bit pricey for being on the yukky side. That said, it's a 10-minute walk to Cafe Tranquillo which has some of the best food I've ever had (on or off the island!) But they don't open until 9ish so you'll need to wait - but it's worth it.

Interestingly we ran into a lot of people at Casa Iguana who didn't like kids. And my kids aren't super obnoxious (but they are kids). Truthfully I don't really like other people's kids that often so I get it. But there were some downright mean folks here. But if you're not bringing kids, this won't phase you.

Overall it was a fine experience. Not fantastic but not bad. It's pretty inexpensive so at least you don't feel like you're getting ripped off staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Property: Casa Iguana
Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing