We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View on the East Side of the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best View on the East Side of the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was just by chance given room #12. It has got to have the best view on the entire beach and the best in Iguana. They have 2 private beach coves you can hike to. Breakfast ok to good. All showers are outside go the rooms. Nice bar and restraint area overlooking the reef system.

Room Tip: Book into Casita 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    56
    30
    29
See reviews for
41
180
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a remote island and having traveled to out-of-the way places in 3rd world countries before, Casa Iguana was pretty much what I expected. Their website kinda says it all (when the site is actually up) on the "why not to stay here" page: http://casaiguana.net/cms/thingstodo/dontstay.html
It is kind of like camping, there are few amenities, lots of bugs and you're not ever going to feel clean here so if you need that type of resort atmosphere stay somewhere else.

I did have higher hopes for the food. It was a bit pricey for being on the yukky side. That said, it's a 10-minute walk to Cafe Tranquillo which has some of the best food I've ever had (on or off the island!) But they don't open until 9ish so you'll need to wait - but it's worth it.

Interestingly we ran into a lot of people at Casa Iguana who didn't like kids. And my kids aren't super obnoxious (but they are kids). Truthfully I don't really like other people's kids that often so I get it. But there were some downright mean folks here. But if you're not bringing kids, this won't phase you.

Overall it was a fine experience. Not fantastic but not bad. It's pretty inexpensive so at least you don't feel like you're getting ripped off staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ok. Aside from the RANDOM email responses, this place to me was NOT worth what they're charging! $45 for a tiny, rundown, dirty sheet, dirty towel, shared bath, COLD shower with spiders room. The location is out of the way but on a beautiful cliff. A paint job would do wonders!! I can do w/o the spring mattress in my back too. I had a maintenance issue with the lightbulbs. They kept strobe lighting when turned off. Apparently staff knows of the issue but it was never fixed.
Thank goodness, I was only there 1 nite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewad-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Iguana! It is quite rustic, and the shared bathroom/ shower was not the most convenient, but the view and private balcony more than made up for that. We loved having drinks in our hammocks at night and listening to the water. If you leave all the windows open you get quite a good breeze through the cabin at night, but can get a little warm at times. The staff were friendly and helpful when we asked about where to go to eat. A little pricey for what you get- but everything is a bit more expensive on Little Corn. The location was good walking distance to everything, but bring your flashlights, as it is very dark. The grounds were very lush and well kept, we loved walking through the tropical plant paths, it totally added to the island feel. Would recommend for those who aren't too picky...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolegetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We read the description of this hotel on their website before we left, so we were prepared for rustic, but this really did go a little beyond that. It really is just a step up from camping and camping might actually be more comfortable. The beds were pretty awful and it was incredibly hot at night. There were no fans at all and the mosquito net, made necessary by the many bugs, just made it that much hotter. For some reason that I never did understand, the showers are outdoors. Ours was right beside the footpath to the beach. It also cost over $100/night for the three of us, which seemed a little steep given what you got in return.
The sad thing is that with the location, this hotel has a lot of potential. It was clear right from the start, however, that there was something not quite right about it and it took us a little while to figure out what was going on. Eventually, it became clear that the owner was not there and the place was being run by very reluctant American students. We found out just before we left that the staff is made up of students who had come there as interns but then stayed on as employees. They spent all their free time, which was considerable, either making beaded jewelry or laying on the beach. If we asked for anything, they were very grudging about it. At one point, my husband asked for a can of Coke. It was delivered, but with sticky spots all over it. When he asked for a replacement, the server said, "It's just on the outside, are you sure you can't just drink it?" When he asked what caused it, her response was that the ants had done it! After pressing her again for a replacement, she eventually gave in. It probably would have taken her less time to just go get one than it did to argue about it.
This hotel has some serious competition from Little Corn Beach and Bungalows, just down the beach. We went there several times to the restaurant there (The Turned Turtle) and were always very envious of just how much better those people were being treated. Next time, we'll be staying there for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my third visit in a year to LCI and Casa Iguana. Such a beautiful island, warm and friendly people. Casa Iguana is located on the best part of the island. Always a cool tropical breeze. The staff goes out of their way to make you happy! They tend to your every need and they are very informative about what to do on the island. The grounds are well cared for on a daily basis, a lush and private setting. The food was very good. There is a nice bar to unwind and to meet other travelers. Casitas are colorful and comfortable. They offer beautiful views from the cliffs above the ocean. Thanks again to the International Staff made up of Doug, Emma, Jackie, and Megan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Liz_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We needed a little R&R after some heavy traveling across Nicaragua. This was our first trip to Little Corn and we loved the island as a whole. Casa Iguana has an amazing staff and they are just all super helpful and friendly. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms (we stayed in 2 different Casitas) were perfect. Incredible views from the Casitas and the constant breeze was so refreshing and kept the buggies away.
We snorkeled right off the beach and on the other side where the surf was a bit more calm. We saw tons of sealife, sting rays, lionfish, starfish, nurse sharks, amazing!
Charlie at the Cool Spot took us for a water taxi ride around the entire island, it was so beautiful.
Also loved Lily at the Cool Spot, she is an incredible host and makes you feel so welcome.
Loved Little Corn, will definitely be back to soak up some more sun and get some more time at Casa Iguana

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiestaBeachGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Property: Casa Iguana
Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing