We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location which is overpriced rooms”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have staid at Casa iguana for 4 nights and had a casita Deluxe with ocean view for 95 Dollar per night. We would not choose Casa iguana again as there are plenty of accomodations around for lower price and same quality.
+ Location
+ best beach view on the Island
+ secure Place
- impossible to sleep due to heavy wind and strong rain on metalic roof
- overpriced
- uncomfortable hammocks at the beach
- due to north east direction no sunrise nor sunset visible from the casita

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Casa Iguana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 359 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Casa Iguana, and for the people who are overly harsh on here maybe they shouldn’t be traveling in a country with bugs and staying in a jungle. THAT being said, there were many things that could so easily have been improved to make this stay well worth the $95 value.
First off - the location is the best on the island. You can’t beat it. Nice wind, peaceful walk to town and the property offers two secluded beaches to enjoy. The grounds are kept up beautifully every morning! They have a great water system with Ice and fresh water available for guests 24 hours a day.
As for staff - I would hardly say anyone was rude. I think sometimes when people( previous reviewers) are insecure about themselves they can perceive others to be being rude to them??. All staff where attentive, and helpful when asked. We were picked up at the dock when we arrived and given the run down about the Island, where to eat etc.. on the walk to the property; it made us feel very welcome and appreciated as guests.
The only staff member I could say something about was a young man ( not Chino- he was amazing at every contact!!) , but he seemed to be responsible for keeping the beach raked?... he was preoccupied with everything but work – and it really showed in the quality of the beach. With the tides that were there when we were, it was a full time job to keep up on the garbage coming in and it wasn’t really done very well.
As for the Casitas : they are very cute with lots of character, and set so privately, but really need some basic TLC. Our room was not cleaned every day unfortunately, and the window sills really needed some love. Someone had obviously cut their toes or finger nails on the window sill and the nails were there our whole 5 day stay. The back of the toilet wasn't cleaned or the back of the sink during our stay either. That being said...what was cleaned was cleaned great every time it was cleaned. I think it is just a case of complacency and not standards. It would be nice however if the windows were cleaned daily to keep up on the ocean oil and that any ripped linen be retired. The things we were appreciative of that the other properties DO NOT have are screen doors and private hammocks – and no other properties have the incredible view from each Casita.
Because the ocean wind is so hard on any structure we understood why some things were the way they were, but I think regular maintenance with paint or stain, a cloth and maybe some windex would take this property to the value is charges and leave any competition behind!!
Please don’t let the harsh reviews make your decision for you. We can comfortably say this and Little Corn B&B are the two best places to stay.... no question!
Also – the Yoga at Firefly with Sarah is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pow_Town_Sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Casa Iguana is really not worth it - the rundown casitas and uninspired, bored service left us with a bad taste in our mouths.

Casa Iguana feels like a summer camp but instead of RA RA inclusive camp attitude you get reluctant attitudinal teenage-like service. Totally unhelpful.

Our casita was not clean and was only cleaned once in the 5 days we were there even though we asked to have it cleaned more often.

If it was half the price, one might accept crappy service and attitude but not when you are paying $95 per night.

For the same rate down the beach at Little Corn Beach Bungalow, you get friendly smiling attentive service, beautiful accommodation and terrific food.

I say get rid of the flown in "help" and hire some more local Nicas!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a fun place. There are a lot great things about it although with a little attention it could be better.

The location is great and it’s on a low cliff overlooking the sea. We woke up to beautiful sunrises, it almost felt like we were on a boat. The grounds are really cool with narrow palm-enveloped paths leading to the casitas and bungalows. The food was really good and the expats running the place are very friendly and helpful. There’s always a nice breeze where they are so the bugs stay away and it’s pleasantly cool. The location is great too, far enough away but just a few minutes walk to the village.

That said the casitas (private bungalows) are a little run down and not that well maintained. The bed was uncomfortable (we could feel the mattress springs) and the shower barely worked because of mineral buildup in the head. I asked one of the staff about it and she suggested just taking off the head and using the straight stream of water. I tried but the head wouldn’t budge. The window screens were torn and there was some grime on the shelves and the outside door handle screws were too long so they went all the way through the door and stuck out on the inside. Not the end of the world but most of these things could be easily fixed. Also, they raised the price to $85 for the holiday season (the other lodging owners on the island I spoke with did not) so the price/value wasn’t really there.

If you’re looking for a fun place with a great setting, good service and food and don’t mind basic accommodations with a few glitches here and there, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently stayed with my gf at Casa Iguana for 4 nights. The Casita was $90 a night. It was by far, the most overpriced place I have ever stayed at in any country. The room was filthy, cockroaches were common, the bathroom was disgusting, and they didn't even have a rug at the doors, or a broom in the room so you could sweep up the copious amounts of sand you inevitably track in. You would expect for $90 a night that you would get daily maid service. Nope. No food was included either. And although some of the staff was pleasant, a couple were downright rude.

It amazes me that with as small as this island is and as much as the resorts charge, that they couldn't hire some people to clean the beaches. The beaches were covered with garbage that ruined the natural beauty of the island. When it costs less than $20 a week to hire a local, it would make a lot of sense that the resorts would form a chamber and hire a bunch of locals to do nothing but pick up every piece of trash they find. But like most business is Nicaragua, they completely lack any foresight.

Little corn is beautiful, but it could be so much more. I would not recommend Casa Iguana at all. You could spend half the money in a much cleaner resorts on Ometepe, or San Juan Del Sur, both of which have much less garbage lying around.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoeyCoey81623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The accommodations are a basic but this does not change the fact that this is an excellent place to stay on Little Corn. The location on the far side of the island is quiet and is located directly on the beach. The staff is attentive and prepare solid meals as well. Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family of 4 spent 2 nights on Little Corn and loved it. Doug met us at the dock and walked us to out cabin. Very clean, comfortable cabin over looking the beach. Plenty of shade. Piece of paradise. Always a nice breeze. (NOT like on the west side of the island)Restaurant had very good food at reasonable prices and beautiful views. The main staff are English speaking US citizens and all were friendly and helpful. Casa Iguana is located on 40 acres. Ecofriendly shady grounds with their own water supply from 2 wells and electricity 24/7 from solar and fuel sources. When arriving or leaving Little Corn be sure you take the Panga boat (20 minutes) and not the tug boat Roger Saul ( 1 hour 30 minutes, slow boat from hell)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
111 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: $20 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing