We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was considering several places to stay on the island and, as soon as my son and I arrived, I knew I had made the right choice. We had a cabana on a hill overlooking the ocean with a constant breeze and beautiful views. The lodge is laid back and also has beautiful views, and excellent food. We stayed in the mid price range cabana, which was very basic, but, comfortable, with a great porch, hammocks, and an outdoor (but screened) shower. There is no AC, but, with the strong breeze, we did not miss it at all. The other nice thing about Casa Iguana is that it is set a short walk away from the village...far enough to be very quiet, but, only a ten minute walk to get into 'town.'

Room Tip: I think all of the cabanas are next to the water, but, you might want to make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    56
    30
    29
See reviews for
41
180
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I wish I had another trip to Casa iguana to look forward to in the near future. I went with my wife and we both agree that it was an excellent vacation. We stayed in the Grand Casita. A great value for the money. It wasn't the Ritz by the sea so if you are looking for that on little Corn island forget it, it doesn't exist. What you get at Casa Iquana is a well kept, quiet spot with excellent views, and comfortable Casitas that are a minute from the beach and (considering that its tropical), a constant 'cool' breeze.
Doug, and the crew were all great hosts and barkeeps. The food was delicious, along with the drinks, both of which were reasonably priced. All around the service was excellent from everyone involved. The Tropical rainstorms and lobster on Little Corn Island were something to be experienced in order to appreciate-amazing!
We hiked the whole island checking out other spots after we got there and I believe that we made the right decision with Casa iguana. Most of  the other places were too close together or too far from the village or looked like they might be hard to lock down if you left valuables in your Casita.
Casa iguana was reasonably secure and had perfectly placed foliage that gave us the privacy we were looking for with a million dollar porch view from our Casita. I would highly recommend Casa Iguana--the only thing I regret is not taking all of their dogs home with us. The whole thing was like some kind of dream.

Room Tip: Grand casitas view is worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is bare bones as far as the cabanas. Food is good, but pricey. Rooms pricey for what you get. If you are a couple, the cabanas with a bathroom are nicer and in a better location on the property.
The mananger was coarse and did not help us ride boat over from Big Corn to Little Corn. There was a large group of tourists from Canada who flew over and their group leader went tot he docks and reserved them all seats on the panga boat before our luggage arrived at the airport. This was the last boat of the day and the manager of Casa Iquana was the captain of the boat. We tried to have him let us on, but to no avail, we had to stay the night on Big Corn as it was dark as well. When we arrived, he did not offer us any apologies and offered no discount on our room even though the owner is located in Chicago and is an off-site manager. Out of site- out of mind.
The student staff who were there were Awesome and the grounds staff pretty good too. One in particular was outstanding will do well in the Service Industry.
He made our stay awesome with no thanks to the owner or manager

Room Tip: Stay in the center away from the fences and have a shower attached to your room unless you want ultr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3toedamphihuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas J, Manager at Casa Iguana, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks for the response 3toedamphihuma. Just so everyone knows the management here at Casa Iguana has changed since January. I think the team now is a much better fit, recent guests will say the same. Also, we have upgraded many of the rooms. Fresh paint and new roofs make a world of difference.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in a cabana, all had beach views. Very friendly staff, delicious food in the restaurant. The whole place is immaculate and with beautiful paths throughout. No AC or fans but you really don't need them as the housing has numerous screened windows to open and feel the breeze. On our last night we found a tarantula in our room that we shoo-ed out, but other than that a surprising lack of insect life--we didn't even use our mosquito net!
We felt a little badly about not staying at a local place (the owner of this one lives in Chicago) but this had so many creature comforts it was hard to pass up--including power when the rest of the island is without because they make their own.

Room Tip: all rooms are close to the beach with views and wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginaandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with beach front views and personal hammocks. Delicious fresh and healthy food. Very accomdating staff who created a family style atmosphere for a solo traveler. Would recommend to all and hope to return soon! Would definitely recommend in conjunction with Dive Little Corn. Great way to get your open water or advanced scuba certification!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank csnively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

With great views on the windward side, happy hour was available to those eating dinner there. Reservations are required for their family style meal. Reasonably priced with friendly waitstaff and bartenders.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlsearles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Simple and well-maintained cabinas, great food, friendly staff, good beaches (although the public beach is better than the two private ones), nice extras (e.g. free drinking water, used of towells and beach kit). It is breezier than the other side of the island, which keeps you cool in the night. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Property: Casa Iguana
Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing