We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend getaway”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friends and I lived in Managua and decided to get away for a weekend. It's not very much money for the flight and the boat across to Little Corn Island - so was a nice treat. The food was DELICIOUS, at every meal. Friendly staff - very laid back environment. Do you're own thing, explore, etc. The rooms are simple but very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

We didn't go at the best time of year, weather wise -- but had a blast nonetheless.

I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you can get your porch facing the ocean, it's lovely! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bittenbytravelbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

I like a good value. Casa Iguana is not it. The location is nice, but the rooms are so basic and are so expensive in high season, compared to pretty much everywhere else on the island, and the food is so overpriced, it just doesn't add up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank euroUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas J, Manager at Casa Iguana, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are working on renovating all the rooms to create a better atmosphere and value. Also, we have renovated the bar and front desk in the lodge to be more inviting. At the moment we are working on getting a new professional Chef to revamp the menu's so you can get a bigger bang for your buck.

Hopefully you will try Casa Iguana again and notice the changes that are being made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Perfect place for a relaxing getaway! The cabanas are very clean, and the views are breathtaking! Sit in a hammock on your porch and stare at the waves crashing on the beach...simply amazing. I also loved the solar shower outdoors, warmest shower I had on the entire trip to Nicaragua actually! Definitely will be back one day...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjyads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We loved our pink Casita overlooking the beach! Deck with hammock and chairs, large bed with mosi net, fouton couch, small bathroom and a great little outdoor shower. Welcome to bohemian paradise.

We only ate breakfast in the Lodge; pricey but delicious -- try the coconut french toast -- yummy. We purchased great patties from the Island Pattie man, Robert, to sustain us the rest of the time and ate at the local Lobster house/restaurant when we splurged.

This is not the Hilton, and the more basic cabins set farther back do not look as inviting as the casitas. But, if you like a lovely cabin on the beach, cooled by the ocean breeze, a beautiful view for breakfast at the lodge, and a wonderful welcoming group of young travellers, this is the place for you.

Can't wait to go back again -- by the way -- Little Corn Diving = excellent service and diving :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Casa Iguana during our trip to NIcaragua staying in a wonderful casita (wooden house ocean view!!) both romantic and with privacy.

We were delighted with the local staff (as well as of course with the very nice Emma and Doug) always kind and helpful, the services of the hotel and the delicious restaurant.

If you are on an island as such Little Corn, you cannot expect (nor you want) services varying from TV to air conditioning and the casitas have everything you need in a very basic shape. We only had two concerns, (i) the bed is way too small for 2 person and (ii) the sofa is totally useless and should be switched for a bigger bed.

Everything else at casa Iguana was simply perfect and we still miss our time there !

As to diving, we highly recommend the Dolphin Dive rather the main and most popular one where staff is not so kind and smiley like at Casa Iguana.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keiciro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Little Corn Island and Casa Iguana.
The location had a wonderful views, great snorkeling and a good breeze.
The care from the staff, great food, free internet, we had a great time exploring.
The managed Juan Carlos was very informative and helpful.
The dive shop and it's instructors where one of the most informative and inspired I have experienced.
We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: all seem to have great views, just look for a breezy location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandthughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Never have my wife or myself felt so comfortable,from arrival to the departure. We stayed in casita #4 located next to the jungle, it felt completely secluded from the rest of the world. The only sound we would hear at night was the pounding surf and wrestling palm tree's. The porch over looked the beautiful Caribbean sea, with two hammocks to relax in. The guest house was a convenient walk and always offered a cold drink and incredible authentic island cuisine, every meal be it breakfast, lunch or dinner was terrific. The staff is the most accommodating and fun group we could have encountered, from a rocking game of volleyball to just hanging out they are great. And just because you are on and island doesn't mean there is nothing to do from snorkeling right out front to long walks on the beach your time will fly by. LOOSE THE WATCH AND CELL PHONE AND ENJOY LIFE AS IT WAS INTENDED.. Dave and Julie

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcarroll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
118 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: $20 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing