We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Restaurant, Ambiance, and Service on the Eastern side”

The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Turned Turtles casual, romantic, beach front atmosphere is a great place to eat and drink with family, friends or that special someone. Don't miss the opportunity to dine on a secluded beach and experience a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner with no reservations needed. Breakfasts start at only 2.99, Lunch at 4.50 And our dinners include starter, soup or salad, veggies and dessert for as low as 9. You can choose from our healthy options (numerous vegetarian options available) or throw caution to the wind and pamper yourself with our savory sauces and maybe a roasted Coconut cookies. Come by anytime and enjoy one of our delicious specialty drinks like frozen (not blended) margaritas, famous pina coladas, Jeff's Mudhole, Bloody Caesar or refresh yourself with a Shangri La (Tequila, gran Marnier, fresh lime juice and jalepeno). We offer some of the best food, service and value on the island in a remote beach setting. Avoid the tourist crowds and drop in.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
254 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant, Ambiance, and Service on the Eastern side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had read so many good reviews about this restaurant that I was skeptical it was truly that good. I thought, perhaps, that in comparison to everything else it stood out; however, this is really a fabulous restaurant in a wonderful setting with great specials, great food, and great service. It offers a variety of drinks (Margarita is the best) and foods, from beef to seafood. I think it's very reasonably priced. Loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are so glad that we did not disappoint you! We make all of our food fresh everyday and all of our staff are motivated to do the best they can. We hope to see you next time you are back in LCI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
creek
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Again and again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the turned turtle due to being on an extremely tight backpackers hostel, but we wished we could. If there rooms where half as good as there food it be would be worth every Pennie.

We did how ever eat coconut pan and peanut butter for breakfast and mr.noodles for lunch. So we could fit the 8$ four course meal in to our budget.

We are three dinners in a row here. Which was every dinner possible since we discovered this with only three nights left on the island, we even broke budget one day had breakfast here and had lunch before our boat ride to back to big corn.

I can't say enough good things about the turned turtle, outstanding food, great atmosphere, tons of board games to entertain yourself, the owner was extremely friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sombra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We really enjoyed having you around The Turned Turtle! Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The BEST on Little Corn. The BEST in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were originally sent to the Turned Turtle for the Coconut French Toast (yum!)....we returned for every meal after! Though slightly more expensive than other restaurants, it is well worth it! That being said, where in the States can you get a pre fix, 4 course lobster dinner for $15?
It is an extremely comfortable spot for North American travelers. The owners are very personable and welcoming and the staff is friendly and helpful. Try the pina colada as a mid-afternoon treat! The homemade corn chips were delish. You can relax on one of the sofas in the fun, casual sitting area surrounded by book shelves and a parrot.
Make sure you visit the Turned Turtle! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeEncantaTravel445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
It may be worth saying again. We are highly complimented when someone thinks we have the best food on LCI and even more so when the compare us to all of Nicaragua. We are so grateful to all of our restaurant guests who help us make us what we are. We did a little research, and at some of the islands other popular eateries if you were to purchase all four plates that we provide for as little as 9 for dinner, you might run upwards of 20 to 25 dollars for a similar meal. What might seem slightly more may actually be a great value. Hope to see you again at The Turned Turtle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wonderful food, all fresh and very well prepared. Spectacular lobster, fish tacos, ice cold beer - all on a beach front locale. Great breakfasts, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wolf-brolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for noticing the fresh. All of our sauces etc. are made fresh every day. We really want to be as healthy and different as we can be. Be sure to come by on your next visit and try our cinnabon coca bread toast at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Margaritas, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This restaurant has a lovely setting. The service was excellent. They boast of their great Margaritas, so we had to try them - we agreed. The food was good. The mosquitos were bad.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Margaritas, food and service. We do all we can to mitigate any mosquito issues including offering complimentary spray. Most of the time they are not much of an issue, but once in a while they really "bug" us :) We guess it is just part of remote tropical island life as well as being surrounded by jungle. Thank you for all the kind words. The Turned Turtle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow also viewed

Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing