We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious decadent island food”

The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Turned Turtles casual, romantic, beach front atmosphere is a great place to eat and drink with family, friends or that special someone. Don't miss the opportunity to dine on a secluded beach and experience a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner with no reservations needed. Breakfasts start at only 2.99, Lunch at 4.50 And our dinners include starter, soup or salad, veggies and dessert for as low as 9. You can choose from our healthy options (numerous vegetarian options available) or throw caution to the wind and pamper yourself with our savory sauces and maybe a roasted Coconut cookies. Come by anytime and enjoy one of our delicious specialty drinks like frozen (not blended) margaritas, famous pina coladas, Jeff's Mudhole, Bloody Caesar or refresh yourself with a Shangri La (Tequila, gran Marnier, fresh lime juice and jalepeno). We offer some of the best food, service and value on the island in a remote beach setting. Avoid the tourist crowds and drop in.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came here twice for dinner and at least twice for breakfast / brunch and it was fantastic all times. We came to little corn as a birthday treat for me and for dinner I had my heart set on lobster. It definitely did not disappoint for a celebratory dinner and on the lobster front! Three courses, divine lobster, wine (which I hadn't had in months traveling through central america) and delightful cocktails. So good that we came back twice the next day - for a delicious brunch - anything with the coconut bread is amazing (I had the Island Benedict which was yum) and I had the lobster special for dinner. I was feeling super spoiled. My boyfriend had the ribs which he said were great too! We didn't stay here - but stayed down the beach but the walk up was definitely worth it. We were very amused by the polite and slightly humorous disclaimers everywhere about everything to placate the resort style tourist who must become a bit more exploratory and come here and not understand the limitations a small island brings. Relax and enjoy people! Anyway, if your budget does not extend to staying here or you can't get a booking, eating at the Turned Turtle was a great compromise to experience the decadence, hospitality and service of LCBB without staying there. Thanks for helping make this birthday delicious and fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heidiledwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We are delighted that we could add to your very happy birthday with one of our perfectly (at least we hope:)) steamed lobster and fixin's. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us and we hope to see you back on LCI and eating at the Turned Turtle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food is excellent. Way better than most of the places in Nicaragua. Place is nice and cozy. Friendly service. We came 3 times.
Minor remark though about the manager starting to close everything while some tables are still occupied and guests are still eating. It is not really pleasant.
Anyway, still definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We could not ask for much higher praise than "best food . . . in Nicaragua". As there are many excellent restaurants right here on LCI let alone all around Nica.

Unfortunately for us we had to botch it up by having a manager not follow closing "protocol" that is designed to keep our wonderful guests comfortable while allowing our hard working staff to begin to call it a day.

We have tried to contact Caroline to get a feel for which manager needs more training in this area. In the mean time we have reviewed our closing procedures with all of our employees, including our two assistant managers with hopes that something like this will not happen again.

We are grateful to Caroline that she took the time not only to praise The Turned Turtle Restaurant but to also include some valuable feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate here twice and had a great experience both times. The margarita is truly excellent (worth the $7). The service was warm and swift. We enjoyed the overhead fans very much, too! Don't miss this place if you're on Little Corn (we'll likely try to stay at LCBB if we ever get back here—it looked great, too).

Thank Ybanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you! We hope to see you next time you are on LCI. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I highly recommend breakfast. They have a self serve coffee bar and a delicious, huge, fresh fruit plate.
For lunch, get the pork sliders and a Tona.
Dinner is big! Save room for the pina coladas. They are seriously the best.

1  Thank ashliejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Ashlie and Jeff left a very kind review of our hotel which we greatly appreciate. It is wonderful to know that the other aspect of Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, our restaurant, warranted acknowledgement too! We know that no matter how diligently we try that there are a few details that we inevitably miss. We are thankful that our guests are as patient as they are and are so generous with their comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but did have dinner and lunch. I had Parmesan crusted snapper for dinner and it was truly amazing! It may have even been my favorite meal during my trip. Their margaritas are also really good and you must try them!

Their staff was also amazing. The service was wonderful and we really enjoyed spending time here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Our staff and management work hard everyday to provide the most tasty, quality food we possibly can. But what really makes our day is to see that all of the conscientious care put in by our staff to provide excellent service pays off. Thank you for making them smile by acknowledging our amazing staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow also viewed

Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing