We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ernest Hemingway's favored place...”

The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Turned Turtles casual, romantic, beach front atmosphere is a great place to eat and drink with family, friends or that special someone. Don't miss the opportunity to dine on a secluded beach and experience a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner with no reservations needed. Breakfasts start at only 2.99, Lunch at 4.50 And our dinners include starter, soup or salad, veggies and dessert for as low as 9. You can choose from our healthy options (numerous vegetarian options available) or throw caution to the wind and pamper yourself with our savory sauces and maybe a roasted Coconut cookies. Come by anytime and enjoy one of our delicious specialty drinks like frozen (not blended) margaritas, famous pina coladas, Jeff's Mudhole, Bloody Caesar or refresh yourself with a Shangri La (Tequila, gran Marnier, fresh lime juice and jalepeno). We offer some of the best food, service and value on the island in a remote beach setting. Avoid the tourist crowds and drop in.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ernest Hemingway's favored place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

... would have been this if it was opened about 60 years ago!
Bar Floridita in Cuba has a serious challenger now. Esquire magazine over 50 years ago called the Floridita one of the seven best bars in the world.
I would like to add an eighth bar and it's called Turned Turtle. Since it is an EXCELLENT restaurant also it should really deserve its own review page!
The menu adds nightly specials to some of the standard choices and every one is great, I tried all of them.
Highly recommended, you should visit this place for the restaurant alone.
Those Margaritas, Pina Coladas and Mudslides and the delicious Flore de Cana rum drinks............ keep them coming!

This place is listed in the best seller book "1000 PLACES TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE"!
A delicious bucket list.
Imagine my 9 and 11 year old boys want to get up early so they can have the same breakfast "Sliders"!
Their web page mentions the fact that how remote this little island is and everything is more expensive because of it, but I found the food prices for the quality and service inexpensive.
Even if you don't stay in one of the beach bungalows, visit the restaurant often while you're in LC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Wow . . . Thank you !!! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the Turned Turtle. It is kind reviews like this that make our staff and management grateful and motivated to continue to work hard. We can not wait for you all to come visit Little Corn Island and LCBB again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great meal and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

we ate at lcbb and had a great meal. restaurant was full so we ate on beach under beautiful starry sky. meal had 4 courses for the prices and all were great. would definitely eat here again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glicks200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are so grateful that these guests enjoyed their time at the Turned Turtle Restaurant. On an on going basis we evaluate our menu, portion size and relative value to be sure we have a chance to be among the top restaurants on Little Corn Island. Thank you for recognizing our efforts. Hope to see you again some day on LCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice place with constant cool breeze. Has great cocktails with a pina colada to die for and a great one called mud hole. We were there in the afternoon and had cocktails and fried corn chips with dip, very very good. However we returned later in the week for snacks again but did not know that they are only on the day menu, the evening menu is a 4 course meal, and even when I am starving hungry 4 courses are too much.. So if you are not into a big meal do'nt go over in the evening, its a long walk in the pitch dark just for a drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
This is all great news but we are a bit confused. BSolv really liked our location, drinks, food and cool breezes. She had enjoyed and earlier visit, ordered off the menu which clearly spells out the time that snacks are available (until "around 4:24") and returned later at 5:30 to be surprised that our 4 plate dinners that start as low as $9 were all that we were serving and our portions were to large! Our confusion comes from another review of an island eatery that praises their "generous portions"? Shucks, we know you can not please everyone all the time, but we will keep trying to do just that. If you like tasty food, generous portions, delicious drinks and good service we hope you will come give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We didn't stay at this place but we did eat in their restaurant a couple of times. The food and the service is excellent. Hands down the best food on the island. Even if you don't stay here I would recommend visiting them for a meal. Worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I wanted to stay at this hotel, but there were no rooms available in our budget. We did go there a few times for drinks and for dinner.
The cocktails were really tasty. The dinner was fantastic. The staff was amazing.
A definite recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
As anyone running both a restaurant and a hotel on Little Corn Island and they will tell you that the challenges to keeping standards of service and quality high are incredible. Kind feed back like yours helps our hard working staff realize that their diligent effort, great attitudes and hard work really do pay off! Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow also viewed

Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing