We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery”
Review of Tranquilo Cafe

Tranquilo Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Open for Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner, Tranquilo Cafe offers delicious and refreshing alternatives to the standard Central American "rice & beans" fare: Fresh Kingfish Ceviche, juicy Cheddar Cheeseburgers, catch-of-the-day Fish Tacos, marinated Chicken Fillet sandwiches, Quesadillas, House-made Chips and Guacamole, Vegetarian/Vegan options, and nightly Dinner Specials. With a recently added back-yard BBQ Smoker, we now feature succulent Baby Back Ribs, juicy Pulled Pork, and Mojo Chicken platters, along with our own BBQ sauce, and fresh made sides including our own fresh Corn Bread. Also featuring fresh brewed Nicaraguan Coffees (hot & iced varieties) and Espresso, fresh-made local fruit juice drinks, made-to-order fruit/yogurt Smoothies (including Minga's special; Banana-Avocado w/cinnamon and vanilla), daily-baked Cookies, Brownies, Banana Bread & Carrot Cakes, Ice Cream desserts, and much more. Famous for our Bonfire Parties, we're also the island night spot. A great laid back atmosphere, with a variety of music from all over the world (including local DJ Nights and live cultural music/dance groups). It's a terrific place to meet up with other fun-seeking travelers. Come early to our Happy Hour (5-7 pm), and check out the drink specials; Rum Punch, Sangria and many 2 for 1 rum drink deals. Also, the widest selection of imported beers on the island. Our deck is located right on the beach on the front side of the island, between the 2 dive shops, with a great view for sunsets and people watching.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved the atmosphere and even though it was definitely tourist oriented, the great food and atmosphere made up for it!

Thank Amyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloJohn, Owner at Tranquilo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks Amyang for your review. We're really happy that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere. It's tourists like yourself that we cater to. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Tranquilo Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 520 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped in on our last evening there. We thought to food was ok, but could have been better. They didn't have enough wait staff, and the one we had seemed annoyed when we asked for anything.

Thank CoeyCoey81623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloJohn, Owner at Tranquilo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We're very sorry that Coey found our service lacking during the busiest week of the year (Christmas/New Years). We had additional staff working to keep up with demand during that week, and at times, with all tables full during peak hours, we may have fallen short of perfection, and we will certainly consider that when staffing for the same time next year.
There is a manager and/or owner present at all times, and it's a shame that Coey didn't have the courage to let us know about his concerns while he was here, so that we could have remedied it to his satisfaction. We also hold a very high standard on our food, and would have welcomed his suggestions about how we could have improved it for him, since he felt it "could be better".
We want all of our customers to know that we welcome both compliments as well as constructive criticism, and that you should feel free to let us know how we can serve our customers better.
But we realize that some people are more comfortable to offer their critiques after the fact, and from a distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of eating at the Tranquilo several times during our stay on Little Corn Island. Good food, tasty drinks, free WIFI and a view of the water......how can you go wrong with this combination?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JJJNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloJohn, Owner at Tranquilo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks JJJNYC34, for such a great review. We aim to please, and it's always good to hear when we succede. We hope you make it back to Little Corn again some day, and come by and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

nice place, good service...too pricey. it is very tourist oriented and the menu reflects that. it was nice for an afternoon beer to sit in the shade and enjoy the company of other travelers. if your looking for some authentic dishes for nicaraguan prices the other side of the island is better.

Thank CharlesyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloJohn, Owner at Tranquilo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We're very happy that CharesyLaura liked Tranquilo Cafe.
They are absolutely right, we are oriented to serving the wide variety of tourists who come to Little Corn. Our specialty is offering a variety of comfort foods that many people crave after traveling through Central America, and have been dining on traditional local foods for a while. We are an alternative to that, and leave good Nicaraguan cooking to the local people who also have restaurants here. (We are always happy to recommend our favorites, to anyone who asks.)
Costs of restaurants here on the island is dictated by the costs of the ingredients they use, and where they get them from. Those who use primarily rice, beans, and plantains will be less expensive than those of us with more diversified menus, and who obtain what can't be purchased reliably here, from the mainland (which is 50 miles away), which adds to costs because of added transportation and labor for handling.
There are less expensive, as well as more expensive restaurant alternatives here on Little Corn. We hope you'll be able to try them all, since there are a variety of good choices... and of course we hope you'll try out Tranquilo Cafe as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

... well, it tastes even better!
great little place for breakfast, lunch and dinner right on the bay. Cool place!

1  Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tranquilo Cafe also viewed

 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to Tranquilo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing