We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The premiere bungalo style hotel on Little Corn island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The premiere bungalo style hotel on Little Corn island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed here in March, and this is the first time we've reviewed a place on Trip Advisor, so here goes:
After staying a few days at another local hotel - we may still review them later - we became aware of Little Corn Beach & Bungalow through two other guests staying there. We just wish we had found out about it sooner, as we were only able to stay for our last 2 days on the island. Once we got there, we didn't want to leave until the last possible moment to catch the panga boat to the airport. Scot and Kristine are the consummate hosts, making us feel at home from the moment we stopped by to check on room availability, right up to when we checked out, even sending a guide to help show us the way back to the front side of the island when we weren't sure.
They are the hidden oasis on Little Corn, and in a way, we selfishly wouldn't mind if it stayed that way. We felt like Robinson Crusoe living in a beautiful tree house. Their drinks were superb (Mega margarita's - I was hammered after just 2), their awesome meals - the restaurant actually has a tree house style design - defied the remote location, and their staff were courteous and helpful, actually downright friendly, like they were old friends.
The bungalow's are well designed, using as much natural materials as possible, with lots of attention to detail, and they were immaculate. We felt very safe at night, as they designed in some creative security features as well. The beds were very comfortable, and our bedroom had a pedestal fan to keep us cool - on top of the constant breeze blowing through the room.
We spent much of our time laying in hammocks that are spread out over the immaculately kept grounds, sipping drinks and noshing on their guacamole and home made chips, which the staff brings right to you. Also, if you don't feel like eating inside the restaurant, you can also sit at any of the properties shady beachside palapas (sp?)
In reading some other reviews, it's mentioned that they are a little higher priced than some of the others on some things. But ya know what? Treat yourself! Honestly, there is no other place on the island that that we found that compares for overall ambiance, service, comfort, and quality. It's called "value", and that's worth a little extra to us.
And by the time we left, we felt like we now have 2 new "old friends" with Scot and Kristine. You will NOT regret a stay at LCBB! It's also hands-down the most romantic location on the island.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChazBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    58
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
75
271
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone who visits Little Corn. I’m extremely glad I stayed here. Scot and Kristine run an excellent business and are very, very friendly and hospitable. They also hire friendly locals as staff and train them in American management methods – you always feel you are getting great, efficient service. It’s a gem for those willing to pay a tiny bit more for quality and a good location away from the Village (a 15-20 minute walk from the Village through beautiful jungle, but fortunately not as isolated as the far northern parts of the island so visiting the Village is not an issue if you choose to do so). In my view, this is the nicest and most well-maintained property on the island (even the hammocks are the widest and nicest I saw there) and the grounds are quite pretty too. And great food for every meal if you don’t want to leave your hammock! Fresh and delicious!

Just to be fair to other travelers, I will mention that I did have my carry on knapsack (including a chunk of cash and camera) stolen while on the island while closing my eyes for a few minutes on a relatively deserted stretch of beach – near “Georgina’s” shack – you’ll see a sign saying Georgina outside the shack. Apparently Georgina and her partner are well-known hobo thieves on the island. As soon as it happened, Scot and Kristine immediately got the mayor of Little Corn over (they know him personally), and two police officers followed soonafter and got on the case. The mayor, Mr. Oron (sp?) was especially professional and concerned about my well-being. In the meantime, Scot and Kristine were amazingly accommodating regarding my potential payment method (since I had to cancel my credit card), and gave me their camera to use and a new memory card so I could continue to take pictures (I took the card with me after). They were consummate professionals. Within a couple of hours, and after incenting the suspects with a 40 dollar tip, my bag was returned by the thieves (minus the cash, but with essentially everything else inside, including camera). I would say the island generally feels safe but you need to take precautions, especially if solo (Scot and Kristine told me I was their first guest ever who experienced something like this). In general though, the people of Little Corn are very friendly and I wouldn’t let my experience deter you from going – hit it before it becomes developed, because that’s a big part of the charm – walking through the jungle barefoot to your personal beach bungalow and living the life.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sports_Fanatic_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

An upscale hostel that offers great service and excellent food. Portions are slightly small but the hospitality and quality make up for this!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cneal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

If you value comfort and want beachfront accommodations, Little Corn Beach and Bungalow is really the only place to stay on Little Corn. Kristine and Scott are very accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay a relaxing one. Also, the restaurant probably has the best food and drinks on the island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laislita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londond
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Kristine and Scot have taken a little piece of remote paradise and added all of the mod cons and little attentions to detail that really make this somewhere to remember. The bathrooms are immaculate and the rooms are comfy, the food is fantastic and the whole thing is reasonably priced. With friendly local staff and great hosts we had a fantastic 3 days here and we would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We Spent 12 wonderful days at Little Corn b&b. Everything was exceptional, Scott and Krisitine were wonderful hosts and have created a true gem of a place. Without a doubt the best place to stay on Little Corn, (or anywhere). Best food on the island, we often shared a meal because the portions were large, great margaritas, exceptional staff, Mike and Ronald always greeted us with a smile and called us by name. The casitas where simple and cozy, the onshore breeze through the open doors kept things very comfortable. Bottomless great coffee was ready at 6:15, in time to view beautiful sunrises. The highlight of the trip for me was the amazing Bonefishing, I caught and released 75 ! Bones , most right in front of LCBB. WE will return. Thanks so much Scott and Kristine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We had great time at LCBB. Helpful staff, great food, perfect accomodations fit right in with the style of the island. Owners were super cool and very open to new ideas and suggestions. Come visit us in San Juan, guys!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FafaElChelePelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.1 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.8 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#6 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Property: Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Address: | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die." Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the island's delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. Come and see Little Corn Island before it becomes just another Caribbean island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing